Sign In

Remember Me
        


Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum

  

AMP Amplified Mass XXX Reviews

By: GNC



PRODUCT RATING

Overall Score   How is this Calculated?

7.8
13

Ranks #10 of 23 (better than 59%) in
Protein > Weight Gainers


SHOW MORE  
ABOUT
AMP Amplified Mass XXX is a Weight Gainer manufactured by GNC. It is a protein based supplement that has additional calories from carbohydrates and fats. It is meant to add additional calories for the body in order to assist with weight and muscle mass gain.
INGREDIENTS (11)
THIS PRODUCT
 
  3.0g
CATEGORY AVG
 
  3.0g

Active metabolite of choline that increases power output and strength, decreases soreness, and supports creatine production in the body.

THIS PRODUCT
(Amount not disclosed)

Amino acid that boosts Nitric Oxide (NO) levels in the body and may also help increase muscle mass and Growth Hormone (GH) secretion.


SHOW MORE  
QUESTIONS + ANSWERS (151)
PROS/CONS
STACKS WELL WITH
COMPARE SIMILAR
PRODUCT LABEL
BRAND HEALTH

Reviews:



shaan
Rep: +3
Trust: 0%
  May 4, 2013


Discovered SR Online searching for AMP MASS XXX reviews. I wanted to give praise and request Sucralose be removed from the product. I tried a few others but this has more than just protein so makes sense to gain mass targeting all caloric areas.

I've gone through one jug as recommended in 13 day dosage of 4 scoops and gained a solid 20 pounds in combination with larger meals. Seriously - I went HAM for real.

This gain is due to my intermittent fast prior for about a few months - so @ 6'3" and 165lbs after the fast I jumped to 185lbs with heavy low reps first in the day and lighter weight large reps in the follow ups daily with Sat & Sun rest.

I have always maintained some form of work out even during my fasting periods. I expected these results but didn't expect it if you know what I mean. I am a heavy determination type and set my mind on massing up. Saved one scoop for bed time to get that slow motabo swell.

I am lean as ever, so, no fat results. I only wanted to comment because I am big anti-Sucralose proponent and noticed headaches because of this. I bought the product and didn't notice Sucralose until later and still took it as I know Sucralose wont kill you, it will give you headaches though and I haven't had one for umpteen years because I steer clear of synthetic sugars.

The product improvement would be of course the Sucralose removal as I only know of that as of now. I will not use again unless that is removed. I was referred by a GNC Employee to gain mass fast with this product.

Chocolate tastes pretty good considering it was the only one left as people bought all the vanilla. But, it was probably good due to the Sucralose. I ate and drank it with regular R/O water for the most part right after work outs. Definite notice-ability in growth and strength with little soreness the days after.

Definitely an amazing product, I did recommend for others because others may not be as sugar synthetic selective as I am as it does the trick it is advertising.

However, please remove Sucralose. I'd probably stick with this for the price and buy one get one 1/2 off deal later if they remove it.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Great Amount Of Protein And Quality Carbs!
  • Bad Headache
  • Small Quantity
  • Sucralose Caused Headache
Khatsalano
Rep: +3
Trust: 0%
  July 29, 2012


I'm a P90X fitness enthusiast who works out 6 out of 7 days a week, doing a variety of resistance weight training, cardio and yoga. I also am an avid kayaker, hiker, and golfer. I walk with my dogs for 30 minutes a day on top of that at a "NY" pace here in California. My goal for using this product was to help me recover from intense activity and to build lean muscle while keeping fat off the body.

I've always had trouble gaining weight. I'm 34 years-old at 5'10 and was about 166 lbs (before Amp Mass XXX). I am about 169-170 lbs now after two tubs and the product is working as intended. My target weight is 170lbs so this is helping me build and maintain.

To truly gain mass, you have to "over" eat a lot. My target caloric intake is 2,600 a day with a typical workout built-in. So, to gain weight, I would have to eat probably 3,000 plus. I use the Amp Mass as a supplement to my food and I am happy with my results. If I can eat 2100-2600 cals of healthy vegetables, lean proteins, and good grains, and supplement with an Amp Mass Shake, I'm hitting my caloric goals.

I mix the chocolate flavor, using 2 scoops with 1 cup of Lactaid skim milk for a nice 500 calorie boost to my diet. You don't have to take a 4-scoop portion as recommended. I would, however, highly recommend using a blender to make the texture foamy and delicious. I am not sure how anyone can take 50g of protein in one shot since your body can't absorb it so I would vote to spread it out if you are taking 4 scoops a day.

