Home > Categories > Protein > Casein Protein > MHP > Up Your Mass > Reviews

Up Your Mass

By MHP
Up Your Mass MHP
Follow
Overall Score:
8.9/10
(Weighted average based on 90 Reviews)

Ranks #1 of 21 (better than 100%)
in Protein > Casein Protein
Dashboard Reviews Discussion Related Prices


Manimal
(+3,775)

Trust: 100%


It definitely aided my recovering and the gaining of some clean mass



Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 8


MHP Up Your Mass is not your typical weight gainer. Unlike the majority of gainers, this one contains...
MHP Up Your Mass is not your typical weight gainer. Unlike the majority of gainers, this one contains low glycemic carbs. Also, it helps you gain clean mass, not fat.

I ran three 5 lb tubs of this, 1 of them being the cinnabun flavor and the other 2 were fudge brownie.

Dosing- I would normally wake up and have 2 scoops of Up Your Mass with my cup of old fashioned oats and 10oz of skim milk. Then at some point later in the day I would have another half dose inbetween meals or sometimes I would just throw 3 scoops for a full meal replacement. Always depended on things such as where I was at with my daily macros and how much food I had prepped. It also makes a great side to a meal. Sometimes I wouldn't have enough lean beef or rice cooked so I would have some Up Your Mass to make up for it. Up Your Mass also worked very well as a preworkout meal/snack but would not, however, be ideal for post workout. The majority of gainers use maltodextrin as their carb source which is a good carb to have post workout but they ALSO contain large amounts of fats and fiber which slows down digestion. That is not what you want post workout. Just clearing that up because I see so many kids taking their gainer after a workout. I recommend running at least two of the 5lb tubs (10 lbs) to get some tangible results.

Supplement facts- This is where Up Your Mass shines. It's full 4 scoop serving boasts-
Calories- 510
Calories from fat- 99
Total fat- 11g
Saturated fat- 2g
Trans fat- 0
Cholesterol- 2mg
Sodium- 435mg
Potassium- 800mg
Total Carbs- 58g
Fiber- 11g
Sugars- 2g
Protein- 46
Net carbs- 47g

The carb blend consists of all clean carbs from Barley, Oats, and Oat fiber. The fats are also mostly consisting of EFAs such as Omega 3, EPA, DHA CLA, GLA, and Flax. Now the protein blend isn't the best bar none, but it's certainly not the worst. It consists of Soy Protein Isolate, Calcium Caseinate, and Whey concentrate. The amino listing is similar to that of MHP's Probolic so it's definitely high quality/quantity.

Price- You can get a 5lb tub for roughly 35-40 dollars with shipping at most places online. The 2lb tub is about 15-20 dollars depending on where you buy from online but buying 2lbs of gainer is like buying half a set of snow tread tires during the winter. Pointless.

Taste- I'm usually all about results. Taste means little to me, however this one scored high with taste. The cinnabun is absolutely fantastic but It's so sweet I had to switch flavors after the first tub. Like I said the last two tubs were Fudge Brownie and they were also very good.

Results- While using this, It definitely aided my recovering and the gaining of some clean mass. I had complements from alot of the bodybuilders at my gym telling me that the mass gained during this bulk was utterly clean. Since diet plays such a huge role and Up Your Mass was a big part of my diet, I believe I can point a finger at this product for sure as a culprit for helping me keep my calories up and continue to grow throughout my bulk. I finished my three tub cycle about a month and a half ago but at the end of that my LBM was up roughly 3 lbs. Not bad at all!

Overall- I think MHP has a great gainer on their hands here. The only tiny gripe (and let met emphasize the word tiny) I could have with this product is the protein blend. I wouldn't mind seeing them scratch out the whey concentrate for some Egg Albumen but hey, the stuff works!

I swear by this gainer fellas.

More
Pros:
Cons:
  • Solid Weight Gainer With Solid Ingredients
  • Fills You Up
  • Improved Recovery
  • Clean Calories For Clean Mass
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Value
  • Great Taste

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 20, 2011
    Awesome review Man. Thanks


    bigworm89
    (+2,255)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 20, 2011
    I am taking it now as well. I love it. But it does tend to Up my gas as well as my mass.


    bigworm89
    (+2,255)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 20, 2011
    oh yeah, good review.

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 20, 2011
    Great Review dude! im actually getting a tub from GNC very shortly. they dont have cinnibun but vanilla in my opinion is my favorite flavor of any shake to date. but again fantastic review!


    venom434
    (+969)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 20, 2011
    Best mass gainer! Great review.


    venom434
    (+969)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Fudge brownie is awesome..I'm looking forward to trying cinnabon.

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Worst review ever!

    Just kidding, nice one. I tried cinnabun too, taste was good. Not a big fan of chocalate, but I might need to try the Brownie. I really liked the carb source too.


    Cray
    (+2,448)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Also, you can use the name of the product for funny, homosexual innuendoes. i.e. Manimal would love to give you some Up Your Mass.

    Trust: 4%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Great review manimal!


    shinndigg
    (+1,181)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Nice review Manimal, I definitely want to try this product out.

    @Cray: LMFAO, that's awesome man, I literally spit out water when I read that.


    Manimal
    (+3,775)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 21, 2011
    Thanks guys.

    @worm- That's because your body sucks and you can't process protein.

    @PT- How much are you gonna be paying for this man? I hope you're not getting ripped at your local GNC.

    @venom- I know man, i completely agree! GET CINNABUN!

    @ ***-Cray- ......I have nothing to say to you..


    Manimal
    (+3,775)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    Guys, I apologize. I forgot to mention the mixability on this one.

