Home > Categories > Protein > Weight Gainers > GNC > Mass XXX > Reviews

Mass XXX

By GNC
Mass XXX GNC
Follow
Overall Score:
7.7/10
(Weighted average based on 22 Reviews)

Ranks #15 of 31 (better than 53%)
in Protein > Weight Gainers
Dashboard Reviews Discussion Related Prices


jaycon
(+179)

Trust: 100%

I'm on my second tub and it definitely works



Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 10


im on my second tub of mass xxx and it definately works. i took my first tub about 3 months ago, im 5'9 and i went from 138 lbs to 145. my bench went from 205 to 215 in 2 weeks. i just started taking a second tub of it again about 2 weeks ago and i went from 148 to 152 and my bench went from 225 to 235....
im on my second tub of mass xxx and it definately works. i took my first tub about 3 months ago, im 5'9 and i went from 138 lbs to 145. my bench went from 205 to 215 in 2 weeks. i just started taking a second tub of it again about 2 weeks ago and i went from 148 to 152 and my bench went from 225 to 235. i take this stuff differently then the label says to because it doesnt really make sense to take it how the label says anyways. i take 2 scoops of it rather than 4 because that gives you about 33 grams of protein plus i take it in 14 ounces of milk which puts it a little over 40 grams of protein in my shake and the body can only absorb 40 grams of protein anyways so its a waste to do anymore to me. me and my friend baught 2 tubs on a buy one get one half off sale and the price came out to be about 34 bucks each which is an awesome deal i think. great stuff!

More

Trust: 0%

Posted August 9, 2009
you do of course realize that the body doesn't even take in 40 grams of protein at a time, manybe around 20, idk where u got 40 from. And i hope you realize that not all the protein you intake is absorbed into the muscle. alot of it is wasted. Thats y nitric oxide, and whey Protein Isolate, is the real way to go. id suggest MRI Pro-NOS, it worked great for me. (only order the chocolate one, the berry one takes like ass)

Trust: 100%

Posted August 9, 2009
To superman69: Mass XXX is a protein blend, meaning that it's made up of various types of proteins with varying absorption rates. Due the varying absorption rates, Jaycon actually can absorb most of those 40 grams, since the protein will be absorbed over time and not all at once.


jaycon
(+179)

Trust: 100%

Posted August 9, 2009
The body can absorb between 30 and 40, it depends on the person and types of protein. Plus, this supp is a gainer, im trying to get the most calories and protein i can without going overboard. I take a whey protein post workout so i dont use my gainer for that. I use my gainer as a gainer and it works for me the way i take.


Amar
(0)

Trust: 0%

Posted August 9, 2009
Hey dud i just bought this product. im only 17 and cant gain anything. i even use to eat 3000 calories. with this product equals 4000 calories are good to gain wieght or more.


jaycon
(+179)

Trust: 100%

Posted August 9, 2009
Hey amar, this is a solid gainer, take 2 shakes a day, 2 scoops in 16 ounces of milk, one mid morning and one before bed. If you cant gain weight doing what i just said, you need to evaluate what you are eating during the day and your workouts. For workouts, make sure your hitting the big 3 (bench, deadlifts, and squats) and keep the reps under 8 for those lifts. I recommend pyramids and drop sets. You gotta push heavy weights if you want to grow and those workouts are the best for growth. I never deadlifted consistently until about 6 months ago and since then in addition to taking some supplements, Ive put on around 25-30lbs. Good luck bro.

Trust: 0%

Posted August 10, 2009
hey what supplements are you taking per day? i am 5'9'' and 130lbs really trying to gain weight please help me.. what are you taking?

Trust: 0%

Posted August 10, 2009
i was wondering what can i take with mass xxx and creatine to bulk up... can i take whey protien with those and if i can how should i take it per day??? thanks man if u can answer really need help

Trust: 5%

I have not noticed a difference



Overall: 4 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 5
0  


I strength train and eventually want to get into powerlifting and not bodybuilding but I think my strength is not close to being able to power lift yet. Doing low reps makes you strong but not big. If I do not try to bulk then my body type will make me a sleeper which I do not want to be. Simply stated,...
I strength train and eventually want to get into powerlifting and not bodybuilding but I think my strength is not close to being able to power lift yet. Doing low reps makes you strong but not big. If I do not try to bulk then my body type will make me a sleeper which I do not want to be. Simply stated, I just want to look as strong as I am so that is why I have gone through 1 1/2 tubs of MASS XXX. Before this protein powder, I used GNC's 100% Whey Protein which has roughly 1/7 of the calories but is not effective in gaining size.
After drinking 1 1/2 tubs of MASS XXX, I have gained almost 20lbs and even though my fat percentage has only gone up by 1%, I am worried that soon I am going to start mostly gaining fat from it. I have noticeably gained some belly fat.
Since it has 750 calories with water, I drink half a serving before I workout plus a banana and the other half when I am done lifting. Before drinking it, I weighted 147lbs and now I am 162lbs.
Like I said above, I want to use a protein shake that gives me size to look as strong as I am but not much fat. Due to some health issues and medicine, I cannot use NO products nor L-Arginine because L-Arginine just turns into NO. I also cannot use creatine supplements and limit my cardio. I walk and bike but I do not spin and run.
I eat a high protein low fat and low sugar diet with the exception of MASS XXX. I try to get around 150 grams of protein a day which means egg whites in the morning, lots of chicken, and some fish and red meat. I also have a little fruit and vegetables every day but I count my protein, not fruit and vegetables.