I am lactose intolerant but the whey protein is posing no problems for me as long as I drop in two lactase enzyme pills. With a blender, it gets so evenly distributed it gives me no digestive trouble at all which is surprising. Seriously, toast and butter gets my stomach stirring normally.

If I had a particularly active day, I'll make two shakes-- one right after my workout and usually one 1.5 hours after dinner as my dessert. Yup, this stuff tastes like a wonderful chocolate milkshake so it's great for that dessert slot since I've severely limited sweets in my diet.

The creatine works well but you have to work hard too. I find that it does give me a modest energy boost while working out and does help me up my weight by a plate or a dumbbell increment. Still, you have to work hard to get the results you want.

A side effect of creatine for my body, is a significant increase in water needs. I find that creatine is almost like alcohol-style dehydrating to me (not that I drink regularly at all!). The 1.5-3g's of that built-in creatine mix a day is dehydrating and you must follow up with lots of water intake.

But hey, drinking lots of water is good for you anyway. I don't like how it causes me to always wake up with a full bladder and feeling thirsty in the morning though, but it's a trade-off I am consciously making. By not drinking more water right before bed, I avoid waking up for the bathroom in the middle of the night so I get better sleep quality.

As far as cost goes, it is pretty on-par with other products and about same per-glass as a pre-packaged Muscle Milk. So it's not cheap, basically. My advice is to get a gold card (you basically save than the cost of membership on the first tub anyway minus fifteen cents). Then, buy from GNC in the first week of the month during Gold Card week. Combine this with their buy one get a second item half off promo and it because very affordable.

Enjoy and work hard!
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Increase Water Intake Needs
swimchamp253
Rep: +50
Trust: 85%
  May 4, 2012


First ever review, so here it goes!

This product was recommended to me after I had a 3 week bout of pneumonia. I had lost 15 pounds in this time, and a large amount of stregnth.

Value: I gave this product a 7 because it is way to expensive if you are buying one at a time, but the friend who turned me onto this product gave me his gold card to use, so whenever i bought this, i bought it in bulk.

Taste: I personally love how AMP MASS XXX tasted. When mixed in 16 oz. of milk its exactly like a milkshake. I only buy chocolate flavored proteins though (safety flavor).

Effectiveness: This is where the product really blew me away. I was down to 125 at the end of my illness, as well as dropping down to embaressing amounts of weight in all of my lifts. I took 1 and 1/2 servings of XXX per day, 3 scoops after a workout (3/4 serving), and then the same amount before bed. Along with that, I was doing a full body workout every other day in the gym, and then some tennis on the off days. After 2 months I was back up to 145 pounds and had surpassed all of my previous lifts. I know this sounds like a lot but keep in mind that I was a 16 year old teenager who ate like crazy and had lost a lot due to sickness. Now 2 years later, I am up to 165 and using 100% Gold Standard daily (review coming soon ;)).

Bottom line is that this product helped me to gain back everything I had lost and them some, as well as my confidence. This was my first real supplement, and I will always go back to it when I need to gain weight.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Too Expensive
gp2310
Rep: +6
Trust: 0%
  August 29, 2011


Let me start by saying that this is the one product that no matter how well it works it is not worth buying again. It is so expensive for not enough servings and only decent results.

Taste(6/10)- Its not the worst protein i have ever tasted but it definately isnt something that you would sip to keep the taste in your mouth.

Mixability(4/10)- It dosnt mix well at all. I would blend it with a couple ice cubs and water and after about a solid minute of blending i could still feel huge chunks of powder in my mouth when i drank it.

Effectiveness(7/10)- It did manage to give me about 3 pounds of MASS and did make me feel a little bit stronger and not as sore the next day.

Value(5/10)- For a protein with as many cons as this one has the value was never going to be good. When you factor the huge price tag on top of the slightly above average effectivness and the poor taste and mixability it makes this a protein i will never buy again.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Small Strength Gain
  • Minor Size Increase
  • Too Expensive
  • Taste Horrible!
  • Bloating
  • Small Quantity
  • Too Thick
edoane
Rep: +3
Trust: 0%
  August 23, 2011


Bought this stuff at the beginning of the summer and all i can say is that i'm fairly impressed with it, mainly because it helped me bulk up by gaining muscle and some extra fat slowly and overtime.

