Sign In

Remember Me
        

Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum

  

AMP Amplified Whey Protein

  By: GNC

 

Ok, due to the miracle of close dating products, I picked up a tub of this stuff for 8 bucks. Just finished it up, heres the review:

a pre note: Alot of people are either reviewing the amp wheybolic 60 or amp 100 percent whey. This is a completely different product in itself, just fyi.

Ingredient profile: Lots and lots of leucine, this stuff actually has an 8:1:1 ratio in it which surprised me, I dunno if it was intentional or not, but it actually made this product alot better then it could have been. A little too many carbs for my liking, but I can deal, just have to...
Ok, due to the miracle of close dating products, I picked up a tub of this stuff for 8 bucks. Just finished it up, heres the review:

a pre note: Alot of people are either reviewing the amp wheybolic 60 or amp 100 percent whey. This is a completely different product in itself, just fyi.

Ingredient profile: Lots and lots of leucine, this stuff actually has an 8:1:1 ratio in it which surprised me, I dunno if it was intentional or not, but it actually made this product alot better then it could have been. A little too many carbs for my liking, but I can deal, just have to work out a little harder.


Taste/mixability: I got the strawberry flavor. If taste is a big concern of yours, buy another product, i did get this because it was close dated, not because it was my choice. It mixed fine for me as well.


Effectiveness: This stuff was pretty decent, that 8:1:1 ratio definately helped with recovery. Definitely made me denser. Endurance and strength went up a little. Nothing compared to modern BCAA but still pretty nice.



Value: Its expensive unless you get it close dated and have a discount like me.



All in all, if your strapped for cash and can get it on sale, it wont be THAT disappointing. Other than that, maybe this product is not for you.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Density
  • Builds Muscle

    COMMENTS (2)



    cbiagioli
    (+96)
    Trust: 100%
     

    I'll do my best to write a review on this product because there really isn't much to say.

    Effectiveness: It worked decent I guess, I used it at school to just get good protein in throughout the day. I take a shake every day at school (along with my food I bring) and whenever I finish a different type of protein I always buy a different one to see which ones I like and work well as far as keeping me full and the taste. So with that being said this actually did keep me nice and full but I think the fat content in it kind of attributed to that so it wasn't necessarily a "good...
    I'll do my best to write a review on this product because there really isn't much to say.

    Effectiveness: It worked decent I guess, I used it at school to just get good protein in throughout the day. I take a shake every day at school (along with my food I bring) and whenever I finish a different type of protein I always buy a different one to see which ones I like and work well as far as keeping me full and the taste. So with that being said this actually did keep me nice and full but I think the fat content in it kind of attributed to that so it wasn't necessarily a "good full" in my opinion. I beileve it had about 3 grams of fat per serving which was only 20 grams of protein so not real lean. But per serving it had 22.5 grams of aminos with 4.5 grams of Leucine and 3.5 grams of Glutamine so I guess that was one of the few upsides, the other upside was tatse.

    Taste: Now this was without a doubt the best part of this protein. The chocolate flavor with water was great! And I'm typically very very picky when it comes to chocolate or vanilla flavored proteins and usually I have to use milk to make it taste decent, but with this it tasted great! It went down very smooth and left no funky after taste like some others have done to me. Also I wasn't burping the flavor later on in the day.

    Mixability: Mixing was odd, because I always used a blender bottle with 12 ounces of water each time but sometimes it just refused to mix and other times it just took a few quick shakes and it was perfect. So mixing was kind of hit and miss, and if I tried to drink it without fully mixing I would gag.

    Value: I got 2 bags each with 12 servings and I bought one got the 2nd one 40% off so value was decent 24 servings for 31 bucks I believe. But with the other proteins I've purchased I certainly won't be buying this again.