I strength train 3 days a week, speed walk twice a week, and bike once a week. For two of the three days I weight lift, I spend about two and a half hours both days. The other day, I just lift for roughly an hour. I am able to workout for so long partially because of MASS XXX but I think I could do that with a lower calorie shake and bring a Think Thin protein bar with me to the gym to eat part way through my workout. I only drink MASS XXX on the days I weight lift because of the amount of calories. Retaining strength wise, I have not noticed a difference between 100% Whey Protein and MASS XXX.

More
Pros:
Cons:
    • Not Really Expensive Just Doesnt Last Long.
    • Loaded With Sugar
    • Puts On Fat

    Trust: 0%

    The taste was mediocre



    Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 4
    0  


    Took a whole tub hoping to gain lean muscle (even though I saw that it was loaded with sugar) but I figured if I took only after hard workouts it would create an insulin spike making my body more anabolic and protein synthesis higher.

    The taste was mediocre, for all of that sugar it...
    Took a whole tub hoping to gain lean muscle (even though I saw that it was loaded with sugar) but I figured if I took only after hard workouts it would create an insulin spike making my body more anabolic and protein synthesis higher.

    The taste was mediocre, for all of that sugar it should be 1000x better. Each 5 pound tub only yields like 14 3 scoop servings which is garbage for the overprice of like 68 bucks.

    I put on a good amount of fat directly from this product, next go around i will def. just blend banana, milk, peanut butter and pure whey

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Builds Muscle
    • Puts On Fat
    • Loaded With Sugar

    Trust: 0%

    I found that this, and most mass gainers on the market are loaded with sugars



    Overall: 5 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 2


    I bought this a while back in my attempts to gain weight. I found that this, and most mass gainers on the market are loaded with sugars and are not a good way to gain weight at all. Getting the bulks of my calories from clean food is the way to go. In times that I need something quick I make my own homemade...
    I bought this a while back in my attempts to gain weight. I found that this, and most mass gainers on the market are loaded with sugars and are not a good way to gain weight at all. Getting the bulks of my calories from clean food is the way to go. In times that I need something quick I make my own homemade shakes. Much cheaper and more effective. I'll be honest, GNC's products are all wayyy over priced too. I wouldn't purchase from them ever again now that I know better.

    More
    Pros:
    Cons:
      • Loaded With Sugar
      • Too Expensive

      Trust: 0%

      Posted April 20, 2012
      GNC's products are usually more expensive than most, but not always. When they have the buy one get one half off deal and you use a gold card, it is often cheaper to get from GNC than most other places. Also, if you wait until the product is about to expire, you can get the stuff for up to 75% off - that's what I always do. I agree that most mass gainers are not a good choice, but there are a few exceptions. MHP's Up Your Mass is a good product filled with healthy carbohydrates instead of Maltodextrine and so is Rivalus' Clean Gainer. Check those out. But you are right, creating your own weight gainer is probably the best choice.

      Trust: 0%

      I got a bit of gut but almost no muscle when i started



      Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 7
      0  


      WOW! i am 6'3, 196 Lb, i got a bit of gut but almost no muscle when i started. my Wife and i joined a gym, 3 weeks now i can already see results and my wife has even seen it. a few friends also have commented on it. Only problem is price but i will keep taking it.

      for those wondering i...
      WOW! i am 6'3, 196 Lb, i got a bit of gut but almost no muscle when i started. my Wife and i joined a gym, 3 weeks now i can already see results and my wife has even seen it. a few friends also have commented on it. Only problem is price but i will keep taking it.

      for those wondering i go to the gym Run 5 min, 45min of weights and 15min on bike to end it. Home and Take 2 cups of watter mixed with 4 scoops and then i eat some chicken or red smoked veil.

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Builds Muscle
      • Good Ingredient Profile
      • Too Expensive

      Trust: 6%

      Overall Great produc



      Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 9
      0  


      Overall Great product! great gains, quick muscle building, it did pack a little more fat than the usual proteins i have tried but a lot of cardio took care of that. I Have gone through about six tubs of this product, the chocolate and cookies and cream are the best, but i'm not a fan of vanilla and strawberry.
      Overall Great product! great gains, quick muscle building, it did pack a little more fat than the usual proteins i have tried but a lot of cardio took care of that. I Have gone through about six tubs of this product, the chocolate and cookies and cream are the best, but i'm not a fan of vanilla and strawberry.

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Good Ingredient Profile
      • Builds Muscle
      • Not Really Expensive Just Doesnt Last Long.

