Home > Categories > Bodybuilding > Weight Gainers > Optimum > Serious Mass

Optimum Serious Mass

Serious Mass Optimum
Expert Rating:
User Rating: (73 Reviews)

Review Authenticity: 66% (Ambiguous)

Compare Similar Products:

Users who liked this product also liked:

USP Labs Jack3d Reviews
Jack3d (1006 Reviews)
8.5
Gaspari Nutrition SuperPump250 Reviews
SuperPump250 (250 Reviews)
7.8
Optimum Pro Complex Gainer Reviews
Pro Complex Gainer (43 Reviews)
9.0
Driven Sports Craze Reviews
Craze (80 Reviews)
7.9

Products in the same category:

GNC AMP Amplified Mass XXX Reviews
AMP Amplified Mass XXX (74 Reviews)
8.0
Cytosport CytoGainer Reviews
CytoGainer (65 Reviews)
8.4
Ultimate Iso-Mass Xtreme Gainer Reviews
Iso-Mass Xtreme Gainer (56 Reviews)
8.1
GNC Beyond Raw Re-Built Mass Reviews
Beyond Raw Re-Built Mass (23 Reviews)
8.4

Related Forum Topics

Need help to gain Serious Mass while on medicine
After about a 4 month break of no working out I'm finally starting to get b...

uhm Serious Mass... really.... I mean really...
come on Really, has anyone taken this? it calls for 4 scoops per drink... has an...

When should I take Serious Mass?
When should I take this supplement for it to work at its best?...

doubts as to use proto whey and Serious Mass
Greetings to all my name is fernando'm from Venezuela, took a month current...

Optimum Nutrition Serious Mass?
Since i got bit**ed out for wanting to take a ph.  I guess ill just try to ...

Should I even bother with a single 12lb bag? ON Serious Mass. Few more ?s
Ok I dont know much about mass gainers (aside from them pretty much just being e...

Serious Mass vs Monster Mass vs Up your Mass vs Cytogainer
Alright guys i recently posted which weight gainer tastes the best and most of y...

ON Serious Mass or ON Pro Complex Gainer or MHP Up Your Mass?
Hey guys. I've been working out for more than a year now about 3-4 times a ...

Get Involved!

Confused about Supplements?

FREE 7-Day Supplement Crash Course:



Description

Serious Mass from Optimum is a high quality weight gainer. Each individual serving packs in a whopping 1,250 calories per serving (mixed in water). Protein wise, each serving contains 50 Grams of protein from a combination of faster and slower digesting sources including Whey, casein, and Egg. It doesn't stop there either as it has over 250 grams of carbohydrates to support fueling of intense workouts and aid in the replenishment of glycogen stores without adding extra sugars. To top off the formula, they included creatine, L-glutamine & glutamine peptides, choline, inositol, PABA, and MCTs.

If you're looking to increase your mass, you certainly can't go wrong with Serious Mass.

Serious Mass Nutritional Info and Supplement Facts on: Links open in new window
Serious Mass Reviews:
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle (56)
  • Puts On Weight Quick (47)
  • Good Value (42)
  • Good Taste (31)
  • Large Scoops (49)
  • Cement Is Easier To Mix (23)
  • Hard To Digest (17)
  • Bad Taste (15)
View All 27 Pros/Cons
January 2, 2012
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 7

shinndigg


Reviews: 61

Age: 24

January 2, 2012
 Throughout my bulk the past several months I have taken several different mass gainers to help aid in my daily caloric intake. Serious Mass is a product that you can tell is driven towards that objective. Optimum Nutrition is one of my favorite supplement companies out there, I have hardly ever been steered wrong with one of their products, and this one is no slouch.

Dosage: There are several different ways I used Serious Mass, sometimes I took it as part of breakfast in the morning, sometimes during lunch, and sometimes as an inbetween meals high calorie/protein snack.