    Bottom line: I know this isn't a great review but this wasn't a great product and there really wasnt much I could say about this other than it tasted good.
     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Smooth

      COMMENTS (3)

      • I3CAA
        (+61)
        Trust: 63%
        November 28, 2010

        NIce Review man:-)
      • lou76
        (-2)
        Trust: 3%
        November 28, 2010

        I thought it was a good review. keep up the good work :)
      • Dustybouray
        (-1)
        Trust: 0%
        November 28, 2010

        Are you on crack? Taste good? you must have never brushed your teeth and like a dogs butt regurarly


       

      this is a mediocre protein. I would recommend. It is gnc brand and their taste just isn't up to par with other proteins.

      One thing I will credit this protein for is how well it mixes. It literally disolves in milk no problem.

      Gains: I don't know how to gauge protein in regards to gains, I never see a difference so I go for bcaa content and taste when it comes to whey, this is lacking in both.

      Overall: decent product but I would recommend some better proteins out there.
      this is a mediocre protein. I would recommend. It is gnc brand and their taste just isn't up to par with other proteins.

      One thing I will credit this protein for is how well it mixes. It literally disolves in milk no problem.

      Gains: I don't know how to gauge protein in regards to gains, I never see a difference so I go for bcaa content and taste when it comes to whey, this is lacking in both.

      Overall: decent product but I would recommend some better proteins out there.
       Pros:
       Cons:
      • Builds Muscle
      • Good Value
      • Smooth
      • Good Recovery Time
      • Good Mixability
         

        Ive tried a couple of other whey proteins before and this supplement is definetly up there because of its results, but the most expensive out of all. i definetly love the taste of chocolate and although it was a little thicker, its taste made it taste like a milkshake. i definetly recomend this to you guys, just try to get it on sale.
        Ive tried a couple of other whey proteins before and this supplement is definetly up there because of its results, but the most expensive out of all. i definetly love the taste of chocolate and although it was a little thicker, its taste made it taste like a milkshake. i definetly recomend this to you guys, just try to get it on sale.
         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Builds Mucles Very Fast
        • Good Value
        • Smooth
           

          Goodness gracious. What a god aweful smell this has to it. I bought it because i ran out of MyoFusion and needed some protein to get me through the week. I went to GNC they gave it to me for $17.99 for 24 servings. Don't think I'll ever go into another GNC store b/c they suck. The vanilla flavor taste an smell is comparable to horse shiit. Even more than that it's laggin in the protein...
          Goodness gracious. What a god aweful smell this has to it. I bought it because i ran out of MyoFusion and needed some protein to get me through the week. I went to GNC they gave it to me for $17.99 for 24 servings. Don't think I'll ever go into another GNC store b/c they suck. The vanilla flavor taste an smell is comparable to horse shiit. Even more than that it's laggin in the protein department w/ only 20 g per serv. It claims to have Leucine and Glutamine. I didn't notice any improved recovery though. More important than taste is results and efectiveness. I didn't notice any increased muscle, recovery, muscle hardness. I have to say GNC has 2 good products being GNC AMP XXX and GNC Wheyabolic Extreme. Spend a little more for one of those if you like GNC depending on your goals.
           Pros:
           Cons:
          • Get To Help Gnc Guy Make Commissions.
          • Smells Horible

          COMMENTS (6)

          • krim
            (+156)
            Trust: 100%
            September 19, 2010

            Eh, it's only 2.5g of glutamine and 1.24g of leucine, and a blend of different wheys. You bought the bag one?
          • SnIpEz
            (+3)
            Trust: 0%
            September 19, 2010

            Sick review dude! Scared me for a second until I saw you also liked the Wheybolic. This was one of the first supps I ever tried, before the AMP series came out and I also hated it. It is indeed comparable to horse *** haha. I use the AMP Wheybolic 60 and I'm quite liking that though now I wanna try that MyoFusion. Any reccommended flavors for it?
          • kubitzky10
            (+456)
            Trust: 10%
            September 19, 2010

            Chocolate is the only myofusion flavor i have, and i love it. It taste better than syntha 6, and its ingredients are way better!!
          • taysab23
            (+596)
            Trust: 100%
            September 19, 2010

            Vanilla for myofusion was good too.. never got bored of it. Tasted good evrytime i took it lol
          • kubitzky10
            (+456)
            Trust: 10%
            September 19, 2010

            Same here bro...never gets old...i kinda wanna try hydrowhey by ON but don't wanna fork out all the money.
          • Aminonut
            (-5)
            Trust: 0%
            September 20, 2010

            I work at GNC and we don't get commission off this product lol.


