Sign Up FREE

Sign In

Remember Me


Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum


SR is the most trusted source for unbiased supplement reviews.

See Why

Thanks to our Sponsors! - click here to hide

START HERE

Don't know which supplements to take?

Check out our Getting Started Guide to help you figure out where to start.

Start Here
CATEGORIES
  Creatine

  Growth Enhancers

  Pre Workout

  Protein

  Weight Loss

  Show All


All Categories 
BRANDS
SPONSOR UPDATES
LEADERBOARDS
#1
MyProtein Impact Whey Isolate Reviews
Impact Whey Isolate
  By MyProtein

#2
Redcon1 Total War Reviews
Total War
  By Redcon1

#3
Tropical Oasis Liquid Joint Complete Premium Reviews
Liquid Joint Complete Premium
  By Tropical Oasis

#4
MyProtein Thewhey Reviews
Thewhey
  By MyProtein


All Leaderboards 
SR TROOPS
Reon Energise Reon Energise (Caffeine & Vitamin B12) Reviews
Reon Energise (Caffeine & Vitamin B12) (Reon Energise)
15/15 Containers available for review.
Closes: 2 days from now
Available to Reviewers in United Kingdom of Great Britain & Northern Ireland

CLAIM PRODUCT

Micronamin 12 Gauge Pre Workout with DMHA Reviews
12 Gauge Pre Workout with DMHA (Micronamin)
3/5 Containers available for review.
Closes: 3 days from now
Available to Reviewers in USA

CLAIM PRODUCT


Troop Center 
NEW PRODUCTS
RECENT ARTICLES

    TestX Core: Too Much For An Underdosed T-booster

    By saab 4 days ago

    TestX Core is a men's health supplement manufactured by Phenom Health that promises to boost free testosterone levels, as well as enhancing all aspects of physical performance. Heightened workouts, increased muscle mass and decreased body fat, enhanced stamina, and reduced fatigue are among the many benefits that this supplement promises to provide. Moreover, TestX Core also claims to heighten libido and improve overall male virility. Interesting enough, this supplement offers a free trial at a very minimal cost, but an actual supply good for a month is sold at $89.41 on their official website, and a few bucks less at $71.50 on Amazon. Sure enough, TextX Core comes with bold promises and a heavy price tag. The question, however, is, does this testosterone booster live to its claims?




All Articles 
BEST NEW REVIEW

RE1GN (Olympus Labs)

Overall
Overall
9.5
Effectiveness
Effectiveness
9.5
Value
Value
7.0
Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
Thanks to Olympus Labs for sending it out!
(Show run details )
  October 17, 2017

 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Value
  • Increased Endurance
  • Increased Energy
  • Increased Focus
  • Increased Pump
  • -Trucker Meth

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    What's up SR this review is for the hottest pre workout for 2017 which is the Olympus Labs Re1gn pre workout. This is a product that I even thought about doing a pre-order for back before it came out. Also I finished this product a few weeks back but I'm just now getting a chance to do the review. I work 2 jobs and close to 70hrs a week so sometimes finding time can be tricky. Anyways re1gn promises to make you have great focus, crazy energy, pumps, and finally endurance. Let's see how this stuff does

    Ingredient Profile

    R...

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    What's up SR this review is for the hottest pre workout for 2017 which is the Olympus Labs Re1gn pre workout. This is a product that I even thought about doing a pre-order for back before it came out. Also I finished this product a few weeks back but I'm just now getting a chance to do the review. I work 2 jobs and close to 70hrs a week so sometimes finding time can be tricky. Anyways re1gn promises to make you have great focus, crazy energy, pumps, and finally endurance. Let's see how this stuff does

    Ingredient Profile

    Re1gn has anything and everything you could ask for in a pre-workout. I'm also convinced that there is trucker meth in it. Now this stuff has 5 patented ingredients in it the 6th being trucker meth. Those 5 are Kanna ease, teacrine, vaso6, agmass, and astragin. With Re1gn you will get 300mg of caffeine per 2 scoops along with citrulline 5g, agmatine1g, and pomegranate powder extract 300mg. This product also has eria jarensis in it for the crazy and intense focus.

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    The flavor I received was Area 51 which tasted just like it sounds a mystery flavor. But for me it tasted more of a sour gummy bear taste which I really like. Didn't have any mixability issues with this product everything was fine. Dosing was to take 2 scoops 30mins before the gym with 8-10oz of water

    Effectiveness

    WOW.this stuff is crazy! My body felt like it was on trucker meth for 1hr+ holy s**t balls this stuff is crazy strong. Re1gn is not for a beginner or anyone that doesn't fill like being awake for 24hrs straight. But if you're a stim junkie like myself then this stuff is on your pre-workout bucket list to try because it's really that good. I have to stay it didn't slow down either with the intense feeling I got walking into the gym. That same feeling was still with me for the whole day. I work 2 jobs currently and sometimes the only time I'm able to train is at 4am. The energy from Re1gn kept me going all day even while waking up that early. Which usually means I'm waking up at 330am to get ready have a quick shake and go. When I was taking Re1gn that all changed by lifts were off the charts I was hitting a PR each and every day at the gym. I did 800lb on the leg press twice, Hit my old PR on rack & pulled to 525 for 3. These two different exercises I've always had issues going heavy for set and reps. but not while taking Re1gn I felt like Ronnie Coleman training hardcore & balls to the wall lifting with no remorse. Overall if you're a stim junkie then buy all of this now.

    Value

    Right now A1supplements.com you can buy Re1gn for 39.99 for 20 servings which is 1.99 a serving and it's worth every penny.

    Side Effects

    Trucker Meth lol

    Conclusion

    This stuff is amazing in fact I like it so much while taking it that I bought more of it while A1supplements.com was having a sale. I got Iseefury, and krusherz. This is a must pre-workout for anyone that is looking to kill it in the gym!!


    NEW REVIEWS
    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to NooWave Supplement Co. for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 21, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Insane Focus
    • Makes You Talk
    • You Feel Smart
    • Could Be Expensive To Some
    • Can Make You Feel Insane
    • Hard To Stack With Other Products

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    Big shoutout to NooWave for letting me get the chance to run this product via the Trooper program. While taking this I did a steady mix of crossfit and body building type workouts different types of cardio to boot, as well as study for important military exams.

    Ingredient Profile

    Rhodiola Rosea (600mg)

    The Socialite uses a mix of mood, energy, and focus boosters to help put introverts at ease and bring them out of their shell.
    Rhodiola Rosea is an incredibly popular adaptogenic herb that helps the body deal with all sor...

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    Big shoutout to NooWave for letting me get the chance to run this product via the Trooper program. While taking this I did a steady mix of crossfit and body building type workouts different types of cardio to boot, as well as study for important military exams.

    Ingredient Profile

    Rhodiola Rosea (600mg)

    The Socialite uses a mix of mood, energy, and focus boosters to help put introverts at ease and bring them out of their shell.
    Rhodiola Rosea is an incredibly popular adaptogenic herb that helps the body deal with all sorts of physical, emotional, and psychological stressors.
    This herb is loaded with salidrosides, which help maintain catecholamine homeostasis. Salidroside helps balance neurotransmitter levels by increasing norepinephrine, dopamine and serotonin which balances out the increase in acetylcholine from some of the other ingredients to come.
    Salidrosides also increase brain-derived neurotrophic growth factor (BDNF), and nerve growth factor (NGF), which supports brain health as NGF plays a vital role in the maintenance, reproduction, and survival of certain neurons.
    DMAE (300mg)
    DMAE is an analog of choline that prevents cognitive decline by preventing the buildup of the "age pigment" in the brain. Similar to choline supplements, like Citicoline or Alpha GPC, DMAE increases production of acetylcholine.

    Beta Phenylethylamine (250mg)
    Phenylethylamine (PEA) is a biogenic amine found in the brain that stimulates a strong, albeit short, flood of catecholamines including dopamine, adrenaline, and noradrenaline. Supplementing with PEA yields an invigorating "feel good" sensation.

    N-Phenethyl dimethylamine (200mg)
    Also known as Eria Jarensis extract, Eria Jarensis has become quite incredibly popular for the significantly strong "euphoric" feeling it gives users. Eria is similar to PEA is this regard, but its effects last much longer than regular PEA typically does (about 5-10 minutes).

    Caffeine (160mg)
    At 160mg per serving, this could also work for a low stim pre workout to pair with a stimulant free pump product.

    TeaCrine (100mg)
    TeaCrine is the long-lasting energy surge to caffeine's acute spark of energy. You can find this ingredient in just about any type of supplements these day, including nootropic formulas such as The Socialite. Unlike caffeine, theacrine doesn't come with the unfortunate tolerance build up of caffeine, meaning you keep feeling the same long-lasting energy from the same 100mg dose day after day! There's more benefits to theacrine besides energy though, it also boosts dopamine levels, similar to caffeine and reduces oxidative.