Profile(8/10): Looking at the nutrition profile on this product, the big thing that obviously jumps out is the calorie content, a whopping 1250 calories per serving. However the serving size is so gigantic (the scoop is pretty much the size of one you find in laundry detergent, and 2 scoops is a serving,) that a half serving for most suffices for both calorie and mixing needs. However with a half serving you are only getting 25 grams of protein. The way I remedied this was to mix one scoop of Serious Mass with one scoop of whey protein, to make up for the displaced protein with only a half serving. This is the formula that worked best for me. This products also will provide you with 252 grams of carbs for a full serving or 126 for a half, most may get turned off that the carb source is maltodextrin, however most gainers on the market are the same in that regard. This will definitely help you carb up for workouts and give you energy throughout the day though. It also has a low fat content so this could also be utilized by those looking to go for a lean bulk.

Mixing(5/10): If you buy this product, make sure you have a blender, otherwise you will be drinking lumps and clumps. And if you do have a blender, make sure you mix it well, and maybe even use a little extra water then what the directions call for.

Taste(8/10): I had the chocolate flavor of Serious Mass, and it tasted pretty good. ON is almost always on point with their flavors of products. If you can get past the sometimes lumpy texture from not mixing well this is actually a good tasting protein.

Effectiveness(8/10): Unless you are on a fasting diet or something, you SHOULD gain weight with this product. With just one 12lb bag I was able to put on just about 5 pounds taking only half servings. If you are a stereotypical hard gainer or have a busy schedule where you can't always prepare a meal, this is a good product to look at.

Value(7/10): You can usually find this for at/or around 40 bucks for a 12 pound bag on most online retailers. That will give you 16 two scoop servings, at about $2.50 a serving. There are cheaper alternatives per serving price, but you do get a lot of ingredients for your money with this product.

Conclusion: All in all Serious Mass is a good product for those looking for pure unadulterated calories and who want to pack on pounds. Nothing can replace eating real food, but this is a good supplement for when you don't have a fork in your mouth. I would recommend this product.
Pros:
Cons:
  • High Calories
  • Increased Energy
  • Good Taste
  • Puts On Weight Quick
  • Cement Is Easier To Mix
  • Large Scoops
Reply #1:
markp
markp

Joined: 8/2010
Reviews: 9
Reputation: +121
Great review! Might have to give this a try


Reply #2:
chumpchange
chumpchange

Joined: 5/2011
Reviews: 9
Reputation: +20
picked up a bag today. you weren't kidding about the scoop size. a detergent scoop is probably smaller.


Reply #3:
chumpchange
chumpchange

Joined: 5/2011
Reviews: 9
Reputation: +20
small bit of advice for those who haven't picked this up yet. if you get the chocolate, do not stack it with a chocolate protein. thats what i did and just the thought of anything chocolate was a little nauseating.


October 16, 2013
Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 10

Alter09

Reviews: 3

Age: 23

October 16, 2013
Works like a charm

This product is very good. Beside what it's suppose to do It also has vitamins in it. Creatine I believe and other aminos I believe. I think the best value for this is the 12 LB bag I bought online. I did one scoop in the morning and one scope before bed. It's filling, the chocolate tastes really good and i went from 175 to 185 after 2 bags. The price is definitely reasonable especially for the large bag. The scoops are huge and it's harder to mix in milk but with water it seems to mix fine.

I give it a 9 out of 10 just because well it is just a bunch of fast digesting carbs. If you don't eat right and train hard it will put a lot of fat on you. The scoops are large and I did brake out on my back, like pimples
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Value
  • Good Taste
  • Puts On Weight Quick
  • High Calories
  • Can Use As Meal Replacement In Emergencies
  • Hard To Mix In Milk
  • Broke Out On Back
  • Large Scoops
October 12, 2013
Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 10