    Up your mass mixes VERY fast and efficiently. The best thing about this gainer is it keeps you full, yet there is no bloat and it does not sit in your stomach like a rock at all, like alot of gainers tend to do.


    bigworm89
    (+2,255)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    Thanks for the diagnosis Mani. I was wondering why i can't get my arms up to 12 inches.

    Trust: 55%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    I'm kinda regretting buying another huge tub of pro complex after reading this review. Makes me wish I at least tried it 1st. Anyways, great review bruh.

    Trust: 0%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    do you take this everyday, or just on your work out days? Thanks


    Manimal
    (+3,775)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    Entirely up to you man. I was taking it just about everyday unless I could get whole foods.
    Hitting your daily macros is what's important and if you can't do that with whole foods, this supplement comes in great handy.

    Honestly, it's been a while since I wrote this and my outlook has changed drastically. If you can get whole foods throughout the entire day (including post workout) go for them rather than this. This gainer and protein powders alike are just "supplements" for when you can't get real whole foods.

    Trust: 0%

    Posted January 22, 2011
    Wow really great review Manimal. Lots of good info. I'm going to start up your mass (cookies n' cream) with kre-alkalyn 1500 plus napalm pre workout.

    Trust: 1%

    Posted January 23, 2011
    @Cray, Do you even lift.
    haha. Good Review Manimal.


    Reinger
    (+2,285)

    Trust: 100%


    This gainer is a hard one to look past



    Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 9


    The reason I chose this supplement was for its profile and how versitile it can be. I wasn't shopping for a gainer, but have always kept this in the back of my mind, and finally gave it a go. After greatly enjoying the first two tubs, it may have found a permanent place in my pantry. Here's why.
    The reason I chose this supplement was for its profile and how versitile it can be. I wasn't shopping for a gainer, but have always kept this in the back of my mind, and finally gave it a go. After greatly enjoying the first two tubs, it may have found a permanent place in my pantry. Here's why.

    Overall: 8
    Now if you are a hard gainer, than this would be an ideal MASS gainer for you to supplement with. Not in place of whole food meals, but in addition too. Recomnded with 16oz of Whole Milk, this would provide 802 Calories and 62g of protein. Even if you are a 130 lb teenager, this is a little much, so split the servings up throughout the day, in between meals. Now with that comes 20g of Sat fat, maily due to the Whole milk. For a 31 year old Father of two, (yours truely) I split the servings in half, and mix with fat free milk. Break down of that serving equates to: 315 Calories, 35g protein, 38 g of mostly complex carbs.
    This has "helped" me to achieve my calroic and protein surplus, ideal for someone who truely belives in obtaing most of their daily intake from whole foods. Yet when you work full time and are a full time father, you can always use a little help.

    Effectiveness: 8
    This has worked Ideally for me to slowly add some MASS without sacrficing fat gain. Due to the complexity of the carb intake, and my ability to utilize them, the balance worked well. Taken the way it is recomnded, I imagine even the hardest gainer would be able to pack on a few pounds.

    Value: 9
    If the servings are split in 1/2, there are 34 servings per 5 lb tub. At $30 dollars a tub, thats 88 cents per serving. Although it will go fast, the profile puts the value far above the average gainer.

    Profile: 10
    Carb Blend: Barley, Oats and Oat Fiber
    Protein Blend: Soy Protein Isolate, Calcium Caseinate, Whey. A slow chain of release to keep you body Anabolic throughout the day.
    Amino Blend: Alanine, Arginine, Asparatic Acid, Cysteine, Glutamir, Glycine, Histidine, Isoleucine, Leucine, Lysine, Methionline, Phenylanine, Proline, Serine, Threonine, Tryptophan, Tyrosine, Valine. Your covered. Throw in a vitamin blend, your MCTs, CLA, and a small OMega Three complex.

    Taste/Mixability: 9
    All I have had is the CinnaBun flavor thus far. Fantastic, as close to a CinnaBun as most of us will get. Mixes easily in a shaker cup with no clumps. No blender or power mixer needed. It is thick, even at only two scoops, with a little grit to it. But the taste and texture can be a little addicting.

    So whether you are a hard gainer needing to add quality calories and protein to your diet, or an old man in need of help reaching your daily targets, this gainer is a hard one to look past.

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Builds Muscle
    • Superior Blend
    • A Solid Weight Gainer
    • Great Taste
    • A Little Gas
    • But Thats Expected.

    Trust: 10%

    Posted July 13, 2011
    SOLID review bro!!! since i'm fat i don't need a gainer but if i did it would be up your mass.


    Reinger
    (+2,285)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted July 13, 2011
    I dk, I expect you to be down to 175 and covered in bandaids after this Cut!

    Trust: 10%

    Posted July 13, 2011
    hahaha funny bro i'm at 193 right now


    kingmeat
    (+1,335)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted July 13, 2011
    good review i just bought some the other day for my lean bulk. Can't wait for this to come need a boost to my cals.

    Trust: 100%

    Posted July 13, 2011
    great review bro, you really just convinced me to get this. I've seen plenty of reviews for this, but this is the winner. Thanks bro.


    swazz
    (+209)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Have 2 tubs on the way. Can't wait

    Trust: 66%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Hey man, great review. I'm a lean person(look at my pic.) but I want to reach to 215lbs and so far I'm stuck in 195lbs and for a 6'1ft guy is hard to deliver so much nutrition to add muscle.

    For what I have seen in my research, looking at the label of this baby, and reading your review, is one hell out of a good mass gainer!