    Huperzine A 1% (200mcg)
    As opposed to Choline Supplements or DMAE which directly increase acetylcholine levels in the body, Huperzine indirectly boosts levels of this neurotransmitter. Huperzine prolongs the life of circulating acetylcholine in the body by inhibiting acetylcholinesterase, the enzyme responsible for the degradation of acetylcholine. This action indirectly increases amounts of acetylcholine by preventing its premature breakdown. Additionally, Huperzine also supports overall cognitive health as it defends the brain against the "neuron death molecule" glutamine, and possibly helps create new brain cells thereby making it "neurogenerative".

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    Dosing is 3 pills and there is no taste due to them being capsules.

    Effectiveness

    So first and foremost to be honest I am what most people would call an A**hole. I generally do not like people and most would say that I am not outgoing and am mean. So I figured, hell this would be perfect for me. While I can say that it did not turn me into a bubbling ray of happy sunshine, it did make me talkitive and quick witted which enhance my ability to be even more sarcastic and mean to people lol. But in all seriousness I could tell that my brain was working on "another level". I also would get a euphoric feeling as if everything tasted better, and colors were brighter and more bold. The enhanced mental focus and Nootroic effects were also very strong, but would sometimes be too much given the situation. I can tell you this, if you are going to take this, then I would not take it with a Pre-Workout still in your system. I made that mistake and it went from mental clarity and really focused to insanity and over stimulation. This is a great product, but I would honestly say its not a "take every day" product. I would rather save it for when the situation arises, such as an exam, long road trip or if you want to use it as a pre-worout in itself for the focus aspect.

    Value

    So I consistently see it being sold for $45.00 which comes out to a $1.50 per serving. Given the amount of ingredients that are in a dose and what this is made for I can say that I am ok with paying that kind of price, but again I would not be taking this product every single day for 30 days straight. Others who would do that and feel that they need this level of focus every day may feel differently about that kind of price. Given enough time, you will see this product being sold at more places which will usually drive the price down so it will appeal to more and more people.

    Side Effects

    The only real side effect that I noticed, was if it was consumed to close to a dose of pre-workout you were going to be in for a wild ride that might include losing your mind, rapid heart beat, nausea and cold sweats. I only had a few of these symptoms but it is a very real reality that you need to be aware of. they were not messing around with these ingredients and they will mess with you if you are not careful.

    Conclusion

    So, In conclusion did I become Rico Suave? Absolutely not, but did I get new levels of focus and thinking ability, yes I did. I think they have a real winner on their hands here, and it could open the door to make different versions of this. Imagine if this product was sold as a flavored powder with citrulline, and some other products...you would have a dynamite PWO on your hands. I would recommend it those who need to be more focused or who are studying for a big test. This option is a lot healthier than reaching for a monster or Redbull, just be aware of how you take it and when.


    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to Nutrex for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 21, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Good Muscle Contraction
    • Taste Good
    • Increased Energy
    • Good Value
    • Makes You Poop
    • Rough On Adrenals
    • Can Have A Crash

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    Big shoutout to Nutrex for letting me get the chance to run this product via the Trooper program. While taking this I did a steady mix of crossfit and body building type workouts with cardio ranging from LISS, HIIT and everything in between.

    Ingredient Profile

    1.5 Grams of Choline Bitartrate: which is essential for increasing mental energy and cognitive processing, while also supporting athletic strength and performance. It can also aide in the contraction of muscles under load.

    750MG of N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine this is also...

    Introduction

    (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
    Big shoutout to Nutrex for letting me get the chance to run this product via the Trooper program. While taking this I did a steady mix of crossfit and body building type workouts with cardio ranging from LISS, HIIT and everything in between.

    Ingredient Profile

    1.5 Grams of Choline Bitartrate: which is essential for increasing mental energy and cognitive processing, while also supporting athletic strength and performance. It can also aide in the contraction of muscles under load.

    750MG of N-Acetyl-L-Tyrosine this is also included to help create a laser like focus and mental priming.

    500MG of Sodium Nitrate (as NO3-T): Sodium nitrate is the result of combining the nitric acid with a sodium base, such as sodium hydroxide, sodium carbonate, or sodium bicarbonate. Sodium is a well-known mineral and electrolyte in the body that helps support hydration levels and muscular contraction. Sodium Nitrate is approximately 73% nitrate, which means in a 1g dose of sodium nitrate you're consuming 730mg nitrate and 270mg sodium, quite the hefty dose of nitrates for such a potent compound.

    400MG Kaff2 CITRATE 50.2% (ACTIVE) 200MG CAFFEINE ANHYDROUS: Caffeine is one of the most well-researched performance enhancement ingredients. OUTLIFT CONCENTRATE includes two active caffeine sources, Kaff2 Citrate and Caffeine Anhydrous. Caffeine Citrate is the ideal stimulant for those looking to increase energy as quickly possible because it appears to raise caffeine blood levels faster than other caffeine sources.

    300MG Betaine Nitrate (as NO3-T): Betaine nitrate is a combination of betaine anhydrous and nitric acid. Betaine (trimethylglycine) is found in beetroot (just like nitrates) and is also a metabolite of choline. In the body, betaine operates as a methyl donor, which helps eliminate harmful compounds like homocysteine or create S-adenosylmethionine, a compound which enhances creatine production. Similar to creatine, betaine also functions as an osmolyte supporting cellular hydration levels. Betaine has been proven in numerous studies to enhance power and strength in resistance-trained athletes in exercises such as the bench press, vertical jump and isometric squat force.

    2MG Rauwolscine: Rauwolscine is an alpha-receptor antagonist that can block the action of receptors responsible for stopping fat breakdown. Consuming before you train allows your body to keep breaking down fat beyond the point in exercise where it would normally stop which in turn helps to promote longer lasting energy, endurance and stamina.

    All of this is crammed into and aproximated 6.4g serving, however the scooper that comes with it will generally yield 7g+

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    I got to try the Sour Shox flavor and it taste awesome. Its not overly sour but has a good flavor that is tart enough to wake you up. Mixability was also very good, I would add 1 scoop to 10oz of water and let it sit for about 10 minutes before consuming. It would foam a little bit but nothing radical. again the dosing was what was listed on the package which was one scoop.

    Effectiveness

    So here is where you have to understand what you are getting. Nutrex does not hide anything with product and has a label on the side showing you the difference between their products and what this one is geared towards. Basically you are getting a giant wake your butt up stim bomb pre workout supplement that does have some beneficial ingredients in it. To put it in better terms, this is the stuff that most High School/College age kids would like who are constantly looking for that buzzed energy feeling. The product is made for that and it delivers on that advertisement 100%. Most of the time I would be super buzzed from all of the stimulants that I would have a hard time winding down at night for the first few weeks of taking this. With that being said, I had amazing energy for my workouts, but I will say that due to the large amounts of stimulants it did sacrifice my cardio abilities. This product is not geared to give you a pump as others, but you can feel your muscles contract with the amount of nitrates that are in it, which under enough load can generate that full pump feeling. Towards the end of the tub I noticed that I did start to have a crash feeling at the end of the day, and given that stimulants are not a huge part of my life, I could tell that it was taking a toll on my CNS, and my adrenal glands, so this is something to take into consideration.

    Value

    So most places I have looked at sell this for $29.99 for 30 servings which is pretty much 1 dollar a serving. Ahhh....Makes it feel like its the early 2000's again with pre-workouts that are affordable. Then again, you are essentially buying a 30 day supply of energy drinks in powder form, and are not necessarily looking for clinically performance based ingredients. However considering what it is, and compared to the competition I would say that is a great value.

    Side Effects

    As I mentioned earlier, I did get a crash feeling off of this and could tell that my adrenal glands were taking a beating which will ultimately increase your fatigue, making you feel like you need more and more stimulants in your life just to function. In addition to this, I would always have a runny nose and sniffles while taking this, I find this to be my reaction to heavy stimulants. Finally this product worked like clockwork when it came to firing up the digestion track. 15-20 minutes after consumption you better have a bathroom handy because the poo train is coming and the brakes are broken. Its not as bad as the SuperPump aka SuperDump days but it will definitely relieve your constipation.

    Conclusion

    In conclusion, if you are a person who can handle stimulants and want that Hillbilly meth feeling for your workouts this is a great product at a great price. I am happy to see Nutrex is generating products that kick you in the face again. They were my favorite in the DMAA days and fell off without that ingredient until the outlift series. I feel that this will put them in the front running with the best of them and will dominate this category given the price. Just be sure your body can handle the stimulants and make sure you can be ok with the nitrates that are in it. If so then have at it and become a juggernaut.
    Flavors:
    • Sour Shox: 8/10



    Super Mass Gainer (Dymatize Nutrition)

    Overall
    Overall
    6.0
    Effectiveness
    Effectiveness
    5.5
    Value
    Value
    6.5
    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to Dymatize Nutrition for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 21, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Good Value
    • Good Taste
    • Serving Size Too Big
    • Didn't Mix Well

    Introduction

    A very big thank you to Dymatize for sending me their mass gainer to review! I am a 26 year old firefighter from Ohio. My main fitness goals are to maintain a solid shape for my job and to build muscle mass / strength.