           

          ok,I too got this when it was marked down, I have van and strawberry... I gota say this 1st, i did see increased energy and better recovery time,also my muscle did feel solid days after my work outs, so the product indeed does work...but to me, it is just nasty tasting, it makes me feel a lilltle ill... It mixes up and disolves well, but the taste is just awful
          ok,I too got this when it was marked down, I have van and strawberry... I gota say this 1st, i did see increased energy and better recovery time,also my muscle did feel solid days after my work outs, so the product indeed does work...but to me, it is just nasty tasting, it makes me feel a lilltle ill... It mixes up and disolves well, but the taste is just awful
           Pros:
           Cons:
          • Good Recovery Time
          • Builds Muscle

            COMMENTS (1)

            • Kicka
              (+12)
              Trust: 36%
              January 4, 2011

              I eneded up returning this product cuz I wana puke every time I drank it


             

            this really does suck....i would end my review here, but that would not be saying enough lol..

            but i payed lyke, a buttload for this just because the GNC lady kept sayng "o o you should get amp whey becuse its whey protein and has 60 grams". but she made it sound so great that i bought it! (idk why)

            little to my knowledge, yes it was 60 grams protein per serving, bbut 1 serving is THREE scoops unlike the usual 2 scoops..so actually...
            this really does suck....i would end my review here, but that would not be saying enough lol..

            but i payed lyke, a buttload for this just because the GNC lady kept sayng "o o you should get amp whey becuse its whey protein and has 60 grams". but she made it sound so great that i bought it! (idk why)

            little to my knowledge, yes it was 60 grams protein per serving, bbut 1 serving is THREE scoops unlike the usual 2 scoops..so actually its more lyke 20 grams protein per scoop with alot of unwanted stuff, yet its supposed to be a whey protein but idk...

            it doesnt taste good at all...
            .and it felt like after i drank it , it would sit at the top of my throat...then sit in the bottom of my stomach lol..and it says its moslty isolate..but it taste like concentrate

            i cant really judge on the wieght gain and recovery on this product, because i honetsly took this back before i used half of it and that little amounts protein is not really enough for me to judge it on anything other than taste and digestion.

            its not lyke i un recommend this product (if thats even a word) but if you can get over the nasty taste, horrible gas, and mudlike mixing, go for it lol..but im not lol
             Pros:
             Cons:
            • Smells Horible
            • Price
            • Get To Help Gnc Guy Make Commissions.

            COMMENTS (4)

            • everlastlift
              (+96)
              Trust: 100%
              December 13, 2010

              Just for future reference, In order to properly write a review on this site you need to finish the product first.
            • GTpro900
              (+101)
              Trust: 100%
              December 13, 2010

              I think you either bought the wrong product or reviewed the wrong product. The GNC Wheyabolic 60 is the isolate version in which you should be taking 3 scoops to get 60 grams of Protein. The Amplified Whey protein is just whey protein concentrate, for this product you should not take three scoops because 3 scoops of non-isolate protein will give you gas and is not advised.
            • joe651dzd
              (+102)
              Trust: 100%
              December 13, 2010

              Yea man this stuff is in the twenty's. the wheybolic extreme 60 is the sixty gram per serving one
            • joshblue32
              (+64)
              Trust: 98%
              December 13, 2010

              AHHH CRAP....i reviewed the totally wrong product!!!