    My question to you is: What time of the day do you believe is more effective at? Morning, post-workout, etc. Be honest, I don't want to lose my abs. lol.

    Overall, great review and I'm planning to buy it. Thanks.

    Trust: 66%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Hey,

    how much did you gained?


    dmz
    (0)

    Trust: 0%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Don't forget the 26 grams of Glutamine per serving. As that's what aids the recovery.

    Trust: 22%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Nice review man, i ran this with Green MAG and dymatize bcaa and saw some pretty solid gains


    Reinger
    (+2,285)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted July 14, 2011
    Thanks buddy. This is still my favorite gainer...

    Trust: 3%

    Posted July 15, 2011
    great review, i just think the profile is around a 9. Due to the fact that the whey protein they use is whey protein concentrate which has the lowest amount of protein compared to others like whey protein isolate. but still, solid review.


    CamSTL
    (+1,992)

    Trust: 100%


    I simply did not get those results



    Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 8


    I delayed putting this review out and I never like to bash a product but I will be honest. This is one of the more popular weight gainers and there is alot of hype surrounding Up Your Mass, but I simply did not get those results.

    Taste:7.5
    I tried 2lbs of the Fudge Brownie and 5lbs...
    I delayed putting this review out and I never like to bash a product but I will be honest. This is one of the more popular weight gainers and there is alot of hype surrounding Up Your Mass, but I simply did not get those results.

    Taste:7.5
    I tried 2lbs of the Fudge Brownie and 5lbs of Cinnabun. The Fudge Brownie once opened had a distinct smell. I couldn't put my finger on it but it tasted nothing like Brownie. It actually tasted like Cinnamon. Perhaps im weird but thats what it tasted and smelled like once I figured it out. So I decided to try the Cinnabun next and it wasn't as strong as the Brownie but still decent overall

    Value 8
    Tho I had a decent run on this the main reason I ran this (besides the hype) was because I was out of money and this product compared to others gainers is cheap. 2lbs cost around $12-15 and 5lbs cost around $30.
    So why an 8? Because you get 7 servings with 2lbs and 17 with 5lbs. I never take a whole serving but I still blew thru this stuff pretty fast. Faster than any other gainer, but I also paid less, so I guess theres a trade-off.

    Ingredients: -
    There is a Carb Blend which consists of Barley, Oats and Oat Fiber and a protein blend which consists of Soy Protein Isolate, Calcium Caseinate, and Whey.
    There is also an Amino, Vitamin, and Omega blend

    I know my body and I am prone to storing extra fat if I eat too many carbs (even clean). The main protein in this is Soy Isolate and there are studies out saying that soy "will & will not" increase estrogen. Whether that has some truth to it or not I know that I am prone to holding estrogen stored fat. Seeing as Carbs and Soy were the main sources in this I was hesitant to try this.

    Effectiveness 7
    I used this during my football season as I use a gainer to help me maintain my weight around 230. I did not store any extra fat, but despite taking this I did drop some weight (possibly water weight as I was drinking more this summer) but in past years when taking Iso Mass or any other gainer, I never had a problem maintaining weight. We averaged 100 degree weather for 2 months so I will give this the benefit of the doubt. Theres not much you can do in that weather if you have to be outside everyday.

    Overall 7
    Lets not get it twisted, im not blaming this for my lack of ability to hold weight. Thats where diet and (not) overtraining come in, and I can't remember my exact cal count but it was on par if not more than years past during my season; and when taking other gainers I never had this problem.

    I wish UYM had a stronger profile of Whey sources such as Whey Isolate like other gainers do. But UYM profile is unique and this is possibly what makes it so effective for others.

    I didn't gain 15lbs over 5 weeks like this product said lol, but Im glad I tried UYM. It was inexpensive, tasted fairly decent and it helped me maintain strength. Thats about it tho, I doubt I go back to UYM but census says this is a good product that works. Im not saying you shouldn't try this if you haven't, it simply did not give "me" what I wanted in comparison to others

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value
    • Misleading Claims On Bottle



    lava135
    (+4,615)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted September 18, 2012
    Dude, you must be the man - you've got both the expert and non-expert review slots, lol.


    CamSTL
    (+1,992)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted September 18, 2012
    Classic case of a mistake turning into a positive. I honestly meant to mark that other one as an ER


    hulkish1
    (+3,462)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted September 18, 2012
    solid honest review good job broski

    Trust: 0%

    Posted January 6, 2014
    Not to say product claims are accurate... but, if you're not taking a full serving a day and you look at how they calculated those claims... you would need to take more. Outside of the claims thing, pretty good review


    CamSTL
    (+1,992)

    Trust: 100%

    Posted January 6, 2014
    The claims are outright ridiculous and who knows how many tubs(and money) it would take to actually reach that claim.

    A good rule of thumb with gainer is to never take a whole serving at once. Idk if you've ever tried ON's Serious Mass but the scoop size is ridiculous. I believe you would have to take 4 scoops to = 1 serving. That kills the value and it is almost impossible to drink.

    That's y a lot of people take 1-1 1/2 scoop before breakfast or working out and another scoop sometime after working out or later in the day.

    Same thing is even being done w/Ronnie Colemans King Mass. If you look at WarMachines review he never took a whole serving but rather broke the scoops up during the day.

    Also people tend to think that 15lbs means 15lbs of muscle. Could I have out on 15lbs with just this, id sure need many more tubs as I'd have to take a full serving multiple times but I'd blow thru my money and it'd make sense just to increase my whole food cals.