Ltlguy

Reviews: 1

Age: 34

October 12, 2013
Great stuff

I bought a 6lb tub of this great stuff and it works. I am 5'3" and weighed 125 now with a tub and some hard work I weigh 140 on the scale today so that's a 15lb gain and I don't work out everyday but when I do I can't walk when I'm done. I got the banana now it's very sweet tasting but I throw some fruits to thin it with milk and water. I'm very happy and feel great
Pros:
Cons:
  • Increased Energy
  • Easy To Mix
  • Can Use As Meal Replacement In Emergencies
  • Not That Hard To Mix
  • High Calories
  • Puts On Weight Quick
  • Good Taste
  • Good Value
  • Builds Muscle
  • Large Scoops
July 2, 2013
Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 7

anuifl

Reviews: 3

Age: 25

July 2, 2013
Serious Mass ... Pretty good for the price

I ran through a full tub of serious mass chocolate , it lasted for about a month with 2 scoops.
Gains were pretty good ,though the problem was the mix-ability. Very Very to it completely mixed in water without the lumps and the taste not too bad either.

Overall an effective product for the price. Observed decent gains despite having a very high metabolism .
Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Value
  • High Calories
  • Cement Is Easier To Mix
  • Large Scoops
  • Hard To Digest
June 18, 2013
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 10

fh

Reviews: 1

Age: 29

June 18, 2013
Serious Mass Seriously Works

I was hanging around 175 lbs, ~9 - 10% body for years. My workout involved mostly free weight exercises, but weights grew slowly. So one day I thought enough is enough, and decided to change my diet and bulk up. To grow, I needed to increase my caloric intake up to 4500 kcal. I found that Serious Mass provided an easy and convenient way to supplement your diet with necessary calories.

With 1250 calories in two large size scoops, I found convenient to split a servings into two, taking one between breakfast and lunch, and second one before workout. Even one scoop requires plenty of water or milk to mix, but regular shaker will do just fine. I never tried to consume one serving (2 scoops) at once, and I don't think that makes sense - it is more efficient to eat smaller meals more frequently. Plus, 50 grams of protein will never be properly digested in one serving, so you are better off consuming a scoop at a time, several times a day.

I have first ordered a bag of banana flavor, and found it too sweet. Double chocolate is pretty good, and I kept using it afterwards.

In 4 month, I have went up to 200-205 lbs, and body fat ~16%. Squat, deadlift and bench press numbers all showed steady increase; for instance, deadlift went from mere 235 to 360 2RM, benchpress increased from 185 to 245 5RM. Results are obvious - with appropriate training regimen this product works.

Now, let me respond to some reviews here. Some say, it does not mix well. My response - don't mix two scoops at once, that's not efficient.
I don't understand how 'gained some fat' is a con - this supplement is designed to make you grow. It is impossible to add muscle without adding some fat tissue as well, read literature.
Finally, my favorite - large scoops! Well, there is 1250 cal with 50 grams of protein. Not surprisingly, that takes up volume. Its a big boy supplement, and it has big boy scoops.

Overall, Serious Mass provides excellent way to increase caloric intake during bulking phase. When combined with appropriate resistance training, allows you to grow muscle more efficiently.


Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Value
  • Puts On Weight Quick
  • High Calories
  • Not That Hard To Mix
    May 3, 2013
    Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 8

    PN1434

    Reviews: 5

    Age: 23

    May 3, 2013
     
    BACKGROUND
    I used Serious Mass on a bulk a few months ago, getting through one of their serious 12lb bags!

    For some context, I lift 6 days a week; 3 days of lifting in the morning and in the evening and 3 days of lifting in the morning and running in the evening, alternating each day.

    I was looking for a product to help get those extra calories in during the day at a low cost, especially if I needed to forgo a meal between lunch and dinner.

    POSITIVES
    As I said, I was looking for a product to ensure some calories when I couldn't make do with my diet in between work schedules. Needless to say, I wasn't led down and this product offered a huge amount of calories in one drink.

    A good composition of carbs and protein meant that it was a fantastic post-workout shake or simply a meal replacement if on the go.

    I do not have scales available but noticed some good size gains and improved recovery between heavy lifting sessions.

    NEGATIVES

    That said, it does have some drawbacks...

    It is a real pain to mix. Getting 350g or so into a shaker on top of the required liquid to make it drinkable is near impossible. For best results, you'll need a blender. Even when only using a half scoop, a blender is best.