The product recommends taking two shakes daily but i personally feel that that's a little too much, so i just took one a day after my workout. On the few days i took the stuff twice a day (just to try it) i took a shake before i went to bed and felt really energized the next morning at the gym.

Effectivness 9/10: This product does exactly what it says it does...gain MASS which is good for someone like me who has a superfast metabolism and has trouble gaining weight. Also for only taking one shake a day it still was fairly effective at gaining MASS

Value- I was pretty lucky and got a really good deal on the product at GNC through a promotion deal and got like a buy one get one half off sale. Because of this i was say i would give this a 10 for value because of its effectiveness. On the other hand it would be pretty expensive at full price so i wouldnt recommend buying it unless you get a good deal on it.

Results- i started off this summer in June, going to the gym 5 days a week and it is now the end of August (Total time of about 3 months). I started at 170lbs doing 135lb bench press for 5 reps and now have a 215 max. I gained a total of about 9lbs of muscle(Amazing considering you can only gain about 15lbs a year) and about 10lbs of fat(which is ok because thats what i wanted). This was all in 3 months!!! I'm very impressed and would personally recommend this to anyone looking to bulk.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Great Amount Of Protein And Quality Carbs!
  • Too Expensive
  • Too Thick
Dmarsh10
Rep: +11
Trust: 11%
  July 30, 2011


I went through 3 tubs of this during the spring/summer leading up too my junior year in high school. There were parts of this product that i though were very good and others that seemed to lack in comparison.

Taste(9/10)-I took two tubs of the chocolate and finished off with one of the cookies and cream. the first tub of chocolate was fantastic, but towards the end of the second one i began to get tired of the taste so i switched to cookies and cream which IMO was better than chocolate to begin with.

Mix-ability(8/10)-The powder mixes fine, the solution is just extremely thick with 4 scoops and the recommended amount of milk.

Effectiveness(9/10)-When i began taking this product i weighed about 160 and by the time i had finished 3 tubs i was 180. During this time i also increased my caloric intake just as anyone on a bulk would do. A full serving of this has 1000 calories if you mix it with milk like i did. i found it hard to handle the full 4 scoop serving size, so i took 2 scoops immediately following workout, and 2 scoops right before bed. over this time i noticed sufficient gains in strength as well as size. I was lifting 4x a week on a strength and speed building program for football. I believe the way i was able to keep my bulk lean was the amount of cardio i did while on this product, i would do my weight training/football cardio in the early morning and more cardio in the afternoon heat. as far as the creatine goes for this product, i didn't feel much of anything. I'm not sure of the quality of this creatine but the standard MASS XXX is exactly the same as this product minus the creatine and that you can almost always get the standard version on sale or buy one get one half off since this product came out. if i had to do it over again, i would purchase the standard MASS xxx and buy some Kre-Alkalyn to stack. There is also some odd claim on the packaging that taking this "amplifies" your sets so that you'll get the benefits of doing 5 sets when only completing 3. I think ill call BS on that one, just another promotional gimmick IMO.

Value(7/10)-looking back it seems silly to pay extra for the 3 mysterious grams of creatine per serving in the amplified product. However, this product will help you gain size and strength so its value is still pretty good.

Overall i give this product an (8/10) because it worked great for me in gaining size and strength, had zero side effects, and tasted fantastic. I just feel like if i were to do it again, there are more cost efficient ways to get the same results.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Too Expensive
leatherneck3
Rep: +3
Trust: 0%
  June 27, 2011


My first review so bare with me.

I am about 5'8. When I first started taking this product I weighed in at 154. I have been using this gainer for about two weeks now and I have already put on about 6 pounds! that is great for me considering I went through an entire bag of Serious MASS and did not gain a pound from it.

I am definitely a hard gainer. I have tried countless amount of different diets and proteins but nothing has seemed to work as well as this gainer.

I have been taking 2 scoops in the morning and two after my lift, I use a shaker bottle with that metal ball in it, it breaks down really nice and easy to drink.

Over all I am very pleased with this product. It has been putting weight on me which is very difficult for me to do even with me eating like a cow, I usually eat a lot of meat and pasta.

The only two complaints i have about this is the Price, im in college so im broke all year long and its a b***h buying products like this. and Two i have always had a nice set of abs but since using this im getting a little chubby, but i really dont mind because it is doing its job, putting weight on me.

For any one trying to gain weight and lifts hard on a regular basis this is a GREAT product and you should give it a try, see how it works out for you.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Great Amount Of Protein And Quality Carbs!
  • Too Expensive
  • Loss Of Muscle Definition
power22
Rep: +25
Trust: 52%
  April 8, 2011


Alright, lets see what we got.