    Dont mean to ramble but I hope this makes sense.


    kris65
    (+2,519)

    Trust: 100%

    These really are not bad prices



    Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9


    Hey everyone, I'm going to be reviewing MHP's Up Your Mass. This is one of my favorite weight gainers that works great as a snack/inbetween meals. I have...
    Hey everyone, I'm going to be reviewing MHP's Up Your Mass. This is one of my favorite weight gainers that works great as a snack/inbetween meals. I have tried several other weight gainers, at this still def ranks as one of the best in my books.


    Content 9/10

    The content of this weight gainer is pretty solid. I'm not running through all the contents, if you want to here is the label. http://www.BodyBuilding.com/store/mhp/mass.html In one serving you get 510 calories with 99 of them from fat. So there are some weight gainers out there that offer more calories, like GNC XXX or ON's Serious Mass, but in my opinion this is a sufficient amount of calories.


    Mixability 8/10

    This MASS gainer mixed pretty well. I would put the 4 scoops in a blender with some milk and it would mix very well. On certain days I would just mix it in my shaker, it wasn't as good as with the blender but its nothing to complain about. I found mixing Up Your MASS with milk to be better than mixing it with water. IDK why this is but it just seemed to mix better with skim milk. If you mixed it with water sometimes not all of it would mix properly and it was a little gritty, but its not too bad either way. I was mixing it with a shaker without the whisk ball in it, so that prob had something to do with it. Those little whisk balls really help lol.


    Scoop Size 9/10

    So with weight gainers scoop size and serving size is always something that comes up. I saw someone on here a while ago whining because there were too many scoops and it was too much for them to take at one point. IMO Up Your MASS is not too bad at all scoop wise. You take 4 average scoops per serving. There really is nothing to complain about here. This would be different if the scoop was the size of ON's Serious Mass. Serious Mass's scoops are huge and a serving is 2 heaping scoops. Serious Mass's scoop size would get a 1/10....like no joke people if your whining about 4 little scoops stay away from Serious Mass.


    Taste 9/10

    So you gotta give credit where credit is due. We have all tried those weight gainers that taste terrible and leave a funny taste in your mouth...this is not one of them. It tastes like a chocolate smoothie. I would mix this with some skim milk and it would taste delicious. When taking weight gainers, its easy to get accustomed or tired of the taste. I remember getting so sick and tired of the GNC AMP MASS XXX Cookies and Cream. Like it was great for the first couple times, then I started getting sick and tired of it, I remember dreading having to gulp down that shake hahaha. Sometimes you have to do that, cause its not really about the taste in the end, but its nice to gulp down something that won't make you nauseous.


    Effectiveness 9/10

    Like I said before I consider this one of the better weight gainers out there. I saw some great increase in weight. This is a weight gainer, im tired of hearing Questions like "Will I put on fat if I take this?" Hell yea you will put on fat. A weight gainer will make you put on weight......chances are most of it will be fat. I used this during a bulk and I put on some weight, if a quarter of the weight I put on was muscle man would be Stoked. This is a fantastic product to use as a snack in between meals. Ideally during a bulk you want to get most of your calories from good clean whole foods, but lets face it people its sometimes tough to get those extra calories in. This is where this weight gainer becomes the most useful.


    Price 8/10

    You can get Up Your MASS in a 2lb tub or a 5 lb tub. On BB.com the 2lb tub is $12.99, and the 5lb tub is $32.49. These really are not bad prices. The GNC 6lb weight gainer is like 69 bucks or 55 with their stupid bs gold card deal lol. There are some cheaper weight gainers out there, that are pretty good as well, like ON's Serious MASS 6lb is around 25 dollars, and that's another great weight gainer. It really depends where you look, I have found the 5lb tub for less, you just gotta look around.

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Value
    • Real Mass
    • A Solid Weight Gainer
    • Great Taste



      kris65
      (+2,519)

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 29, 2011
      Oh I forgot to add, yea I did see a strength increase. But idk if I would attribute that fully to this product as I was on creatine monohydrate as well as black powder which had me wired as h*ll in the gym lol.


      Manimal
      (+3,775)

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 29, 2011
      My favorite gainer!

      Well done broski.

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 29, 2011
      great review!
      Currently on this now and i'm loving it so far. The cinnabun flavor is fantastic


      venom434
      (+969)

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 29, 2011
      Solid review. For having soy as one of its main sources of protein, this is still the best IMO.


      kris65
      (+2,519)

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 29, 2011
      Thanks guys, yea I have tried several gainers and this is one I come back to time and time again.

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 30, 2011
      Great review. Loved the shout out to bad question.

      "Will a weight gainer help me gain weight?"

      Hmm....let me think....

      Trust: 100%

      Overall this is a fantastic gainer from MHP



      Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9


      Ive gone through a lot of tubs and i figured i would finally write a review. Up Your Mass is MHPs weight/mass gainer, now im not a hardgainer by any standards and this makes Up...
      Ive gone through a lot of tubs and i figured i would finally write a review. Up Your Mass is MHPs weight/mass gainer, now im not a hardgainer by any standards and this makes Up Your Mass a pretty near perfect mass gainer for me. Its not a high calorie gainer (510 calories per serving) but its extremely dense with nutrients, theres just about nothing thats bad or unhealthy in UYM. all the carbs are from grain sources so theyre all complex carbs(58 grams of carbs). the protein blend is something to talk about, its a time releasd protein blend containing Whey Protein Concentrate, Calcuim Caseinate, and the most talked about Soy Protein (with a total of 46 grams of protein). This provides a protein blend that supposedly lasts in your system for 8 hours. It looks like it has a high fat content but its just about all of it are Essential Fatty Acids and added CLA. And it is probably the best tasting gainer I have ever tried. Ive always got vanilla but have got a chocolate sample pack in the mail once and it was also delicious (in water or milk). I actually look foward to drinking it after my workouts. Overall this is a fantastic gainer from MHP and is great for those who dont need a lot of calories to put on weight without adding fat.

