Sign In

Remember Me
        

Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum

  

Monster Mass

  By: Cytosport

 

After completing 2 tubs of Monster Mass I felt I should write a review.

Taste 10/10: I bought the chocolate flavor which tastes really good. I never experienced any chunks. It mixes really well with a few shakes in a shaker cup. I never blended it.

Effectiveness: Very effective for a gainer. I've gained over 16 pounds off this. I'm currently at 186lbs. Very very little of this has been fat. Mostly lean muscle. People might be hesitant about it because of the amount of fat per serving (18g).

Value: It's...
After completing 2 tubs of Monster Mass I felt I should write a review.

Taste 10/10: I bought the chocolate flavor which tastes really good. I never experienced any chunks. It mixes really well with a few shakes in a shaker cup. I never blended it.

Effectiveness: Very effective for a gainer. I've gained over 16 pounds off this. I'm currently at 186lbs. Very very little of this has been fat. Mostly lean muscle. People might be hesitant about it because of the amount of fat per serving (18g).

Value: It's a bit pricy if you go to GNC or Vitamin Shoppe. Online has better deals. I have been really happy with this gainer. Just ordered another tub (strawberries n cream) before I go on a cut. Hope this helps.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Increased Energy
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
  • Great Before Bed!
  • Tastes Great!

    COMMENTS (6)

    • Lorenz0
      (+247)
      Trust: 100%
      December 14, 2010

      Bro $25 at tfsupplements.com.. pretty good deal i'm sure much better than gnc.
    • SmashPlates1
      (+6)
      Trust: 11%
      December 14, 2010

      That's a good deal. I got mine for roughly $30. Thanks bro.
    • PatCrizack
      (+5)
      Trust: 0%
      December 14, 2010

      I've purchased the entire Monster series (Milk, Pump, Maize, Amino) except this, now my question is, when would you take this? Is this a replacement for the Monster Milk?
    • SmashPlates1
      (+6)
      Trust: 11%
      December 14, 2010

      I would take monster mass with breakfast, after workouts, and right before bed. I would consume 3 shakes a day regardless. I actually just bought another 3 tubs of the stuff. I have gained very little fat from this stuff. Awesome product. Just finishing up a strawberries and cream flavor. Not as good as chocolate! : )
    • SmashPlates1
      (+6)
      Trust: 11%
      December 14, 2010

      Also Patcrizack, Pick up a tub of Glycomaize! I add this to my shakes. It's cheap also for a tub. Check it out. Peace.
    • ashiqtaher
      (0)
      Trust: 0%
      December 15, 2010

      So you've had some good gains mate, but how often do you take it and how many scoops?


    SDsurfer
    (+4)
    Trust: 0%
     

    Protein-->
    this powder has a mix of fast acting whey and slow acting casein which helps keep me anabolic all day as long as I take at least 2 servings a few hours apart. This also comes complete with a EAA mix so skeletal muscle does receive some extra post workout support. 50g per serving

    Fat/Carbs-->
    there is a large amount of carbs which are concentrated in each serving along with some saturated fat :-(. This may not be an ideal mix for someone looking to lean up or body build, but it works great for someone looking for a meal...
    Protein-->
    this powder has a mix of fast acting whey and slow acting casein which helps keep me anabolic all day as long as I take at least 2 servings a few hours apart. This also comes complete with a EAA mix so skeletal muscle does receive some extra post workout support. 50g per serving

    Fat/Carbs-->
    there is a large amount of carbs which are concentrated in each serving along with some saturated fat :-(. This may not be an ideal mix for someone looking to lean up or body build, but it works great for someone looking for a
    meal replacement shake or something that offers carbs for energy

    Meal Replacement-->
    I usually need to wake up around 530 or 6 to paddle out before work and if I'm running late this mixed with some fruit and non fat or low fat milk and perhaps some greek yogurt serves as an excellent quick meal that gives me FUEL TO SHREDDDD

    Taste-->
    the taste is GREAT. Anybody who says otherwise has not shopped the protein competition. Strawberrys n Creme is the best tasting protein Ive ever had. Or perhaps the Strawberry Milkshake flavor, but that only comes in the Muscle Milk Collegiate blend which has slightly less protein and much more carbs
     Pros:
     Cons:
    • Tastes Great!
    • Increased Energy
    • Builds Muscle
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer

      COMMENTS (2)

      • deeja
        (+408)
        Trust: 100%
        July 23, 2010

        Im halfway through a tub of this....What flavor did you get?
      • deeja
        (+408)
        Trust: 100%
        July 23, 2010

        Oh oops...didnt read the end...ill try strawberry next time


       

      I was using Monster Mass 3 days a week with 1hr workouts each day.
      When on it I gained 5lbs in 3 months..
      Now I am using it every day post-workout and have gained 5lbs in 1 month.

      So I see the more I use it the better it works (of course).

      I really like it, it tastes GREAT in chocolate.

      My only problem is that sometimes I will get a bad stomach ache afterward.
      I was using Monster Mass 3 days a week with 1hr workouts each day.
      When on it I gained 5lbs in 3 months..
      Now I am using it every day post-workout and have gained 5lbs in 1 month.

      So I see the more I use it the better it works (of course).

      I really like it, it tastes GREAT in chocolate.