              @everlastlift, i know, youre supposed to do a review after a full bottle, but in my reivew i stated that i didnt fully use it and that it was based on taste..but yea, you are still right though

              and yeahhh i meant wheybolic 60...ima try to delete this review if possible


             

            Gonna keep this short.

            Pros: Its protein?
            Cons: Taste, Smell, Price, Gave me bad gas and stomach upsets.

            In short, GNC sucks.
            Gonna keep this short.

            Pros: Its protein?
            Cons: Taste, Smell, Price, Gave me bad gas and stomach upsets.

            In short, GNC sucks.
             Pros:
             Cons:
            • Smells Horible
            • Price
            • Get To Help Gnc Guy Make Commissions.

            COMMENTS (1)

            • deeja
              (+408)
              Trust: 100%
              October 2, 2010

              I really liked the taste of this stuff


             

            I went into GNC looking for a pill dispenser and found this protein on sale for $12 because it was a month away from the expiration date. I bought the strawberry flavor since it was the only one left.

            Serving: The directions states to take 2 scoops for 40 grams of protein. I took it for extreme results as the directions say, one serving (2 scoops) before working out and one serving after working out. The scoop was at least twice the size of an average protein scoop.

            Mixability: For the amount of protein powder...
            I went into GNC looking for a pill dispenser and found this protein on sale for $12 because it was a month away from the expiration date. I bought the strawberry flavor since it was the only one left.

            Serving: The directions states to take 2 scoops for 40 grams of protein. I took it for extreme results as the directions say, one serving (2 scoops) before working out and one serving after working out. The scoop was at least twice the size of an average protein scoop.

            Mixability: For the amount of protein powder it actually mixed very well. I had to shake it maybe an extra 20 to 30 seconds but not a big deal for the amount. Once it mixed it was fully dissolved and went down easy without any clumps.

            Taste: Strawberry was horrible. I had to literally chug this thing every time. I am not the kind of person to actually enjoy the flavor of my supplements. If it works then I'll deal with it, but this was terrible. I even thought about just stop taking it because of the flavor. After about 6-7 servings I got used to it and it was blah, but never enjoyed it.


            Effectiveness: This was actually very good protein. I went up in weight in my chest workout and i thought the next day I was going to be very sore, but I was not sore at all. I can not give all the credit to AMP, since I was also taking MBCAA and I have been taking sci fit creatine and glutamine. I have to say if it wasn't for the price I would probably do another tub, but $50 for protein is a lot of money.

            Value: The Original price is $50 and I got 15 servings from the tub. That is about $3.30 per serving. That is a lot per serving compared to aftershock which also gave me great results. ($2 per serving)

            Overall: Good protein, great recovery and great gains but the taste was horrible. I got used to the taste but the price is the major factor of not buying this protein again unless I find it on sale again. I gave it an overall of 7 because although it was effective, how effective can it be sitting on a shelf since I can not afford to buy it? If it was about $30 for the tub, I would consider it for my bulk but not with such a great product as aftershock out there for cheaper.
             Pros:
             Cons:
            • Builds Muscle
            • Good Mixability
            • Density
            • Good Recovery Time
               

              I take this as my post work out. It's perfect for what I need. It's a Pure Whey isolate with added hydrolyzed whey. It has ten grams of glutamine and 8 grams of micronized aminos added to it. It's great for recovery. I'm reasonable about what I expect from protein. I don't expect massive strength gains or size quickly. I expect solid products to fuel...
              I take this as my post work out. It's perfect for what I need. It's a Pure Whey isolate with added hydrolyzed whey. It has ten grams of glutamine and 8 grams of micronized aminos added to it. It's great for recovery. I'm reasonable about what I expect from protein. I don't expect massive strength gains or size quickly. I expect solid products to fuel results acquired through hard work and a good diet. I'm not sore and it gives my muscles what they need to grow and repair.
               Pros:
               Cons:
              • Builds Muscle
              • Smooth
                Copyright © 2014 SupplementReviews.com. All rights reserved.