      P.S.- Dont be fooled by the Amino proflie on the front of the tub. Thats with two servings of UYM a day. Just thought Id throw that out there

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Builds Muscle
      • Good Value
      • Superior Blend
      • A Solid Weight Gainer
      • Great Taste



        CamelE
        (+897)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted September 11, 2010
        Nice review PT

        Trust: 100%

        Posted September 11, 2010
        thanks man!


        bigworm89
        (+2,255)

        Trust: 100%

        It definitely Up My Gas as well as my mass



        Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 10


        Hello friends! I have finished my tub of Up Your Mass today, so that means i get to write a review and get a chance to win a awesome T-shirt. Let me start off saying why i chose Up...
        Hello friends! I have finished my tub of Up Your Mass today, so that means i get to write a review and get a chance to win a awesome T-shirt. Let me start off saying why i chose Up Your Mass. The first thing that caught my eye was the carb sources. Almost all gainers have Maltodextrin as the main carb source. That is not the case with Up Your Mass. Up Your Mass's carbs are from barley, oats, and oat fiber. The protein per serving was not too bad either. Another thing that caught my eye was it has a whopping 26g of Glutamine, 7g of Arginine, and 23g of BCAA's and 9g of those BCAA's come from leucine. That is very impressive.

        I would use this as a in between meal shake while running P-Mag. I always used 2 scoops(1/2 serving) if i needed more carbs i would add a banana, and if i needed more protein i would use milk. I would usually mix so natty PB in with it as well. It assisted me in gaining all the size that i gained. If you haven't seen it yet, check out my P-Mag before and after thread for more info.

        I got the fudge brownie flavor. The taste was fantastic even when it was mixed with water. I also loved the price as well. 5lbs at 32 dollars is hard to beat even for regular protein.

        The only sides i had were gas. It definitely Up My Gas as well as my mass. Other than the tub saying "Gain 16lbs of rock hard muscle in 5 weeks" this product is legit and i would recommend it to anyone wanting to put on some clean weight.

        More
        Pros:
        Cons:
        • Builds Muscle
        • Good Value
        • Superior Blend
        • A Solid Weight Gainer
        • Great Taste
        • Good Blend
        • Up'd My Gas



        Manimal
        (+3,775)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 16, 2011
        Love this stuff bro!

        Sounds like you may want to invest in some Digestive Enzymes homie. Venom recommended me the GNC Multi Enzyme formula and it is "Money!"


        kevO
        (+4,204)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 16, 2011
        Another garbage review. ; )

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 16, 2011
        O my god why are ur reviews so horrible?


        bigworm89
        (+2,255)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 16, 2011
        @ the manimal- i have been researching some and it will definitely be bought.

        @the other guys- i try to model my reviews after Cray's, since you guys say they are horrible, i guess i modeled it perfectly.

        Trust: 0%

        Posted February 16, 2011
        the only thing that worries is the trans-fat. Although it states it has 0g tran-fat, they are allowed to state that if its under 0.5 per serving, which it is.


        bigworm89
        (+2,255)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        Where would the trans fat come from? there is not any hydrogenated oil in this.


        kingmeat
        (+1,335)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        well guess this will be my new gainer thanks brotha


        bigworm89
        (+2,255)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        Well i am glad i helped you out my man.

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        the protein blend sucks for up your mass IMO, i add half a cup of eggwhites for 12 grams of egg protein


        I3CAA
        (+61)

        Trust: 63%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        just found my new weight gainer.. bought a tub today:) will tell you what happens bro.. :D hoping to gain at least 1kg of it :)

        Trust: 100%

        Posted February 17, 2011
        Just ordered me a tub today (damn whey to buy site wouldn't let me order 2). Since I respect your opinion highly I wanted to give this a shot being I am somewhat a hard gainer...I will let you know results (figure I need to get at least two jugs minimally).


        venom434
        (+969)

        Trust: 100%

        I like the profile of the product



        Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9


        this is the only weight/mass gainer that i actually like in regards to both taste and effectiveness. i had the "Chocolate Fudge Brownie" flavor which i think tastes really good, especially when i add some natural peanut butter and cinnamon.

        i take just one serving (4 scoops) everyday first...
        this is the only weight/mass gainer that i actually like in regards to both taste and effectiveness. i had the "Chocolate Fudge Brownie" flavor which i think tastes really good, especially when i add some natural peanut butter and cinnamon.

        i take just one serving (4 scoops) everyday first thing in the morning upon waking with 16oz whole milk. i use a blender to mix this, and although most mass gainers can be extremely thick like drinking mud; i find this to have a smooth texture, while the thickness is just right and not too gloppy. this didn't give me a really upset stomach, while it seemed to digest easily, it can tend to give you a "full" feeling which i don't mind when i take this because i'm not much of a breakfast person.

        i like the profile of the product, each serving provides(with 160z whole milk):
        802 Calories, 1528mg Potassium, 80g Carbohydrates, 11g Dietary Fiber, 62g Protein, along with a fairly decent amount of Amino Acids. also what i liked about this product is a few other things, such as; the Carbohydrate Blend is made from Barley, Oats, Oat Fiber and contains GLA, CLA, ALA, and both EPA/DHA.

        after about my third tub of the 2lbs container i put on some clean weight, about 5lbs of muscle; which is really good for me considering it's hard for me to gain weight. overall i think this is the best gainer for putting on clean weight and muscle mass.