    Another point to bare in mind is that this can be a punch in the stomach if you drink it too quickly. A number of times I would drink a full or half serving of this down after a workout, as if it were a regular protein shake and feel the need to vomit very soon after. If you go hard in your workouts, you may want to wait a good 30-45 minutes before drinking one of these and even then, go slowly.

    It can also initially be hard to digest for your system, leading to some gas problems and a few trips to the loo.

    RECOMMENDATION
    I would still recommend this product despite the drawbacks it has. As a gainer, it does exactly what it says on the tin and delivers a ton of calories for just a single drink. Just make sure you blend it, don't neck it and be prepared for some explosive gas now and then!
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Builds Muscle
    • Puts On Weight Quick
    • High Calories
    • Can Use As Meal Replacement In Emergencies
    • Cement Is Easier To Mix
    • Explosive Gas
    • Large Scoops
    • Hard To Digest
    April 4, 2013
    Overall: 3 | Effectiveness: 3 | Value: 8

    DunnJon

    Reviews: 2

    Age: 19

    April 4, 2013
     Results - I decided to take this supplement because of the good reviews it had been given and tbh it failed me, I finished the full tub and the most gains I noticed were fat, went from 12 stone to 12 stone 4 pounds.

    Taste - I got vanilla flavour and tbh I've not tasted a better supplement, tasted exactly like vanilla ice cream when taken with milk.

    Side effects - Noticed a bloated feeling after taking the supplement and a lot of gas later on in the evening.

    Other supplements - I had taken no other supplements with this product.

    Exercise and diet - followed a body building exercise plan and took one shake an hour before lifting and one after lifting, my diet was protein and carbs although because of the bloating feeling I didn't eat as much as what I once did before since changing to this product.

    Unfortunately I will not be taking this product again, shame it didn't work for me as well as it has for others and I loved the taste and value but oh well there are other products.
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value
    • Good Taste
    • Not That Hard To Mix
    • Explosive Gas
    • Large Scoops
    • Gained Some Fat
    February 27, 2013
    Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 8

    rweich

    Reviews: 2

    Age: 28

    February 27, 2013
     This was my first try at a Weight Gainer and I knew what I was getting when I started it.

    First, the short review was that I was disappointed with this and it makes you bloated and gives you gas.

    To my longer review, I will say this product packs on a lot of calories into 2 scoops. The scoops are huge though. The scooper they give you in the sack is like a gravy boat or a laundry detergent scooper.

    The first couple of days I started with just one scoop and some milk and some water.

    After that I switched to 2 scoops with milk and water. I weighed myself at least once a day.

    I started at a weight of about 198 and ended maybe at 201 or 202 but my weight fluctuates daily so it could be just water weight.

    Taste 6 out of 10.
    It really doesn't taste horrible, I got the vanilla. But it is pleasant to get it done with. They want you to mix about 32 oz of water, so it takes a while to get done with it!

    Value 8 out of 10.
    The reason I rated this highly was because my final price was about $43 for a 12 pound sack. I did a price match with vitaminshoppe and bodybuilding was able to do it for me.

    Effectiveness 5 out of 10.
    No really noticeable gains or strength added. Maybe a couple of pounds gained but not like the other reviewers have said.


    Side Effects: Yes
    Bloating and gas and digestion issues.

    My diet is good and I hit the gym almost everyday so I should have put on some muscle or weight.

    I won't try this again. I think I want to try a TEST-Booster next.








    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value
    • High Calories
    • Cement Is Easier To Mix
    • Explosive Gas
    • Bad After-taste
    • Large Scoops
    • Gained Some Fat
    February 22, 2013
    Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 9

    duan130

    Reviews: 1

    Age: 31

    February 22, 2013
     Alright welp here goes my first review. I used this weight gainer throughout my bulk this winter (starting in December.) I guess I should tell a little about myself , 5'10 202lbs bf% is unknown, I've been lifting on and off since 2009. My diet during this bulk was egg white omlettes with cheese, whole grain rice, oatmeal and this stuff of course lol

    Dosage: (8/10) The huge scooper was a problem at first then I grabbed a scooper from my old protein shake. 3 normal scoops = 1 huge scoop so I always threw the provided scooper away and just used my own. 1 serving is 2 of these huge scoops but I would break it down into 2 shakes.


