Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum

Ethan's Log: Fasting + Ultimate Diet 2.0 + Training + Photos

Read 49601 times

CamelE
Rep: +933
Trust: 100%
Ethan's Log: Fasting + Ultimate Diet 2.0 + Training + Photos « : February 18, 2011, 10:54:42 PM »
Primer: As many of you probably know by now, I've been following a sort of modified intermittent fast/warrior diet approach (more on that later) since about September/October 2010. The idea of fasting to detox the body and other benefits first intrigued me, and after learning more about fasting, I discovered there were multiple ways to fast [vegetable juice fasts, water fasts, 3 week fasts, 16 hour daily fasts (intermittent), etc]. I started playing around it with and even did a 48 hour just for fun. I even emailed Greg Plitt on the topic, and he answered my question on his website in a video blog titled "The Art of Fasting".

I began intensively researching fasting, how the body reacts to it including time frames and type of training, etc. and still continue to do so.

Diet
The Warrior Diet - To put it simply, it's one meal a day at night. This is still considered intermittent fasting but different from most that it gets it's own name. Other IF approaches can be multiple meals. You can read more about it here: http://www.kqzyfj.com/click-2021686-10409943?url=http%3A%2F%2Fbodybuilding.com/fun/mahler49.htm

Intermittent Fasting - Basically, a pattern that includes alternate periods of eating with fasting. Time frames vary. Most have heard of leangains.com (great website) which follows a 16 hour fast - 8 hour feed protocol. Meal frequency during the 8 hours (or X hours) doesn't matter, but typically is around 3 meals divided pre- and post-workout.

My modifications