    Ingredient Profile

    This is a very big ingredient profile because they stuff it all in here. First off we will start off with the nutrients. They include Vitamin A, B6 and 12, C, and E. Also included in the nutrients are calcium, phosphorus, iodine, magnesium, sodium and potassium. Also included is 1 gram of creatine monohydrate. Now let's get...

    Introduction

    A very big thank you to Dymatize for sending me their mass gainer to review! I am a 26 year old firefighter from Ohio. My main fitness goals are to maintain a solid shape for my job and to build muscle mass / strength.

    Ingredient Profile

    This is a very big ingredient profile because they stuff it all in here. First off we will start off with the nutrients. They include Vitamin A, B6 and 12, C, and E. Also included in the nutrients are calcium, phosphorus, iodine, magnesium, sodium and potassium. Also included is 1 gram of creatine monohydrate. Now let's get to the numbers. It is 1,280 calories per serving. It includes 10 grams of fat, 244 grams of carbs, 23 grams of sugar and 52 grams of protein per serving. Quite hefty but it is a mass gainer. Now let's breaks down the protein types. The protein they use in this is in what they call a protein blend. That consists of whey protein concentrate, milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate, whey protein hydrosolate and micellar casein. This is similar to their XT protein product because it has several proteins that break down at different stages. It might even be that protein as a base then all the added calories to make it a mass gainer. Which would be fine because I reviewed that protein as well and liked it a lot.

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    The flavor I received was sugar cookie. Now as far as just the flavor goes it was rather enjoyable. It was quite like drinking a sugar cookie so I was pleased in that aspect. My biggest problem was in the mixability. I understand it's a mass gainer so I was already prepared for large scoops and having to shake the crap out of it. Now the tub recommends a shaker bottle if using a half serving or less. I had a very hard time getting this to be able to blend enough in a shaker bottle to be able to drink it even at that serving size. I moved to a blender and tried it at 24oz which they recommend for a full scoop. That still came out quite lumpy and not fully blended. When I used the full 32oz of their recommendation I was able to get it to fully blend pretty smoothly. I tried both water and milk and thought it tasted much better with milk. Although keep in mind there are more calories. The dosing as far as nutrients go seems perfect because it is a mass gainer. The 2 and half scoops serving size is a lot to get blended but once again it is a mass gainer.

    Effectiveness

    It was effective in gaining mass although it wasn't exactly what I was hoping for. Overall after I was done with it I'd say I was up about 6-8lbs. So technically it worked. I do feel like the only mass I gained though was in body fat. I didn't see much or any gains in muscle. Now I know this is likely to happen with these types of supplements because of the overall amount of calorie intake but I was hoping for more muscle gains considering the amount of protein per serving. It definitely helped me hit all of my caloric and nutrient intakes throughout each day. I always felt very full and slightly bloated because of the 32oz of liquid for quite awhile after ingesting. Feeling full for awhile would be good on a cut but not when your goal is trying to gain mass.

    Value

    I have found this product on allstarhealth.com for 22 bucks plus 8 bucks shipping. That's a fantastic deal compared to what some other sites are selling it for. I received the 6lb tub and it had 8 servings. So at that price it's about 3.50 a serving. If your looking to use one tub that's not too bad for the results but if you want multiple tubs it'll start getting pricey.

    Side Effects

    Besides feeling bloated for awhile after consuming I didn't experience anything negative.

    Conclusion

    Well to conclude I will say it does work just not the results I was hoping for. So if your in the market for a weight gainer and just want general weight increase then this is for you. You can get it for a good price now at the site I mentioned. If your looking for leaner gains or a shake that's not so big then I suggest looking elsewhere. I do not think I would try it again but like I said depending on your goals this may be just right for you.
    Flavors:
    • Sugar Cookie: 7/10



    Overall
    Overall
    8.6
    Effectiveness
    Effectiveness
    8.3
    Value
    Value
    9.0
      October 20, 2017


    Introduction

    6'6" 245lbs 23y/o male. Former collegiate baseball player.

    Ingredient Profile

    Very complex ingredients in this one (sarcasm). Agmatine sulfate aka Agmapaure (TM'd by Muscle Feast).

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    The taste is subtle and blends into majority of the pre-workouts I've tried. Whenever I take the recommended dose (1/4 tsp) or even double, I can barely taste the Agmatine due to the flavoring of the pre-workout. That being said, when I take 3-4 times the recommended dose (happened multiple times from grabbing the wrong measuring spoon), I can tell...

    Introduction

    6'6" 245lbs 23y/o male. Former collegiate baseball player.

    Ingredient Profile

    Very complex ingredients in this one (sarcasm). Agmatine sulfate aka Agmapaure (TM'd by Muscle Feast).

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    The taste is subtle and blends into majority of the pre-workouts I've tried. Whenever I take the recommended dose (1/4 tsp) or even double, I can barely taste the Agmatine due to the flavoring of the pre-workout. That being said, when I take 3-4 times the recommended dose (happened multiple times from grabbing the wrong measuring spoon), I can tell immediately when I'm drinking my pre-workout drink. It adds a bitter/stale taste to the drink, which is not by any means unbearable, but if you look for a pre-workout drink to sip on casually and can't get past a semi-undesirable taste then stick to the recommended 1/4tsp amount and make sure you measure correctly!

    Effectiveness

    One of the most consistently effective supplements I've used. Been taking it prior to every workout for the past 3 years and it still gives me a pump unlike anything else I've tried. I also haven't seen any type of tolerance build up so I've been able to maintain the same dosage the entire time, which has helped the product maintain it's overall value.

    Value

    As mentioned above, one of the main things I consider when assessing the value of a product is whether I find myself having to increase the dosage over time due to increased tolerance. With Muscle Feast's Agmatine, I haven't had any issue with maintaining a 1/4 - 1/2 tsp dosage 5-6 times per week over the past three years.

    Also, the price per serving size is unbeatable. I've gotten the 200g (7oz) container which has >317 servings on Amazon for $22. For nearly a years supply of a supplement, I haven't seen another product come close in overall value.

    Side Effects

    Other than what I take the Agmatine for (increase my pump when lifting), I have not noticed any major side effects in my time taking this. If there was anything, I'd say on occasion my skin will be more tingley (for lack of better words) than usual given the amount of Niacin and L-Leucine in my pre-workout supplement. But I enjoy the tingle so I don't view it as a negative side effect. To each their own!

    Conclusion

    I recommend this product to anyone who is working out. The pump that Muscle Feast's Agmatine gives me the additional sense that I've crushed my workouts. Many times when I have friends that are becoming complacent with their workouts and don't believe their routines are yielding the results they would like, I recommend (along with other things) to try taking some Agmatine prior to their workout. They, as well as I, feel the difference on the first workout.



    Reload Electrolyte Drink Mix (Micronamin)

    Overall
    Overall
    8.1
    Effectiveness
    Effectiveness
    8.4
    Value
    Value
    7.7
    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to Micronamin for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 20, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Hydration Support
    • General Health Support
    • Hydration Recovery
    • Convenient
    • Well Priced
    • Horrible Taste
    • Poor Packet Design

    Introduction

    I'm a big believer in BCAA supplementation and appreciate those products that include hydration-focused ingredients. But when I saw a straight up, electrolyte-only supplement, I knew I had to give it a try. I don't use Gatorade or Propel or any of the commercial sports drinks and usually rely solely on my intra-workout and regular water to keep me hydrated.

    Ingredient Profile

    Micronamin's Reload is solid profile of core electrolytes and minerals i.e. potassium, sodium, calcium, and magnesium. Most ingredients are well dosed - you're not getting the full daily...

    Introduction

    I'm a big believer in BCAA supplementation and appreciate those products that include hydration-focused ingredients. But when I saw a straight up, electrolyte-only supplement, I knew I had to give it a try. I don't use Gatorade or Propel or any of the commercial sports drinks and usually rely solely on my intra-workout and regular water to keep me hydrated.

    Ingredient Profile

    Micronamin's Reload is solid profile of core electrolytes and minerals i.e. potassium, sodium, calcium, and magnesium. Most ingredients are well dosed - you're not getting the full daily recommended value, but that's not exactly what you want in a hydration supplement. Your regular diet, multi-vitamin, and other supplements are likely also containing some dosage of these vitamins and minerals, and you certainly don't want to overdo it with supplements like sodium or calcium.

    Reload supports the body in maintaining a proper fluid balance and supporting general health, and does so without any of the sugars or carbs one generally finds in a sports drink. Overall I thought the profile was solid. A good mix of key ingredients that one would expect to find in this type of product.

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    I also received the Lemon Lime flavor and, to be honest, I hated it. The taste is very strong and tart, even in 32 oz. of water. But what bothered me most was the aftertaste. Every sip gave me this acidic, medicinal aftertaste that would stick in the back of my throat, often times for hours after I had already finished a dose of Reload.

    Mixability was decent. There was always some residue in the bottom of my bottle no matter how much I shook it up, meaning that last sip was usually gritty and powerful tasting.