      Trust: 0%

      This product is mainly why Im noticed in the gym now



      Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9
      0  


      This product is mainly why Im noticed in the gym now. I use to be a slim, average guy. I went from 170 lbs to 190 lbs in 3 months using this product. Im definetly more dominant in the basketball court n my friends noticed the big change too.Although im not using this product anymore as i think its just...
      This product is mainly why Im noticed in the gym now. I use to be a slim, average guy. I went from 170 lbs to 190 lbs in 3 months using this product. Im definetly more dominant in the basketball court n my friends noticed the big change too.Although im not using this product anymore as i think its just for beginners.I just started with Isomass extreme gainer n ima see how it goes

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Builds Muscle
      • Too Expensive

      Trust: 0%

      I have seen some improvement in my strength



      Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 7


      I've been on Mass XXX for about a 2 weeks now, and i have finished the tube unfortunately. Although i have seen some improvement in my strength but generally not in the physical appearance. I mean isn't that where we are all going for? My point...
      I've been on Mass XXX for about a 2 weeks now, and i have finished the tube unfortunately. Although i have seen some improvement in my strength but generally not in the physical appearance. I mean isn't that where we are all going for? My point being for this review is a protein supplement truly enough to gain muscle or is there other supplement required in order to gain muscle in an ideal time frame. By the way, it's make on killer protein shake with milk and bananas with the vanilla flavor...

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Builds Muscle
      • Takes Too Long To Build Muscle.
      • Not Really Expensive Just Doesnt Last Long.



      krim
      (+156)

      Trust: 100%

      Posted September 13, 2010
      2 weeks is not enough time for your body to build as much muscle as you think it would. I'd say to continue for about 8-12 weeks, that should be more than enough time to see results not just in the mirror but in your lifts as well.

      Trust: 0%

      By far my favorite post workout protein shake



      Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 10
      0  


      By far my favorite post workout protein shake. I have tried all kinds of post workout shakes, and for some reason i always had headaches with them. I have probably gone through 20 jugs of this stuff. It is a little pricey, but if you have...
      By far my favorite post workout protein shake. I have tried all kinds of post workout shakes, and for some reason i always had headaches with them. I have probably gone through 20 jugs of this stuff. It is a little pricey, but if you have a gold card and get it at the beginning of the month you can get 12 pounds for about $70 which isnt that bad. I always do a half serving with whole milk though because anymore than that i feel sick. And always get chocolate, the other flavors are really chalky for some reason.

      More
      Pros:
      Cons:
      • Builds Muscle

        Trust: 0%

        My strength has gone up and i am finally gaining weight, quickly



        Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 4


        I went from 137 lbs to 144 and i am almost done with my first tub. The only thing i did not like about this was how long it lasted. When you get 6lbs of it i expected it to last at least two months. But i have just finished my 3rd week of it and i am almost out, i am expected to be out before a month....
        I went from 137 lbs to 144 and i am almost done with my first tub. The only thing i did not like about this was how long it lasted. When you get 6lbs of it i expected it to last at least two months. But i have just finished my 3rd week of it and i am almost out, i am expected to be out before a month. But i did like the results. My strength has gone up and i am finally gaining weight, quickly. Which is what i need.

        More
        Pros:
        Cons:
        • Builds Muscle
        • Not Really Expensive Just Doesnt Last Long.
        • Too Expensive



        Amar
        (0)

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 22, 2010
        Hey dud i just bought this product. im only 17 and cant gain anything. i even use to eat 3000 calories. with this product equals 4000 calories are good to gain wieght or more.

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 22, 2010
        sorry i didnt see you posted on mine when i just responded to yours lol, but i think this is a good weight gainer, i couldnt gain anything either. And i would even eat a lot of calories like you did, i think as long as you keep a good workout routine (mine was 6 times a week) and take the product consistently, then you will gain weight. Also eat good things for you, dont eat chips and candy and soda like crazy to try to gain weight lol, then you will just get all of the weight it the belly. Good luck with your weight gain, let me know your results.


        Amar
        (0)

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 22, 2010
        lol what you mean dont take 4 times. arnt we suppose to take 8 scoops a day. 4 scopes at 1 serving then the ever...

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 22, 2010
        ya you could do that but honestly i wouldnt, the weeks i would take 4 scoops a day i would gain 2-3 lbs in the week, so i would imagine some of that was fat, and if you took 8 scoops a day i could see a lot of fat, and also the serving size is 14 (1 serving= 4 scoops it says). which is awful, if you have 8 scoops a day it will last you a week lol


        Amar
        (0)

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 22, 2010
        lol even if i have fast metabolism i should gain 8 pounds with first tub.
        and also how many calories should i eat with this shake. is 2500 is good for me plus this shake..

        Trust: 0%

        Posted May 23, 2010
        yes, you should at least gain 5-10 lbs if you stay with it, and stay with a workout routine. Honestly, i did not count the calories i was taking in, but i would eat a decent amount every two hours. I would imagine 3000-3500 would do the trick but i am not sure.