        More
        Pros:
        Cons:
        • Good Blend
        • Good Texture
        • Builds Muscle
        • Good Value
        • No Fluff Mass
        • A Solid Weight Gainer
        • Great Taste



          Manimal
          (+3,775)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 21, 2010
          nice bro! I'm about a quarter of the way through on my 5lb tub right now and i agree, the texture is just right and it sits very nicely in the stomach. Experiencing good recovery and it is aiding very well for daily caloric intake. Rep'd


          venom434
          (+969)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 21, 2010
          thanks man. this was actually recommend to me by AlimentalFRK.


          Manimal
          (+3,775)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 21, 2010
          I see. Speaking of which, where the hell has he been? College i suppose haha. He's got a hard major, so i'll cut him some slack. ;)


          venom434
          (+969)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 21, 2010
          i'm going to assume, class and working hard at his new job at GNC.


          venom434
          (+969)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 21, 2010
          lol

          Trust: 100%

          Posted September 22, 2010
          working on a tub a vanilla now also. up 5lbs. im not a fan of the taste, but it's working great. good review!


          mo
          (-1)

          Trust: 0%

          Posted September 22, 2010
          Manimal and venom what do u thunk about quickmass loaded by AllMax Nutrition?i really need to decide whether to take it or pro complex gainer


          shinndigg
          (+1,181)

          Trust: 100%


          This is a quality product that works and delivers



          Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9


          If you spend any amount of time here on this website, you will most likely see the name of this product pop up. It's is easily the highest recommended mass gainer, and one of the highest recommended products in general on this site. So when I wanted to get a gainer for my bulk, there was no question...
          If you spend any amount of time here on this website, you will most likely see the name of this product pop up. It's is easily the highest recommended mass gainer, and one of the highest recommended products in general on this site. So when I wanted to get a gainer for my bulk, there was no question I wanted to give this product a go. So I am officially on the bandwagon of this product now having used it and seen results from it myself.

          Dosage: I took a half serving, or two scoops of Up Your Mass in the morning time with breakfast. I also would take a second half serving in the evening.

          Profile(9.5/10)- What makes this product so effective starts with the ingredients. Most gainers are sheepishly put together using inferior protein and carbohydrate sources. With this product however, you get what is arguably the most comprehensive and well thought out ingredient profile in a mass gainer on the market. Using a blend of soy, casein, and whey proteins you get a good protein profile. I would have liked to have seen whey isolate and perhaps micellular casein instead, but still a good protein blend, providing 46 grams per serving. What really sets this product apart from other gainers however is the carbohydrate source, rather then utilizing cheap and high GI Maltodextrin for it's carbs, this products boasts an impressive blend of barley, oats, and oat fiber. Toss in some healthy fats from MCTs, CLA, and Omega-3's and you have a winner for it's ingredient profile.

          Taste/Mixture(9/10): This product is a very fine powder and makes mixing it very simple. Just toss it in a shaker cup with some water and you are good to go, no need to break out the blender for this mass gainer. Beware though of the powder missiles and "dust clouds" created by this product if you are rough in handling it. I had the cookies and cream flavor, and at first it appeared to taste a little dull for my liking, but with time the taste grew on me, and I came to enjoy it actually.

          Effectiveness(9/10): While you might not pack on "16 pounds of rock hard mass in 5 weeks" as the label insinuates, this product does do an effective job of putting on the pounds. This product worked exceptionally well with a few pills of Glycobol 15 minutes prior. The complex carbs in this product really complimented the Glycobol, and was a very effective stack for me. This has outperformed every gainer I have used previous.

          Value(9/10): At around 30 bucks a container (5 lbs) you will get about 17 servings, which works out to $1.76 per serving. Which isn't bad when compared to other gainers, and considering that this product is of higher quality in ingredients you are really getting your moneys worth in my opinion.

          Conclusion: "Up Your Mass" gets a lot of accolades on this site, and with good reason. This is a quality product that works and delivers. I would highly recommend this to anyone looking for that extra boost in their daily calorie intake, or anyone who wants a good quality mass gainer.

          More
          Pros:
          Cons:
          • Builds Muscle
          • Good Value
          • Superior Blend
          • Real Mass
          • A Solid Weight Gainer
          • Great Taste
          • Too Powdery
          • Misleading Claims On Bottle



          kris65
          (+2,519)

          Trust: 100%

          Posted November 8, 2011
          I love this weight gainer. I will taking this during my winter bulk.

          Trust: 100%

          Posted November 8, 2011
          Solid Review

          Trust: 100%

          Great quality gainer here guys



          Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 8
          0  


          The main reason I picked Up Your Mass as my weight gainer (and the reason why I picked a weight gainer in general) was because I was worried about hitting my macros during my bulk session in the fall due to the fact that I dorm at my school and am subject to the dining halls meal plan for most of my...
          The main reason I picked Up Your Mass as my weight gainer (and the reason why I picked a weight gainer in general) was because I was worried about hitting my macros during my bulk session in the fall due to the fact that I dorm at my school and am subject to the dining halls meal plan for most of my food. I picked UYM purposely due to the fact that it had already great reviews and its clear and great sources of carbs/proteins and other goodies! I ran a full three 5lb tubs of this stuff and poo it worked and did what it I hoped it would do, which was to up my overall calorie count in a clean way to really pack on some muscle and not just fat! Well let's just jump into this then!