I went out and bought a 6lb container of this and wheybolic 60 during gold card week at paid 67 for both I think. I ran two tubs of it to make sure i got all the effects. Though it should be taken with breaks since it is pretty hard on your liver.

Mixability-9/10- The poweder isnt micronized like wheybolic so it takes a little extra shaking, i used a blender ball bottle and that helped greatly. This stuff is really thick too, i liked that since it filled me up also. Thered be a few small pieces left if shaken well.

Taste-10/10- This stuff was really yummy with milk. I did the chocolate. 3 scoops at breakfast with 14 oz milk and the same after my workout.

Strength increase-7.5/10- Im not too big on the claimed increases but while using this i did notice decent strength gains in all workouts, more steady than just with my bulk diet.

Mass-8/10- I gained a good 7 lbs in about 3 months while using this, most of the size being in my chest, back, and shoulders. Though some size was added to my thighs. I did get a little bit of extra fat along with it though, so your defitnition decreases.

Overall- Id recommend this to anyone who is looking to get a little more MASS over even add calories to your diet. IT tastes great and you get decent results.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Loss Of Muscle Definition
TjClacher
Rep: +7
Trust: 0%
  March 23, 2011


I am in the process of trying to put on weight and build muscle (I weigh about 150) so the guy at GNC pushed me into trying this stuff claiming it is the best for what I wanted. First, it was pricey but I figured if I wanted good results I had to pay good money so I had no problem paying for it.

The serving size on the back says take 4 scoops. DO NOT TRY THIS. This stuff is super thick and rich. I literally had to battle to drink it (mixed with milk). I found out it was a lot easier doing 1 scoop at a time, 4 times a day. I actually enjoyed the taste once I did one scoop so I had no problem crushing the tubs fast. If you take it properly the tub will only last you about 2 weeks.

The results were okay at best. I gained a few pounds on it but nothing i'd hope for the amount of work and money I put into it. Spending $50 every 2-3 weeks is not fun when you're a college student. I still gave it a 6 overall and 6 effectiveness. I have heard people have seen good results from it but their body type must be a whole lot different than mine. I came to found out that 100% Whey Protein was the best route for me to go. XXX Mass doesn't have enough protein in it for the results I wanted.

Another thing you gotta be careful of is this thing will make you bloated and ready to hit the bathroom after 20 minutes. I've heard taking it with water and you won't have this problem, but a big part for me taking supplements and sticking to them and is not minding the taste.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Strength
  • Ok Taste
  • Too Expensive
  • Bloating
  • Small Quantity
  • Too Thick
shinndigg
Rep: +1,197
Trust: 100%

  December 30, 2010


This was the first mass gainer that I had ever taken. I had good success with the AMP Wheybolic Extreme 60 from GNC, so I decided to give it a shot with the AMP Mass XXX. And just like with the AMP Wheybolic, I was not disappointed with this product. In the end, I ended up going through several tubs of this stuff and went from 175 lbs to 181 lbs in a little over 2 months. I saw my bench press go up a total of 25 lbs over that time, and squats about 30 lbs. This product made getting my daily calories total, which at the time was around 3400, a lot easier. It sucks to have to eat that much food throughout the day sometimes, so this was a welcomed addition to my arsenal.

I took a 3 scoop serving for breakfast, and a 3 scoop serving after my workout. I had the cookies and creme flavor, and it was addictively delicious to me. Easily the best tasting protein powder I have ever taken. I would fight the urge to mix up another batch just as a snack! It didn't mix up the best in a shaker cup, and often times just mixing it up was a workout in and of itself. I did not have access to a blender as I was deployed in Iraq, but I'm sure for future reference it would be the best route to go.

The nutritional profile on this was decent, I was kind of skeptical at first due to it's use of whey protein concentrate as the primary protein source, and soy protein isolate. But for me the results that I had were enough evidence to me that something in it was working. The only other supplements I was taking were a mutli and Fish Oil, Jack3d, and ON 100% Casein before bed. So I'm a believer that this product works.

I was very pleased with this product and would definitely recommend, cheers!
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gain Mass
  • Gain Strength
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good!!
  • Great Amount Of Protein And Quality Carbs!
  • Hard To Mix Up



Sign up for our newsletter

Copyright © 2015 SupplementReviews.com. All rights reserved. All trademarks are property of their respective owners.