    Mixing: (10/10) I know this will be a shocker but I had a secret to mixing shakes, it works all the time. Here's my secret, mix ur shake in a shaker then put it in the fridge, it gives everything time to mix up. When I'm ready for my shake I get it outta the fridge and shake and its always smooth 0 clumps ever, thank me later lol

    Taste: (9/10) I always got strawberry so the taste was decent. I mean I can only compare it to Isopure and the Walmart 6 star crap since those are the only proteins I've had. I've had Pro Complex as well but same company, same flavor, same taste this was just a little thicker. I just ordered vanilla and if it taste as good as strawberry they have a lifetime customer.

    Effectiveness: (10/10) this is where it shines for me because during my bulk I can never seem to hit my calorie goals. The main reason being egg white omlettes are great for you but hold vry few calories meaning I have to rely on oatmeal and peanut butter to get my calorie count up. This stuff has 1250 calories in 1 serving so I would usually do 1 and a half servings a day (half a serving upon waking up, a half serving after my workout and a half serving before bed.) Honestly I love this stuff it has 50 grams of protein and 250 grams of carbs so there's no way u can lose using this stuff. I do believe I put on a lot of size and increased strength with this, even though I didn't weigh myself before I started my bulk due to the fact I hadn't hit the weights in over 8 months I didn't wanna face that demon lol

    Value (9/10) I always ordered the 12 pounder from lockoutforums.com it runs about 40 bucks which isn't bad as a matter of fact it fantastic once yu see the price of these other weight gainers that don't provide as many carbs, or calories. The value could be a 10 if I could find it for 30-35 bucks....hell at that price i'd order 4 or 5 bags lol. You get what you pay for so with that being said its $40 for 1 of the best gainers on the market.....I said it so it must be true lmao!!!
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Easy To Mix
    • Can Use As Meal Replacement In Emergencies
    • Not That Hard To Mix
    • High Calories
    • Puts On Weight Quick
    • Good Taste
    • Good Value
    • Builds Muscle
    • Increased Energy
    • Large Scoops
    Reply #1:
    lava135
    lava135

    Joined: 2/2012
    Reviews: 82
    Reputation: +3579
    Good first review, not sure I would score it quite that high but I like the review all the same. Thanks!


    Reply #2:
    duan130
    duan130

    Joined: 7/2011
    Reviews: 1
    Reputation: +2
    Lava thanks, this was my first weight gainer I've seen better gainers on the market but they were more expensive, I'm a cheapskate lol


    January 22, 2013
    Overall: 2 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 3

    cowboy

    Reviews: 1

    Age: 41

    January 22, 2013
     Finally completed this nasty bucket of crap. I could hardly stomach the taste, but since I bought it, I had to use it. I achieved gains but there is no way you can take this by the actual serving they recommend. I had to take this throughout the day because the servings are so massive. One serving is just shy of 1 lb. and there are only 8 servings in a 6 lb. bucket. you can not put this in a shaker cup and add milk to it because there would be no room for any liquids. I thought when I saw the scoop it was a mistake. The scoop is too big to even pull the product from the bucket. If they provided a smaller scoop then you would be shoveling all day to get a serving. For only 8 servings, I feel this is not a great value. You must use a machine to mix or it will be clumpy. There are other products that are more user friendly and require less work.
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Builds Muscle
    • Puts On Weight Quick
    • High Calories
    • Serving Size Is Not Realistic. Nearly 1 Lb. Per Serving
    • Bad Taste
    • Cement Is Easier To Mix
    • Large Scoops
    • Hard To Digest
    • Contains Fillers

    Have you used Serious Mass? Submit your own Review!