          Profile 10/10
          This is why this product is so effective and why so many people use this product as their gainer. What's in it? Well a full serving is:

          Calories- 510
          Calories from fat- 99
          Total fat- 11g
          Saturated fat- 2g
          Trans fat- 0
          Cholesterol- 2mg
          Sodium- 435mg
          Potassium- 800mg
          Total Carbs- 58g
          Fiber- 11g
          Sugars- 2g
          Protein- 46 Net carbs- 47g

          This is a great ratio (Cals could be a little more) and has little fat in it and the fats that it does have in it are made up of Essential Fatty Acids. The carb blend is where this product shines, however, the carb blend is made up from quality carbs such as barley, oats, and oat fibers. These are all low glycemic carbs which means that they digest slowly in your body, keeping you fed and energized longer than most other gainer carbs which are quick and less effective. The protein blend in this product really is just meh, not the best but not the worst. It consists of a Soy Protein Isolate, Whey Concentrate and a Casein protein, it'll keep you fed for some time, and keep a steady supply of protein to your muscles, but this is where this product could improve a bit. What this profile amounts to is a clean quality product that won't pack on fat.

          Taste/Dosing/Mixability 10/10/10!

          Taste
          CinnaBun 10/10 Best Tasting Supplement I've ever had. It actually tastes like the name suggests, great cinnamon flavor!...however after 1.5 tubs it gets old so I'd suggest getting a different flavor which leads us to:
          Fudge Brownie 9/10 Little different flavor here but it was a welcome change from the CinnaBun...Tasted chocolaty and a bit malty at the same time, very nice flavor. I even made a sludge outa this stuff during times when I had to go without food for some time (dining hall closed and I had class or what have you.) Consisted of Whole Milk, 4 scoops UYM, Peanut Butter and a cup of Oats...delicious and filing for a fewww hours.

          Dosing/Mixability
          Easy enough to dose. The dosage is 4 scoops, which is quite a bit and I wouldn't recommend downing this stuff at once unless you're going to be going without a meal for a couple hours. I dosed this at 2 scoops in the morning and then 2 scoops later in the day, generally about an hour or two before my workouts, provided clean energy throughout the gym. Even though this is quite a bit of powder at the bottom of a shaker cup I never had a problem with mixability which is outstanding!

          Value 8/10
          Pretty okay value on this product, however, it would be foolish to just run one 2lbs tub of this stuff and I think buying even one 5lbs (Which only has 17 servings in it) tub wouldn't be ideal either. I bought this product for around 26 bucks a tub or about 1.5bucks a serving. Like I said I bought three tubs so my gainer alone cost me around 78 dollars, not a bad value but not great. It is still better than most of the other gainers out there in my opinion and for what you are paying for it is definitely worth it.

          Effectiveness 9/10
          Well like I said I ran three 5lbs tubs of this stuff and would recommend no less than two if you are serious about trying this product. MHP Up Your Mass is a great, quality gainer...that being said a gainer is really just supposed to be an additional source of calories in case you can't hit your macros that day from whole foods...What I'm trying to say here is that you can't use this product and expect to gain pounds, you can't believe the label it has on it and your diet has to be in check if you're bulking and has to be spot on to minimize fat gains. Taking all of that into perspective MHP Up Your Mass provided quality calories, carbs, and protein when I needed it. I gained about 2-3lbs a week while using this product for a total weight gain of about 18lbs, now obviously not all of the was muscle! This product is very good when it comes to meal replacement, especially if you add to it (Like my sludge!) as I would go a couple hours without eating while in a long class and be fine. My only complaints with this product are that as well as Upping my Mass...it Uped my Gass as well, but that is typically to be expected when ingesting a gainer, and the claims on the container which state gain 16lbs of rock hard muscle in 5 weeks...come on. Other than that This gainer, I believe, is leaps and bounds above many other gainers out there due to the carb blend it has in it as well as the good fats and slow digesting proteins. I felt that this product improved my energy throughout the day by providing that extra boost with the complex carbs it had in it which was a nice plus. Recovery remained high throughout my bulk but that was most likely due to the amount of calories I was taking in...so I guess UYM helped this a little.

          Overall 9/10
          Great quality gainer here guys. Used in conjunction with a quality bulking diet you will add weight and minimize fat gains. This product in my book is great and if I ever need assistance getting in those last few extra calories I will be turning once again to MHP Up Your Mass. As I've said above, due to the clean/quality ingredients, this product is (in my mind) above most other gainers out there! Give it a shot next time you bulk and you won't be disappointed (Even if it's just for that CinnaBun taste lol!).

          Thanks for reading guys, keep killing it!

          More
          Pros:
          Cons:
          • Increased Energy
          • Builds Muscle
          • Good Value
          • Superior Blend
          • Real Mass
          • A Solid Weight Gainer
          • Great Taste
          • Misleading Claims On Bottle

          Trust: 15%

          The taste was surprisingly very good



          Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 10


          I am an ecto-mesomorph and so am always looking forward to a good mass gainers..I have pretty much used close to 10 mass gainers in the past and some good ones like N-Large2, Cytogainer, Real Mass, QuickMass and some real crappy ones like MuscleJuice and Serious Mass.. i had never used an MHP product...
          I am an ecto-mesomorph and so am always looking forward to a good mass gainers..I have pretty much used close to 10 mass gainers in the past and some good ones like N-Large2, Cytogainer, Real Mass, QuickMass and some real crappy ones like MuscleJuice and Serious Mass.. i had never used an MHP product before but decided to go for Up Your Mass after reading a lot of reviews online..