    I did appreciate the convenience factor of this supplement. The individual packets were nice to have and I always had a few of them on me for if I wanted a dose at work, on the weekends, etc. The packets themselves need a better design - they're difficult to open without the use of scissors.

    Effectiveness

    I used this supplement for a variety of purposes. I tried it for intra-workout and post-workout hydration support. I'd dose it on off-days or in the AM. I'd toss a packet in a bottle and sip it while doing yard work. But my favorite use? After a good night of drinking. Had a few days where I woke up feeling less than 100% due to the night before and absolutely felt significantly better once I'd drunk down a dose of Reload. Honestly this was, in my case, the most prominent example of the effectiveness of this supplement. It was clear to me this delivers on its claims of providing recovery and all-day hydration.

    One other note; this is a nice supplement to sip intra-workout. It provides a good mid-workout boost and keeps your endurance up. Reload is not providing the same level of DOMS recovery as a proper BCAA product, but I thought it was a good option for cardio days. Again, my only gripe was the damn taste. Ugh.

    Value

    A box of 50 packets can be had on Amazon for $32 / 0.64c per packet. I personally think this is well priced. Most solid BCAA products with an electrolyte profile will cost you between .80c-$1.00 per scoop. Of course a .64c packet of Reload is a hell of a lot cheaper than a bottle of Gatorade, not to mention much healthier. I don't mind paying a few cents extra per packet for the convenience factor either.

    Side Effects

    Awful acidic aftertaste.

    Conclusion

    All in all this is a good product with a variety of uses. I'm looking at picking up another box in either Orange or Pink Lemonade though, as the Lemon Lime receives very low marks from me. But otherwise I would absolutely recommend this product to anyone interested in general hydration support. Great option for those trying to get off of sports drinks but need their water to be flavored. Even my MOM liked this product. She's a big user of electrolyte supplements (she lives in Florida and does a ton of gardening) so I gave her a few packets to try. She enjoyed it more so than I did. Good stuff.
    Flavors:
    • Lemon Lime: 2/10


      October 19, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Great Taste
    • Nice Texture
    • Betaine
    • Increased Energy
    • Cool Beads
    • Long-lasting Energy
    • Can Be Expensive
    • Needs More Liquid Per Can

    Introduction

    I recently took a trip to the Olympia. Performix was one of those companies that had a huge booth and had long lines, which made sense since they were giving away free shirts. Along with these free shirts, they were handing out samples of their SST Energy Drinks. To start this review, I have to note that it comes in a really cool looking can. The body is plastic and the bottom rounds out like a water bottle, but the top is aluminum like a typical energy drink can. Not that that matters too much, but having a dent-resistant can-shaped product was cool.

    Performix is a G...

    Introduction

    I recently took a trip to the Olympia. Performix was one of those companies that had a huge booth and had long lines, which made sense since they were giving away free shirts. Along with these free shirts, they were handing out samples of their SST Energy Drinks. To start this review, I have to note that it comes in a really cool looking can. The body is plastic and the bottom rounds out like a water bottle, but the top is aluminum like a typical energy drink can. Not that that matters too much, but having a dent-resistant can-shaped product was cool.

    Performix is a GNC exclusive brand, which typically translates to mediocre proprietary blends, good flavors, and maybe some gimmicky sales pitches. Performix is big on their Terra Beads, which are basically just beads that make their products time-released.

    Of course, they are in their energy drink as well. This is my second time(I think) reviewing an RTD product. After trying one at the Olympia, I went out and bought a 12 pack to test it out for myself. While I did spend a pretty penny, it was worth it in the end.

    Ingredient Profile

    Well, you get a 2175 mg blend. The first ingredient is Betaine Anhydrous. This was very interesting to see. Typically, you see some things sprinkled in an energy drink like taurine and some b-vitamins. Well, Performix used Betaine... Another thing to note is that the Betaine may be decently dosed. It is the first ingredient in the blend, with the second one being caffeine at 275mg, we can assume that there is more than a gram in there, or at least I'd hope so.

    After that you get some ingredients that looked sprinkled in like Ashwaganda, GABA, Theanine, Guarana, and Choline. Again though, there is no way of telling how much of each is in here as the only thing that's given is the caffeine.

    It's a better profile than many of energy drinks for sure. Not necessarily some RTD pre-workouts, like C4s RTD for example, but still not terrible.

    Taste/Mixability/Dosing

    I had the original flavor, and I really enjoyed it. Kind of like "what is the flavor of a green monster?", it has it's own unique flavor. After sour heads and purple guava pear from Bang, I'd say it is my 3rd favorite flavored energy drink. The color is yellow, so I guess it tastes like yellow.

    I also tried the berry blast flavor and unlike many other companies, it tastes a lot like those blue dum-dum lollipops. Closer to that than any other blue-razz product I have ever tried. Not as good as the original in my opinion.

    What really got me enjoying this was the slight thickness to the liquid. It is just slightly thicker than water, and has little beads in there. The beads of course are Performix's little gimmick for "longer-lasting energy". For some reason, I liked chewing on them if they got caught in my mouth somehow.

    One can is one serving, better than a typical Monster energy drink which has "2 servings" per can... who drinks only half of a Monster energy drink?

    One thing I wish they would do is add more liquid. The cans are not your typical 16oz, they are 11.4oz. Once you finish, you kind of want to sip on it a bit more.

    Effectiveness

    For the most part, I used this as a pick-me-up during the day. I basically got a little bit less energy than I would from a Bang, but the energy would last longer. That terra-bead technology must actually work somewhat. I used it once as a pre-workout, and it works better for that than a Bang in my opinion. Although I wish there was more liquid in these things, the smaller amount of liquid made it easier to drink before hitting the gym as I wouldn't get that bloat that heavily carbonated drinks give me, so it's a trade-off.

    I wouldn't really say I got a boost in focus, but after using DMHA, it is hard for any product with some simple choline to impress me. I'm sure alertness was higher, as caffeine does that anyway to some degree.

    As a pick-me-up, it was really enjoyable and different. With the slightly thick texture and beads, it actually made it enjoyable to drink. While it may not be for the stim-junkies out there, it is still twice as strong as a Monster energy drink, and lasts much longer.

    I can't expect too much from it. Asking for it to be a staple pre-workout for instance would be costly, and there aren't many energy drinks that I know of that have clinical doses of beta-alanine, betaine, creatine, etc. RTDs are always expensive.

    Adding this to a pump product would probably be your best bet. This drink and some agmatine pills, or citrulline powder sounds like a decent combo.

    Value

    This is where the GNC part takes over. These are not cheap. While I'm sure there are sales on them at GNC from time to time, I was only able to find this for $48 on GNC's website. This is the only place you can find them as they are a GNC exclusive brand. $4 a can is a lot if you ask me, especially when Bang can be found for $2 a can and sometimes even cheaper.

    It is certainly a bit too much for most people to afford, but if you have the extra money, or simply want to switch up your energy drink, go to GNC and pick one up. If I could get a case BOGO 50%, I may buy it.

    Side Effects

    None

    Conclusion

    With my green thumb, I don't want you to go out and buy a case of these like I did. I won't be doing that myself unless they have a great sale or the price comes down. However, if you want to switch it up with your energy drinks, or want something as a pre-workout when you don't have any on you, I'd say pick one up.

    The taste is good and unique, the energy is solid, and who knows, perhaps there is enough betaine in there to boost your performance. Next time you want a boost in energy and aren't in the mood for coffee, give this a chance. Not all GNC exclusive brands/products are bad!
    Flavors:
    • Original: 9/10
    • Berry Blast: 8/10



    7 Blend (UXO Supplements)

    Overall
    Overall
    7.0
    Effectiveness
    Effectiveness
    7.5
    Value
    Value
    6.0
    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to UXO Supplements for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 19, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • 7 Sources Of Protein
    • Builds Muscle
    • Tastes Good
    • Mixes Easily
    • Not Widely Available
    • Too Expensive
    • Low Protein Ratio
    • Higher Carbs And Calories
    Special thanks to UXO Supplements for the hook up on this product. One of the newer revelations in post workout supplementation is that a protein blend is more beneficial for you after your workout than an isolate, contrary to the popular narrative and conventional wisdom that was. So a good quality protein blend becomes more of a necessity than just something to take in-between meals or before bed time. Here's a look at how UXO's protein blend product stacks up:

    Dosage

    Two scoops (one serving) taken after workout.

    Ingredient Profile (7.5/10)

    UXO's protein blend consists...
    Special thanks to UXO Supplements for the hook up on this product. One of the newer revelations in post workout supplementation is that a protein blend is more beneficial for you after your workout than an isolate, contrary to the popular narrative and conventional wisdom that was. So a good quality protein blend becomes more of a necessity than just something to take in-between meals or before bed time. Here's a look at how UXO's protein blend product stacks up:

    Dosage

    Two scoops (one serving) taken after workout.

