Forum

My getting back to strength routine

Read 3432 times

Tlifter
Rep: +12
Trust: 21%
Locker Roommates
My getting back to strength routine « : July 28, 2018, 09:10:36 PM »
 I'm creating this because I want to share it and I think it will be fun to journal it and see what if any noticeable results I get. I had to take some time off for many reasons. First work, then health, then health again, but I'm back to lifting. I have tried StrongLifts and Starting Strength. They are both great and both work, but I have gotten sick of routines that have you doing 5s, 5s, and more 5s and I have been so tunnel focused on strength in the past that I never tried to be creative. So I created a 7 week routine for myself, which covers all major rep ranges and uses the RPE 0-10 scale. After these 7 weeks then I will go on a purely strength based program. I have never used RPE training before so I have been practicing it with this routine. Before I lay it out, I want to note a few facts: 1. Its not ideal for fast strength gains and I know that, 2. I created it for myself so if someone wants to run it then they are welcome to, but I'm not putting a price tag on this so I'm not guaranteeing miracle results. I made this because I think its fun. 3. I think its pretty good at building weight acclimation for beginners, but people beyond beginner need much heavier weights.

Here is the program

I raise the weights until I get to a weight which I feel is the correct RPE and then do straight sets at that weight.

Day 1
Bench
1 Arm Dumbbell bench
Dumbbell Incline Bench
Triceps Push-downs
Face-pulls

Day 2 Squat
Squat
Back Ext
Dumbbell step-ups
Barbell bent-over rows
Planks

Day 3
Off

Day 4
Standing Barbell Overhead Press
1-Arm Dumbbell Overhead Press
Dumbbell Triceps Ext
Triceps Pull-downs
Band Pull-aparts

Day 5
Deadlift
Dumbbell Shrugs
RDL
Lat Pull-downs
Hanging Knee Raises
Russian Twist

Days 6 and 7
Off

Week 1 RPE 3-4 (main lift and accessories 2x15)
Week 2 same except RPE 4-5 2x12