L-Carnitine

By NOW
L-Carnitine NOW
Follow
Overall Score:
7.4/10
(Weighted average based on 4 Reviews)

Ranks #8 of 10 (better than 22%)
in Amino Acids > Other Amino Acids
Dashboard Reviews Discussion Related Prices


isaacn15
(+122)

Trust: 100%

Right now I am undecided on whether or not I like this product



Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 9


While the product above is regular L-Carnitine, I used Acetyl-L Carnitine but had nowhere to post a review. This is my second review and I have...
While the product above is regular L-Carnitine, I used Acetyl-L Carnitine but had nowhere to post a review. This is my second review and I have worked hard on it in order to make it a great review of a product lacking reviews. I have modeled this review of those of Petey and Manimal by the way.

Dosing/Value: 9/10
$9.19 from AllStarHealth.com (I love their website). 50 capsules and 500mg per capsule. Directions say 1 capsule, 1-3 times per day and I took it once with breakfast and once with dinner. 37 cents per day is not bad but I should have gotten a larger size as this did not last me very long.

Cognitive-related Claims: 7/10
Acetyl l-Carnitine is claimed as having an effect on focus and cognitive abilities. This was not true for me. I did not see an increase in any memory or brain function areas. While I am recovering from 3 concussions, my condition has gotten better. This could be from this product but it also could be from me getting more sleep and resting my brain/body.

Here are some claims on the bottle by NOW: ""supports cellular energy production by assisting in the transport of fat into mitochondria... Can cross the blood-brain barrier where it exerts and antioxidant effect, helps to maintain healthy cellular energy metabolism and supports brain function"

Obviously I saw none of those affects but I don't think over 25 days anyone would.

Effectiveness: 8/10
While I was using this product, I was also using Bronkaid and Caffeine (EC stack) 1-1.5 times per day, Optimum Nutrition's CLA, among other supplements. I also was working out for the first time in about 6 months. I lost about 7 pounds of fat and replaced it with 5 pounds of muscle in about 2.5 months. This change was quite profound but I would not put the changes in my body composition on the shoulder's of this product. If anything, maybe it helped but the results wouldn't be too pronounced. I Originally looked at l-carnitine for weight loss, but figured acetyl-l carnitine would aid in weight loss and cognitive areas.

Overall: 8/10
I give it an 8 since I do not want to be too harsh. I should have been smarter and used this for a longer time period. Right now I am undecided on whether or not I like this product. If I come across some money or really get into the weight room after lacrosse season is over, I will give this a shot for a good 3 months.

Isaac

More
Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Value
  • Could Not Tell If It Was Working
  • Not Effective

Trust: 100%

Posted March 10, 2011
Great review bro,I'm skeptical of carnitine myself,never can pinpoint results+


isaacn15
(+122)

Trust: 100%

Posted March 10, 2011
Thanks man. I find it weird that many people recommend it yet there's like NO results for it.
If my review gets bumped down by 1 paragraph craps I'm not gonna be happy... :(

Trust: 100%

Posted March 10, 2011
good review. i have used carnitine for awhile now but it did take several months at at least 2-4g a day to notice a slight difference. but it really needs to be combine with other supps


isaacn15
(+122)

Trust: 100%

Posted March 10, 2011
As stated I used this with:
Bronkaid
Caffeine
Dymatize Elite Whey
ON Pro Complex
ON CLA
SuperCissus RX

but @ 2-4g wouldnt it get expensive?

Trust: 94%

I would not suggest this id rather see someone buy a fat burner



Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 6


when I started taking this i was looking to lose a little bit of weight. As I started to take this I saw nothing happen, even with diet and exercise. I also started to get sick two days into taking the pills.
You can either take 1 2 or 3 pills but doing one doesnt help at all, two would help...
when I started taking this i was looking to lose a little bit of weight. As I started to take this I saw nothing happen, even with diet and exercise. I also started to get sick two days into taking the pills.
You can either take 1 2 or 3 pills but doing one doesnt help at all, two would help if fat percent is over 35 and 3 pills a day is expensive, almost a dollar a day.

I would not suggest this id rather see someone buy a fat burner.

More
Pros:
Cons:
    • Not Effective
    • Too Expensive



    isaacn15
    (+122)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted August 22, 2010
    Do you think the flaw is the product or the just basis of l-carnitine helping fat loss?

    Trust: 94%

    Posted August 22, 2010
    That is a very good question, I am not sure. I believe if you can find l-caritine for a cheaper price why not a try it, but this was around 45$.

    I did hear from a friend that BIs l-carnitine was very good, but thats even more expensive


    deeja
    (+408)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted August 22, 2010
    l-carnitine works great for me. Depends on the person i think.

    Trust: 94%

    Posted August 22, 2010
    true I believe theres way better supplements out there that will help you achieve your goals faster and cheaper for what l-caritine is suppose to do.


    matt77h
    (+19)

    Trust: 6%

    Posted August 22, 2010
    Doesn't this work by help using fat for energy? I have seen great results taking this. I take 1g pre workout or HIIT/Plyo sessions. I personally love the stuff. The wonders it has done for me truly sucks it didn't do it for you.

    Trust: 94%

    Posted August 23, 2010
    yes the energy part is right but the problem was i was becoming weak and sick but i am glad this worked for you.

    Trust: 100%

    Priced really good if you know where to buy



    Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 8
    0  


    Priced really good if you know where to buy. paid $16 for 50 tablets of their 1000mg. Only thing I can complain about is that its tablets and not a fast absorbing cap or even faster liquid. Plus its L-Carnitine so its difficult to tell if its actually working.
    Priced really good if you know where to buy. paid $16 for 50 tablets of their 1000mg. Only thing I can complain about is that its tablets and not a fast absorbing cap or even faster liquid. Plus its L-Carnitine so its difficult to tell if its actually working.

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value
    • Could Not Tell If It Was Working

    Trust: 0%

    One of the most affordable ones and yet as effective



    Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 9
    0  


    I use carnitine with other supplements to increase mental and physical energy. I prefer it above caffeine or other stimulating agents. Now carnitine is one of the most affordable ones and yet as effective. I use it together with Q10. When I'm jogging I feel the difference between when I'm on it or of...
    I use carnitine with other supplements to increase mental and physical energy. I prefer it above caffeine or other stimulating agents. Now carnitine is one of the most affordable ones and yet as effective. I use it together with Q10. When I'm jogging I feel the difference between when I'm on it or of it. But also when I'm studying or trying to learn intensively about some topic on internet.

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value