    Ingredient Profile (7.5/10)

    UXO's protein blend consists of 7 different types of protein sources: whey concentrate, whey isolate, milk protein isolate, calcium caseinate, micellar casein, egg whites, and whey hydrosate. A wide array of sources all with variable absorption rates to keep a constant flow of protein being delivered. It's pretty hard to beat the formula as far as a blend goes, the only thing I'd like to see is how much of each protein source we are getting.

    Overall you get 24 grams of protein per 44 gram two scoop serving, so you're at a 55% protein ratio which is a little low on the spectrum even for being a blend. 180 calories, 6 grams of fat, 12 grams of carbs, with 4 coming from sugar and 5 as fiber. The carb and calorie conscious consumer or contest prepper will probably not care for this nutritional layout, but for the average Joe like me, it's just fine.

    Mixture (9/10)

    Despite being a diverse blend, I did not run into any issues with mixing. Your standard few good shakes in a shaker and you were good to go. I used 12 ounces of water with my two scoops and it was nice and smooth and went down easy.

    Taste (8/10)

    This was an interesting flavor for me as I got the Frozen Cappuccino flavor, something I've never tried before. I was pretty impressed with its flavor and it gave off a nice aroma as well each time I popped off the lid. Since I'm a man and have never had a real Cappuccino I don't know if it tastes like the genuine item, but I imagine it's pretty close based off of its smell.

    Effectiveness (7.5/10)

    I've said it a million times, but here is a million and one: To me, a protein powder is a foundation on which to build your recovery and nutrition off of. With that, I feel this is a decent product. As I said before it's a little low on the protein ratio spectrum so I do mark down a little for that. I'm not so concerned with the added calories and macros associated with this product, but I do see where that could be a point of contention for some. Overall this product provides a blend of good protein sources, and a healthy dose of fiber so it still manages a respectable score as far as effectiveness goes.

    Value (6/10)

    As of right now, it looks like the only place to cop this is UXO's own website at $44.99 for 30 servings, or about $1.50 per serving. The price tag is a little high for something that isn't particularly special, so while I did like this product it's availability and price make it something I wouldn't want to go out and purchase as there are equal or greater products at more competitive prices. There is a 20% sale on the website currently, and it looks like you also get a free tub of creatine along with it, so at this sale price and deal I will say that is the exception.

    Conclusion and Verdict

    UXO's 7 Blend is a diverse protein blend using good protein sources. Although a little low in protein ratio and high in calorie and carbs I still liked it. It's mixes well and tastes good, but the price tag and limited availability ultimately make this a product that I would simply give the "meh" rating to with the caveat that it is not a bad product.
    Flavors:
    • Frozen Cappuccino: 8/10


    Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
    Thanks to Transparent Labs for sending it out!
    (Show run details )
      October 19, 2017

     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Fully Disclosed Label
    • Increased Energy
    • Research Backed Ingredients
    • Solid Pumps
    • No Dyes
    • Focus
    • Fully Dosed
    • Increased Endurance
    • No Proprietary Blends
      For the longest time, I had always been curious about Transparent Labs and their line of transparently produced and labeled products. I had been seeing a lot of ads for them on Facebook recently and was becoming increasingly interested, so I was naturally very excited to see them pop up as available tyo try through the TROOP program at about the same time. I chose to use BULK because I'm trending more and more towards lower stim, higher performance/pump based types of pre-workouts, do it was right up my alley in terms of what I was looking for at the time. Let's talk about why I loved my ru...
      For the longest time, I had always been curious about Transparent Labs and their line of transparently produced and labeled products. I had been seeing a lot of ads for them on Facebook recently and was becoming increasingly interested, so I was naturally very excited to see them pop up as available tyo try through the TROOP program at about the same time. I chose to use BULK because I'm trending more and more towards lower stim, higher performance/pump based types of pre-workouts, do it was right up my alley in terms of what I was looking for at the time. Let's talk about why I loved my run with BULK so much.

      Ingredient Profile

      9.5/10

      It's been quite some time since I've seen an ingredient profile that caught my eye from top to bottom the way that BULK did. 6g of Citrulline and 4g of Beta Alanine are very hefty doses. The 4g of BCAAs are a very nice touch and I've always been a big fan of the caffeine/synephrine combo. As I previously stated, I've been steering away from higher stim options lately, so 180mg was just about perfect. You won't find much to complain about in terms of how BULK presents itself on paper.

      Taste/Mixability/Dosing

      6/10

      Regarding the Strawberry Lemonade flavor. Did this taste great? No. Did they do a good job of flavoring this with no artificial sweeteners or added sugars considering the sheer amount of ingredients in it? Yes. Do I think some of the other reviewers are exaggerating a bit when they talk about how bad this tasted? Absolutely. I didn't mind this that much at all. I normally use a lot of water with my pre-workouts, so that may have helped attribute to it, but aside from a slight chemical taste, this wasn't bad. A bit of foaming went along with it that dissipated fairly shortly thereafter.

      Effectiveness

      8.8/10

      This was just a solid pre-workout despite the lack of high stims. I think the blend of other stimulants beside caffeine really worked in high synergy with the others, making for a clean, long-sustained energy. I never had the dreaded "come-down" that you get from a lot of other pre-workouts. I was also very focused while using BULK, an aspect that I didn't think would shine through as well it did. Gotta love that tyrosine/choline combination. Obviously, the performance/pump aspect was the shining star of BULK. 6g of Citrulline, 4g of Beta Alanine and 4g of Betaine really helped to push me through my workouts and aid in blood flow. Vascularity was way up and my muscles were very full and tense. I don't think there's much that could be added to this to make it much better, aside from my favorite buddy Agmatine, of course :)

      Value

      7.7/10

      30 servings of this will set you back $49 through Transparent Labs website, which is $1.63 per serving. Normally, I'd consider this much too high, but considering how effective this was, I'd spend the money if I had it to burn. If this ever goes on sale, this would be a stellar deal. I'd pounce on that if it ever came around.

      Side Effects

      None

      Conclusion

      8.3/10

      All in all, Transparent Labs joins the growing list of brands that have shifted towards transparently dosed products, all geared towards letting the consumers know exactly what they're getting at any given time. This was a highly effective pre-workout that I would consider paying if I had money to spare and would certainly give another go if it ever went on sale. Please don't let other reviewers ratings on taste deter you from trying this absolute gem.
      Flavors:
      • Strawberry Lemonade: 6/10



      Elite XT (Dymatize Nutrition)

      Overall
      Overall
      7.0
      Effectiveness
      Effectiveness
      7.5
      Value
      Value
      7.0
      Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
      Thanks to Dymatize Nutrition for sending it out!
      (Show run details )
        October 19, 2017

       Pros:
       Cons:
      • Efficient Protein Blend
      • Taste Good
      • Helps Meet Macro Needs
      • Good Value

        Introduction

        First off a big thank you to Dymatize for sending me out their product to review! I am a 26 year old firefighter from Ohio. My main fitness goals are to maintain a solid shape for my job and to build muscle mass / strength.

        Ingredient Profile

        To start each serving is 130 calories. There are 2.5 grams of fat, 7 grams of carbs, 5 grams of sugar and 21 grams of protein. The protein comes from multiple types to create the extended release. Those proteins are whey protein concentrate, milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate, and micellar casein. Those proteins ...

        Introduction

        First off a big thank you to Dymatize for sending me out their product to review! I am a 26 year old firefighter from Ohio. My main fitness goals are to maintain a solid shape for my job and to build muscle mass / strength.

        Ingredient Profile

        To start each serving is 130 calories. There are 2.5 grams of fat, 7 grams of carbs, 5 grams of sugar and 21 grams of protein. The protein comes from multiple types to create the extended release. Those proteins are whey protein concentrate, milk protein isolate, whey protein isolate, and micellar casein. Those proteins give you slow, medium, and fast digestion and breakdown which gives you sustained protein intake over a period of time. The other ingredients in this product are for flavor.

        Taste/Mixability/Dosing

        I received the rich chocolate flavor. It was enjoyable but it was nothing spectacular or mind blowing. I would say it's an average chocolate flavor. I always used milk when I mixed it so that definitely made it more enjoyable. It mixed up just fine for me each time. I used a blender bottle and never had any leftover powder or settling when I shook it up. The dosing seemed average as most other protein powders are in the 20 grams of protein range. Each scoop is 35 grams and is an average sized scoop. There are 27 servings in the 2lb tub I received.

        Effectiveness

        With this products main goal being extended release of protein I definitely think it does it's job. I took this protein either before bed or when I knew my meals would be a little spread out. I maintained all my muscle and strength gains when on this product so I know I was getting my protein in. I feel my muscle became fuller during my use and I'm sure this helped. It definitely helps you get your total daily protein intake in. I recovered well and felt I made progress on my main fitness goals.

        Value

        I received a 2lb tub but I was only able to find 4lb tubs online. The best price I found for that was 29.99 for 4lbs at dpsnutrition.com. That is a fantastic deal in my opinion. The 4lb tub contains 52 servings and the price breaks down to 57 cents per serving. Again in my opinion that's a great deal.