          Also, forgot to mention that this is my first review so do feel free to drop in suggestions for improvements :)

          One of the main reasons I opted for Up your Mass was the carb source .. that was unlike any other mass gainer I had used before... instead of ingredients like Maltodextrin, Dextrose, Waxy Maize and the like, Up Your Mass derives it's carbs from a combination of Barley, Oats and Oat Fiber .. this certainly was new to me and I was kinda excited to see how it would work out ..

          Next up, the protein source, the usual suspects, WPC, Casein, Soy Protein Isolate (again a surprise!!)..I took 2 scoops of this along with a scoop of Myofusion hydro post WO (mainly for the fast acting whey hydrolysate since this one had the slow acting casein and soy).Back to the point now..one look at the amino acid profile and I knew I had to try this one out (26gms of Glutamine, 9gms of Leucine, 7 gms of Arginine and 23gms of BCAAs).. this was all yours for 2 servings mixed with whole milk .. I never exceeded 1 serving per day (4 Scoops = 132 gms) and I always used water (2 scoops in milk gets too heavy for me..gives me gas at times which my wife is not too fond of .. LOL )

          I was also taking Gaspari's Myofusion Hydro (2 scoops in between meals) in conjunction with this so 4 scoops of Up Your Mass seemed enough for me..

          Ok so there you go.. a unique carb matrix and a solid amino acid profile... let's dive straight into the real review now..

          Ingredient profile: 9/10 (discussed above)

          Taste: 10/10 I had ordered the Fudge Brownie flavor and while it seemed a bit grainy to me first up, I had absolutely no complaints about it after I gulped it down couple of times (I use water remember :))..there was no bloating and it was easy on the stomach. The taste was surprisingly very good, in fact it was perfect and you bet I felt I could have a full serving size at one go (4 scoops) though I resisted myself from doing so. No dirty gas too..so it's a 10 across the board for taste and side effects..

          Mixability: 10/10 .. I usually don't use a shaker.. I use my huge beer mug instead and stir it with a table spoon but no complaints as far as mixability is concerned.. no aching forearms .. took me about a minute and i was good to gulp it down.. :)

          Effectiveness: 9/10 .. Like I'd mentioned earlier, I used this twice a day, 2 scoops at a time, so I was getting 1 full serving. 2 scoops post WO and 2 scoops before bed.. As mentioned earlier, I put one scoop of Myofusion hydro along with this post WO .. I would say I was impressed with the results.. I put on around 8-10 lbs of weight in roughly 3 and 1/2 weeks (mind you, all of it was not muscle thanks to my diet regimen.. I was taking in a lot of carbs from natural sources to up my weight a little bit).. however, I did feel that the fat I gained was not due to Up Your Mass but my daily carb intake. So, will it add 16 lbs of rock hard muscle in 5 weeks? I am not sure because to test that, you would need to consume 2 full servings/day with whole milk for 5 weeks and I don't think I was ever going to do that.. but it's still hard to imagine someone adding 16 lbs of pure muscle in just 5 weeks .. so in a way, this seemed misleading to me.. apart from that, I think this was a good mass gainer with a slightly different carb and protein profile but one that screams quality rather than quantity.. the serving size is big but not as much as some of the others in the market.. I would say this is not for someone who wants to gain 15-20 lbs of weight in 6 weeks, since this does not have high amounts of maltodextrin and sugars or a ridiculously huge serving size.. rather, it will help you pack on some quality mass if you are patient with your workouts and have realistic gains.. having said that, I give this a 9 for effectiveness simply because I don't think any product is perfect and I feel you need to give this product some time to feel its tangible effects. So, will I use this product in future??.. YES I will but not when I am planning to bulk up big time. Rather I would use this when I want to add some quality mass without the unwanted fat..which is why I said time and again, that this is an unconventional mass gainer :)

          Value: 9/10 .. I am not sure if I should be including this section because I reside in India and supplements here are very expensive.. so I will rate Up Your Mass in relation to other mass gainers I bought in India at local currency .. I got a 5 lbs for INR 2800 which was quite OK as compared to Real Mass or Cytogainer .. both cost close to INR 3200 (but they have bigger 6 lbs containers so I guess that's fine). good value for my buck.. for US Residents, INR 2800 = $ 52 and INR 3200 = $ 61 at current rates.

          Following was my exercise and supplement regimen for the period I was using Up Your Mass:

          Workout: 5 days a week (45-60 mins, I dont put in more than an hour in the gym because that approach works for me the best. I usually follow a high-intensity regimen with very short rest periods).. I was not doing any cardio while I was using UYM because it was a bulking phase for me.

          Supplements:
          1)Up your Mass (2 scoops post WO, 2 scoops before bed)
          2)Sci-fit Gluta-lyn (2 caps pre WO, 2 caps post WO)
          3)Gaspari Myofusion Hydro (1 scoop post WO, 2 scoops in between meals)

          Not including my diet here since it would make the review unnecessarily long.. Do feel free to add comments, questions, improvement areas.

          Thanks.. happy lifting !!!

          More
          Pros:
          Cons:
          • Builds Muscle
          • Good Value
          • Superior Blend
          • Great Taste
          • Big Serving Size
          • Misleading Claims On Bottle

          Trust: 0%

          Posted November 20, 2011
          Where in India do you purchase these products? Online or is there a local store? I'm asking coz I'll be back home visiting for a month next year and checking in a 5 lb tub is not practical when flying

          Trust: 15%

          Posted November 20, 2011
          I generally purchase supplements online since local stores ask for much more ... you can try ebay india..they are the most reliable suppliers though you might not get the best price or a wide range there..you can visit www.indiasupplement.com for a much wider range and a better price.. another site would be www.esnstore.in .. very reliable but not a very wide range..take your pick :)