        Side Effects

        During my usage I experienced no negative side effects.

        Conclusion

        Overall I recommend this protein to anyone in the protein market. It's not the best protein I've ever had out there but it does it's job and you can currently get it for a great deal. The taste is enjoyable and not hard to get down at all. It's pretty versatile since the proteins release in different stages so that definitely might interest people to try it. I would definitely consider trying this again in the future. Once again thank you Dymatize!
        Flavors:
        • Rich Chocolate: 7/10



        Vegan Protein (BN Labs)

        Overall
        Overall
        8.0
        Effectiveness
        Effectiveness
        8.5
        Value
        Value
        7.5
        Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
        Thanks to BN Labs for sending it out!
        (Show run details )
          October 18, 2017

         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Great Protein Per Serving
        • Organic Ingredients
        • No Soy
        • Too Expensive

        Introduction

        I have tried a few plant based proteins in the past, but never stuck with them since whey is almost always cheaper. Now, I am kind of toying with the idea of going vegetarian and cutting out any meat products and dairy. Over the past couple years, I have drastically cut down on my meat and milk consumption and I am really considering cutting them out completely from my diet.

        Ingredient Profile

        BNLabs has created a fully organic, plant based protein without the inclusion of soy. Many plant based proteins today include soy, which I am not a fan of at all. I ...

        Introduction

        I have tried a few plant based proteins in the past, but never stuck with them since whey is almost always cheaper. Now, I am kind of toying with the idea of going vegetarian and cutting out any meat products and dairy. Over the past couple years, I have drastically cut down on my meat and milk consumption and I am really considering cutting them out completely from my diet.

        Ingredient Profile

        BNLabs has created a fully organic, plant based protein without the inclusion of soy. Many plant based proteins today include soy, which I am not a fan of at all. I have jumped on the organic trend probably three years ago, so I liked that this is fully organic and certified by a third party. Supplements are probably the only thing I do not consume organic and that is just because there really is not a big market for organic supplements. That is why I have tried to stay away from products with low-quality/artificial ingredients and fillers. What I like most about this protein is that it contains 27g of protein per scoop. That is more than just about every other dairy-based protein that I have tried over the years. A big knock on plant based proteins is that they do not have a good amino profile or are not a complete protein. Well BNLabs uses four types of vegan protein sources (pea, brown rice, hemp, spirullina) to give a nice amino profile. It is a bit higher in calories and fat content than a good whey protein, but that is not really a big deal to me.

        Taste/Mixability/Dosing

        Taste 6/10: I received the caramel latte flavor and was not the biggest fan of it. It was not gross to me, but it smelled a lot better than it tasted. I strictly mixed this is water though, so take that into consideration. Maybe if it is mixed in an almond milk it may taste better. I probably would opt for a chocolate flavor in the future. BNLabs advertises that this is a grit free formula and if you have tried other plant based proteins before you would know that it is pretty grainy, similar to casein proteins back in the day. I would agree that this does not have that grainy texture and is pretty smooth. You can definitely tell it is not whey, but this is way more palatable.

        Mixability 8/10: This is a pretty heavy protein and is not as light as whey protein is. However, it mixes pretty well for the most part and there is a minimal amount of clumping if you shake it well enough.

        Dosing 9/10: Their recommendation is consume 1-3 scoops per day. I would stick to one since it is a bit pricey.

        Effectiveness

        I thought that this was just as effective as any quality protein supplement. It was just as effective as whey aiding in recovery and I would say that it left me feeling satiated a lot more than whey. It is a lot thicker of a powder and that helped keep me full longer. The 27g of protein is a big selling point especially to those who are vegan because it is obviously a bit harder to meet your protein needs. Never had any issues digesting it.

        Value

        This is pretty expensive and probably only appeals to a niche market. It can be found on Amazon for just about $50. At 30 servings, that equals $1.67 a serving. This is a lot more expensive than a whey protein where most quality proteins are about $1 a scoop, so if you do not care about going vegan, this is not for you. However, if you are a vegan and you want to stay away from cheap soy as well as finding an organic protein, than this is not too bad of a price.

        Side Effects

        None.

        Conclusion

        I liked this protein and will definitely consider it in the future, although I will be choosing another flavor. This probably will not appeal to a lot of you on this site and I get that, but that does not make it a bad protein and for the quality in here, it is not an awful price. Thank you to BNLabs for sending this out!



        Q//WHEY (Quantified Nutrition)
        Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
        Thanks to Quantified Nutrition for sending it out!
        (Show run details )
          October 18, 2017

         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Digests Well
        • Mixes Good
        • Good Recovery
        • Builds Muscle
        • Too Expensive

        Introduction

        First I would like to thank Quantified Nutrition for sending Q//Whey out to review, and the SR TROOPs program for making the connection possible. This is a whey protein isolate product that tasted pretty good and essentially would have a decent rating if the price wasn't so steep for 30 servings. Yes as a product I'd recommend it, but for the price it hurt the ratings.

        Ingredient Profile

        The ingredient profile is pretty straight forward, which is a good thing when it comes to protein powders not designed for "mass gains". 25g's of protein per serving is pret...

        Introduction

        First I would like to thank Quantified Nutrition for sending Q//Whey out to review, and the SR TROOPs program for making the connection possible. This is a whey protein isolate product that tasted pretty good and essentially would have a decent rating if the price wasn't so steep for 30 servings. Yes as a product I'd recommend it, but for the price it hurt the ratings.

        Ingredient Profile

        The ingredient profile is pretty straight forward, which is a good thing when it comes to protein powders not designed for "mass gains". 25g's of protein per serving is pretty nice and a few grams more than other competing brands.

        Carbs are at only 3g, which again is another good sign as it allows anybody to fit this into their diet usually, and less than a gram of it is sugar. Fat is at only a gram as well. Other than this there's nothing else to cover with this protein powder.

        Taste/Mixability/Dosing

        Taste isn't too bad. I meant to request for the chocolate truffle, but forgot and received the Mexican vanilla flavor. Taste was on the stronger side for me with the artificial flavoring.

        Mixing is good with no clumping while used in a shaker or in protein food creations.

        Dosing is basically as needed since it's protein. I used every post workout and sometimes an hour pre workout if I didn't have time for protein rich snacks. Also made protein balls and bars to eat throughout the days and at night. Each serving is 3 scoops of 10g's, which is odd to not just be one larger scoop.

        Effectiveness

        Well it's protein and it helped me stay on a good recovery program and I never seemed to lose any muscle, so I'd say it does what is supposed to happen when consuming protein supplements.

        Digestion wise I had no issues of diarrhea or being gassy, so again this shows a good protein mixture to consume. The bag talks a lot about the BCAA's found in whey isolate and how they are absorbed better during digestion, but I can't really say it made a whole lot more of a difference. That on top of me using 6-7g 2:1:1 BCAA produts.

        Essentially a decent whey protein isolate. Nothing above average or worse to report.

        Value

        Okay, so it's $52.99 a bag for 30 servings, which i around $1.77 per scoop. I couldn't find it anywhere else but on the website, so I'm going with that price. I understand most brands display an MSRP price, but actually sell it for less, but there's no sign of anything cheaper since it's not widely available.

        Whey protein isolate is a step up from concentrate, but I never really see any difference that much except during digestion maybe. Maybe when this has a cheaper price it'll get a better rating; just with that price it's not competitive.

        Side Effects

        None to report.

        Conclusion

        In the end this is a decent whey protein isolate that I can't say is anything different from other brands with the exception of being higher priced. Hopefully the price drops in the future, but until then I stand with the rating given and would recommend if cheaper. Thanks for sending this out Quantified Nutrition.
        Flavors:
        • Mexican Vanilla: 7/10



        Overall
        Overall
        8.0
        Effectiveness
        Effectiveness
        7.0
        Value
        Value
        5.0
          October 17, 2017

         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Nutrition Profile
        • Unbelievable Serving Of Fiber.
        • Great Taste And Texture
        • Very Good Tasting
        • Very Filling
        • Builds Muscle
        • Helps Keep Macros On Track
        • A Tad Expensive
        • Couple More Grams Of Protein Wouldn't Hurt

        Introduction

        Quest bars have always been a favourite of mine, and they seem to be one of the most popular bars on the market.

        Ingredient Profile

        All of the bars are low sugar, and high fibre which is very appealing- helps keep you fuller for longer! Some use stevia to sweeten them and others use sucralose. They all contain whey isolate, which is great for those who are lactose intolerant, but unfortunately they're not vegan. Some have the infamous quest 'chunks', which are cocoa butter. They taste great, but increase the amount of saturated fat per bar.

        ----Taste/Mixabi...

        Introduction

        Quest bars have always been a favourite of mine, and they seem to be one of the most popular bars on the market.

        Ingredient Profile

        All of the bars are low sugar, and high fibre which is very appealing- helps keep you fuller for longer! Some use stevia to sweeten them and others use sucralose. They all contain whey isolate, which is great for those who are lactose intolerant, but unfortunately they're not vegan. Some have the infamous quest 'chunks', which are cocoa butter. They taste great, but increase the amount of saturated fat per bar.

        Taste/Mixability/Dosing

        I love the taste of pretty much all of these bars, except the peanut butter jelly and the peanut butter deluxe. I found that the texture of the bar didn't seem to complement the peanut flavour. The apple pie one is great- you get a lovely cinnamon kick and some nice chewy chunks of dried apple too. The blueberry muffin is also highly recommended- the biscuity and blueberry chunks make it taste like the real thing. I found that the rocky road was a bit of a disappointment- it was too nutty and not chocolatey or marshmallowy enough. The oatmeal chocolate chip is really good though- tastes like proper oaty biscuits. Also, I really recommend the cookies and cream- a classic flavour that Quest Nutrition have nailed. My final favourite would have to be the smores bar- the biscuit, chocolate and marshmallow chunks are to die for!

        Effectiveness

        These are great if you want to increase your protein intake without buying powders or other supplements. They're really easy to incorporate into your diet, and definitely show results. With an average of 20g of protein per bar, they really seem to work as a post-workout muscle builder. They've helped my muscle growth and tone massively!

        Value

        It depends where you buy them of course. Generally, they can be expensive, but sometimes Predator Nutrition sell out-of-date stock at 10-15 a box, which is a bargain. You can also get dated stock on eBay and sometimes on ApprovedFood, which is dirt cheap. The fact that their out of date doesn't make any difference to the taste, although some can be slightly chewier. Definitely don't buy from Holland&Barrett, they're about 3 per bar...

        Side Effects

        None that I know of. Whey isolate is used, so they don't cause bloating or anything.

        Conclusion

        Quest bars will always be a classic. I'm loving the new flavours that they're releasing at the moment, but new flavours are always pretty pricey. I love these bars, but would never buy a full priced box. Always check eBay for dated stock! Overall, they've got the thumbs up from me.
        Flavors:
        • Apple Pie: 10/10
        • Banana Nut Muffin: 8/10
        • Chocolate Brownie: 6/10
        • Chocolate Chip Cookie Dough: 7/10
        • Chocolate Peanut Butter: 6/10
        • Cinnamon Roll: 5/10
        • Coconut Cashew: 5/10
        • Cookies N Cream: 8/10
        • Mint Chocolate Chunk: 7/10
        • PB & J: 4/10
        • S'mores: 10/10
        • Vanilla Almond: 5/10
        • White Chocolate Raspberry: 7/10
        • Strawberry Cheesecake: 7/10
        • Mixed Berry Bliss: 6/10



        Super Premium Whey Protein (MHP)

        Overall
        Overall
        8.4
        Effectiveness
        Effectiveness
        8.4
        Value
        Value
        7.5
          October 17, 2017

         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Absorbs Quickly
        • Good Taste
        • Builds Muscle

          Introduction

          What is going on guys?? Blake Pullen coming at you live with a POSITIVE protein review. It feels good to give some praise after I ripped "Anytime Protein" for it's grainy, rubber taste. I was able to use MHP Super Premium Protein from May 2017 to the beginning of August 2017. I bought this product in bulk mainly because of a major sale on Allstarhealth.com at the time and I couldn't be happier that I did.

          Ingredient Profile

          Calories 120
          Calories from Fat: 13.5
          Total Fat: 1.5g
          Saturated Fat: 0.5g
          Cholesterol: 25mg
          Total Carbohydrate: 4g
          Sugars: 1g
          Protei...

          Introduction

          What is going on guys?? Blake Pullen coming at you live with a POSITIVE protein review. It feels good to give some praise after I ripped "Anytime Protein" for it's grainy, rubber taste. I was able to use MHP Super Premium Protein from May 2017 to the beginning of August 2017. I bought this product in bulk mainly because of a major sale on Allstarhealth.com at the time and I couldn't be happier that I did.

          Ingredient Profile

          Calories 120
          Calories from Fat: 13.5
          Total Fat: 1.5g
          Saturated Fat: 0.5g
          Cholesterol: 25mg
          Total Carbohydrate: 4g
          Sugars: 1g
          Protein: 25g
          calcium: 116mg
          Iron: 1mg
          Sodium: 190mg
          Potassium: 140mg
          Super Premium Whey Protein Complex (Elemental Protein): 25g
          -Whey Protein Hydrolysate (Instantized): 12g
          -Whey Protein Isolate (Instantized): 8g
          -Whey Protein Concentrate (Instantized): 5g
          Anti-catabolic BCKA Complex: 200mg
          -Alpha-Keto-Leucine: 100mg
          -Alpha-Keto-Isoleucine: 50mg
          -Alpha-Keto-Valine:50mg

          Protein reviews can be pretty dry because "protein is protein right?" Not so fast my friend! This particular protein doesn't have any fillers or unwanted additives. MHP just brings you the good stuff. 25g of Protein per serving is my ideal amount. Not too little, yet not too much so that the overall formula can remain lean in terms of calories and such. MHP uses 3 versions of Whey protein (12g Whey Hydrolysate, 8g Whey Isolate, 5g Whey concentrate) for faster absorption rates. I actually like this combination because if your body struggles in breaking down one of these particular types fast enough then you can almost bank on the fact that one if not 2 of the other types are quickly being transported through your body system to be broken down to feed your muscles.
          This particular protein powder utilizes branched-chain keto acids (BCKAs) to help reduce protein breakdown and allows the 5.6g of BCAA's included in the formula to forego possibly being used as energy and instead go straight to the site of protein synthesis. I personally haven't seen enough protein powders that utilize this science-backed formula, so that was very refreshing to see.

          Taste/Mixability/Dosing

          Taste: I had the Vanilla flavor and the first word that comes to mind when asked to describe it is Smooth. It wasn't very strong and it didn't overpower you with flavor, but it gave you just enough to be satisfied. Taste: 7/10

          Mixibility: This is one of the better proteins that I have ever used in terms of mixability. Give it a good shake for 10 seconds max and you won't have any issues with clumping or floating particles. mixability: 8/10

          Dosing: One scoop post-workout is always my ideal dose and this blend definitely fulfills that. The blend of 3 different kinds of whey keeps your body in a very optimal state for protein synthesis to occur when taken before/after workouts

          Effectiveness

          I saw some great gains in lean mass and in overall strength in the 4 months that I was using this product. I don't attribute all of my gains during this time to the product of course, as I attribute a lot of it to nutrition and workout intensity, however, I do attribute the speed at which I made these gains to this product. I felt like my body was able to quickly absorb the protein and utilize it more efficiently thanks to the high-quality formula.

          Value

          You can currently purchase 2 pounds for $23.99 at bodybuilding.com
          I think the price is pretty justified when compared to the rest of the market and for what your actually getting in the formula

          Side Effects

          NONE (and I have a sensitive stomach in general)

          Conclusion

          Personally, this is one of my favorite protein powders that I have used and I would highly recommend it to anyone looking for a more high-quality protein supplement
          Flavors:
          • Vanilla: 7/10



          Elite XT (Dymatize Nutrition)

          Overall
          Overall
          8.6
          Effectiveness
          Effectiveness
          8.6
          Value
          Value
          8.5
          Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
          Thanks to Dymatize Nutrition for sending it out!
          (Show run details )
            October 17, 2017

           Pros:
           Cons:
          • Decent Value
          • Efficient Protein Blend
          • Taste Good
          • Good Recovery

            Introduction

            (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
            A big shout out to Dymatize for their support of the SR Troops this is my forth review from this company. I've enjoyed the other products that I've tired from Dymatize. When the company put up I wanted to give it a shot because I've never used anything like it before. Now let's see what kind of protein powder this stuff is.

            Ingredient Profile

            Like the other Dymatize product's full label panel on the back of the product. With this product you will get 21g of protein, 4g of bcaa, 2g of leucine, and 130 calories per scoop....

            Introduction

            (About yourself, 1-3 sentences maximum)
            A big shout out to Dymatize for their support of the SR Troops this is my forth review from this company. I've enjoyed the other products that I've tired from Dymatize. When the company put up I wanted to give it a shot because I've never used anything like it before. Now let's see what kind of protein powder this stuff is.

            Ingredient Profile

            Like the other Dymatize product's full label panel on the back of the product. With this product you will get 21g of protein, 4g of bcaa, 2g of leucine, and 130 calories per scoop. This product is also gluten-free for anyone out there thinking of trying it.

            Taste/Mixability/Dosing

            Well I wanted to get banana nut but they were out of it. So I ended up with rich chocolate which tasted really good. Didn't have any issues with the mixability of the protein other than the easiest way to mix was with water. If you used almond milk or anything else I would always use a blender to mix it up easier. Dosing was taking 2-3 servings with 8oz of your favorite drink per day. I normally took it 3 times a day. Which really made a difference.

            Effectiveness

            Now to the good part does this stuff really work as a time release protein source? For me yes it does. I would take this product multiple times a day. My daily route is very busy so I like to get extra shakes in where I can to make sure I keep my calories up during the day. Plus like coach Rich says I don't count these shakes as a meal they are just a snack. I'm trying to keep around 3.8-4k calories per day just because of how busy I am. Another good thing about elite X.T is it uses nutrateric which makes this product and even slower protein source. My days are usually14+hrs plus the gym so anytime I can get extra protein during the day along with eat whole food sources makes it better to stay full for a longer period of time. Also unlike other protein sources this one did not make my stomach hurt or make me feel bloated and gassy. There was no stomach issues while taking this protein product. If you live a very busy and active lifestyle trying giving elite x.t a trying it's a quality protein that's worth it.

            Value

            At Walmart.com a 2lb tub of elite X.T goes for 18.01 for 27 servings a tub. Which is 66cents a serving pretty cheap if you ask me.

            Side Effects

            Protein Gainz

            Conclusion

            If you looking to try or have never tried a time release give Elite X.T. a try. This is a quality protein that's worth the price.
            Flavors:
            • Rich Chocolate: 10/10



            Elite XT (Dymatize Nutrition)
            Full-Container Received through SR TROOPs.
            Thanks to Dymatize Nutrition for sending it out!
            (Show run details )
              October 17, 2017

             Pros:
             Cons:
            • Taste Good
            • Efficient Protein Blend
            • Good Value
            • Gritty
            • Protein Quantity Per Serving Could Be A Bit HIgher
            • Too Much Sugar

            Introduction

            I know I once mentioned that I had only tried one Dymatize product a long time ago in one of my other reviews. Well, Elite Xt happened to be that product. I bought Elite Xt several years ago, in the same flavor that I used for this run.

            Thank you Dymatize for letting the TROOPs try out your products.

            Ingredient Profile

            Elite Xt is a blend of multiple sources of protein. While I typically think a simple blend of whey and casein is good enough, I'm not against what they did here. I like how they got rid of soy in their new version as well. WPC, Isolate, Egg...

            Introduction

            I know I once mentioned that I had only tried one Dymatize product a long time ago in one of my other reviews. Well, Elite Xt happened to be that product. I bought Elite Xt several years ago, in the same flavor that I used for this run.

            Thank you Dymatize for letting the TROOPs try out your products.

            Ingredient Profile

            Elite Xt is a blend of multiple sources of protein. While I typically think a simple blend of whey and casein is good enough, I'm not against what they did here. I like how they got rid of soy in their new version as well. WPC, Isolate, Egg, Casein... nothing bad here.

            The biggest issue I will have, and some others, is the high amount of carbs in here. With 8 carbs per serving and 21 grams of protein, it is not your best option for cutting, if you plan on using it for that. Also, 4 of those carbs are sugar. If there was some fiber in here I'd call it a good meal replacement. That is not the case however.

            Taste/Mixability/Dosing

            I had the chocolate flavor and it reminded me of chocolate pudding. With the extra carbs in Elite Xt, it better taste good. It did not disappoint me to say the least. I'd give it an 8.8/10

            Elite Xt is thicker than most other proteins, which I actually enjoy. Seems to be more filling. I rarely got clumps, and when I did, I enjoyed them for some strange reason. Some have mentioned that they had to use a blender to mix it properly, I did not have that issue.

            There is some graininess to it for sure, which others have mentioned. I personally did not mind it too much, and did not have any "leftovers" at the bottom of my shaker cup.

            Effectiveness

            Obviously, like with any protein powder review, it must be noted that it is hard to gauge the effectiveness out of a simple protein powder. You aren't going to notice anything big in terms of results, but there are other ways of judging a protein powder.

            Elite Xt did not give me any bloating/cramping issues at all. Elite Xt pretty much just made it easier for me to get more protein throughout the day, like many other protein powders do. It also made for a great snack, as it tastes like chocolate pudding... I LOVE chocolate pudding.

            I will not comment on recovery, as I feel recovery is based on many factors and not just the protein powder you take. However, since it is convenient, it makes getting enough protein to recovery properly much easier.

            The one reason I marked this as an 8.0 and not a 9.0 is because the high amount of carbs. If they marketed this as a meal replacement and added some fiber to it, it would be great, but since it is just marketed as a protein blend, I had to take a few points off.

            I would not recommend this during a cut for most people, as the extra carbs in here could really add up throughout the day. Although it would be great with a banana as a simple meal replacement.

            Value

            You can get this for around $30 for 52 servings. That is a pretty awesome value. I would love to give this a higher rating, but again, with those extra carbs/sugar, you are not exactly getting a "clean" product. Still worth looking into if you are on a budget. Makes for a great "back-up" protein when you're out of your expensive Isolate.

            Side Effects

            None

            Conclusion

            Elite Xt might not be everyone's cup of tea, but for me, I'd have no problem picking it up. The price is low, the taste is good, and it fits almost any situation.

            I'd recommend this as a "back-up' protein. I have always kept a tub or bag of a cheaper protein in the back of my pantry for when times get tough and I can't afford a good protein powder. Elite Xt is perfect for this, as you can use it for almost any situation.

            Not the first protein powder on my list, but worth of trying for sure.
            Flavors:
            • Rich Chocolate: 8/10



            More Recent Reviews 
            NEW QUESTIONS
            Asked by Isaki // Posted 1 day ago

            Asked by Bobo1 // Posted 3 days ago

            Why on my botle some ingredients missing?
            I bought it from europa?
            Is it fake?
            There is no hagenamine synephrine halostachine and hordenine?
            Asked by Dilqncholov // Posted 3 days ago

            Hi. I just bought my 3rd pack of it and theres pieces of somethink black and i dont know if its biscuit piece or a mice poo . Smbd had pieces in it?

            More Questions 
            DEALS
            Stimul8 Pumped
            BlakePullen
            Rep: +250

            Buy FINAFLEX Stimul8 Pumped - 30 Servings & get one free for $12.5ea at A1Supplements.
            Buy FINAFLEX Stimul8 Pumped - 30 Servings & get one free for $12.5ea at A1Supplements.



            Mesomorph
            BlakePullen
            Rep: +250
            17WEEKEND13

            This is a combination of BOGO 40% OFF and a site-wide coupon at TFSupplements that gets you 2 tubs of Meso (mix 2 flavors) for $48 ($22.8EA)
            This is a combination of BOGO 40% OFF and a site-wide coupon at TFSupplements that gets you 2 tubs of Meso (mix 2 flavors) for $48 ($22.8EA)




            All Deals 
            FORUM
            Muscle 1 has the deal of the month for TROOPERS!!!
            Posted 3 minutes ago // by SRBrandMan
            Go to www.muscle1.co and buy as much supplements you can to take advantage of the 30% discount they are...
            (0)

            Re: New Ghost Flavors
            Posted 47 minutes ago // by Clipper83
            Plenty of companies do the holiday flavoring(at least the health part of the industry). Good stuff coming from Ghost
            (4)

            Re: I'm terrible at this but...here goes
            Posted 1 hour ago // by E-2016
            Welcome !
            (3)

            Re: Paleo
            Posted 1 hour ago // by E-2016
            The only time I get a craving is when my schedule gets knocked off track. It's like a downwards...
            (2)

            Re: REDCON1 Med+Pak
            Posted 4 hours ago // by BlakePullen
            I'll pass. It's cool that they're putting out a product to cover multiple bases, but IMO,...
            (3)

            Re: Search for my old belt, recomp for all. Wis3guy
            Posted 8 hours ago // by Wis3guy
            209.6#. Now the fun part of no more reclaim, and I think I will go down to zero caffeine for a while.
            (646)

            Re: AntM's Lean Bulk and Everything Else This Summer Log
            Posted 20 hours ago // by AntM1564
            October 21, 2017Lower PowerToday wasn't bad by any means, but it did not go as smoothly as I would...
            (1607)

            Re: Bzyczek's Log ... The Polish Stallion journey to six pack ...
            Posted 23 hours ago // by kaka
            It sucks man....Get some rest mister bzyczek....
            (61)

            Re: Moving on.
            Posted 2 days ago // by Wis3guy
            Good luck with your future endeavors.  I enjoyed your contributions.
            (6)

            Re: Clippy's Log:Back to Basics
            Posted 2 days ago // by Clipper83
            Hit heavier weight clippy. No
            (891)


            Who took advantage of the RSP discount for the SR Family? Not yet? WTH..GO!
            Posted 2 days ago // by SRBrandMan
            Save 30% when you go to www.rspnutriton.com and put in the code RSPTROOPERS at check out.  Let us...
            (0)

            Re: Darkman's Back! The Never-ending Recomp Journal
            Posted 2 days ago // by Darkman
            Day 40: ShouldersDumbbell Military Press4 Sets @ 85 (8 reps)Lateral Raises4 Sets @ 40 (12 reps) Reverse...
            (168)


            All Forum Posts 
            JOURNALS

            Copyright © 2017 SupplementReviews.com. All rights reserved. All trademarks are property of their respective owners.
            Some links may earn us advertising or sponsor fees; see our Affiliate Disclosure.