      My only problem is that sometimes I will get a bad stomach ache afterward.
       Pros:
       Cons:
      • Increased Energy
      • Builds Muscle
      • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
         

        i took monster mass because it was one of the few mass builders that didn't contain creatine. i went through 4 tubs of this and i did gain 7-8 pounds, 3-4 pounds of it muscle. the chocolate flavor is pretty good but a little chalky tasting. i would say if you have a sensitive stomach, DONT BUY THIS. my stomach is somewhat sensitive and i always had gas right after taking this. the recovery isnt that great either. i would still be very sore almost as if the protein is cheap. if you do end up buying this product, take it after workouts only otherwise you will run out very quicky....
        i took monster mass because it was one of the few mass builders that didn't contain creatine. i went through 4 tubs of this and i did gain 7-8 pounds, 3-4 pounds of it muscle. the chocolate flavor is pretty good but a little chalky tasting. i would say if you have a sensitive stomach, DONT BUY THIS. my stomach is somewhat sensitive and i always had gas right after taking this. the recovery isnt that great either. i would still be very sore almost as if the protein is cheap. if you do end up buying this product, take it after workouts only otherwise you will run out very quicky. if you want a supplement that has great recovery and gain lean muscle with hard work, i recommend gold standard protein. i take it once a day everyday and it is the best recovery for protein i've ever experienced.
         Pros:
         Cons:
        • Builds Muscle
        • Tastes Pretty Good If You Can Get Around The Chunks

          COMMENTS (1)

          • Rahull001
            (0)
            Trust: 0%
            June 25, 2012

            Did you take this stuff on your off days if so did you only take two scoops


           

          The only thing that is stopping me from giving this a good rating is because of the fat content in this stuff its way to high. Other than that though this stuff does what its supposed to, gain muscle and gain weight. I think you would be better off going with monster milk though because the fat content is lower and that only takes 2 scoops to get to 50 grams this takes 4
          The only thing that is stopping me from giving this a good rating is because of the fat content in this stuff its way to high. Other than that though this stuff does what its supposed to, gain muscle and gain weight. I think you would be better off going with monster milk though because the fat content is lower and that only takes 2 scoops to get to 50 grams this takes 4
           Pros:
           Cons:
          • Builds Muscle
          • Tastes Great!

            COMMENTS (1)

            • Sal
              (+68)
              Trust: 100%
              December 17, 2011

              This is just me, I just always thought "gainers" were for poeple with really fast metabolizims? I stand to be corrected soon- just know it. Hoever I understand your beef with 4 scoops compared to 2 scoops of regular Muscle Milk.


             

            I just finished a container of this and here is my review.

            Taste: Is very very good I got the chocolate and oh dear it was good so i'm going to give chocolate taste 9/10

            Mix: It's a little hard mixing it in a shaker so I would definitely use a blender 8/10

            Now lets talkt about what the products can do for you.
            This product is loaded with BCAA wich is good and glutamine also is good.
            I Gained muscles yes and I...
            I just finished a container of this and here is my review.

            Taste: Is very very good I got the chocolate and oh dear it was good so i'm going to give chocolate taste 9/10

            Mix: It's a little hard mixing it in a shaker so I would definitely use a blender 8/10

            Now lets talkt about what the products can do for you.
            This product is loaded with BCAA wich is good and glutamine also is good.
            I Gained muscles yes and I gained strength.
            Take it twice a day: before your workout like 1 and half hour and take it immediately
            after your wokrout to get good results.

            So overall I will give this product 8.9/10
             Pros:
             Cons:
            • Increased Energy
            • Builds Muscle
            • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
            • Great Before Bed!
            • Tastes Great!

              COMMENTS (2)

              • BigWill93
                (+1)
                Trust: 0%
                December 5, 2010

                Did you take 4 scoups before and after?
              • JohnnyBoj
                (+3)
                Trust: 0%
                December 5, 2010

                No that's a bit to much for my stomach to handle.
                I took sometimes 2 before and 2 after I usuall took monster pump before workout and then 4 scoops of monster mass after but if u can handle 4 scoops before and 4 scoops after then do it.


              bsfwarrior
              (+57)
              Trust: 85%
               

              great product. i gave it value a 10 beacuase i got each bin for $30. mixes will in a shaker cup no chuncks of undissolved powder. took this while i was on a ph taking 3 full shakes a day i still take it i dont think ill change protiens for awhile
              great product. i gave it value a 10 beacuase i got each bin for $30. mixes will in a shaker cup no chuncks of undissolved powder. took this while i was on a ph taking 3 full shakes a day i still take it i dont think ill change protiens for awhile
               Pros:
               Cons:
              • Increased Energy
              • Builds Muscle
              • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
              • Great Before Bed!
              • Tastes Great!
                 

                I was not really impressed with this product. It is loaded with fat and unless you use a motorized blender it does not mix well. There always seem to be that rogue chunk of half mixed goop at the bottom. I Originally purchased it because it seemed like a good value until you read the mix instructions and see that in order to get the 50g of protein you need 4 rather than 2 scoops. I would recommend Monster Milk over this product. Monster...
                I was not really impressed with this product. It is loaded with fat and unless you use a motorized blender it does not mix well. There always seem to be that rogue chunk of half mixed goop at the bottom. I Originally purchased it because it seemed like a good value until you read the mix instructions and see that in order to get the 50g of protein you need 4 rather than 2 scoops. I would recommend Monster Milk over this product. Monster Milk has more aminos, less fat, 50gs of protein in just 2 scoops. I never had the mixing problem with it either.
                 Pros:
                 Cons:
                • Tastes Pretty Good If You Can Get Around The Chunks
                • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer

                  COMMENTS (2)

                  • deeja
                    (+408)
                    Trust: 100%
                    June 29, 2010

                    This is a weight gainer. it has carbs and fat too. In a completely different category then monster milk
                  • russogk
                    (+11)
                    Trust: 3%
                    June 29, 2010

                    I wouldn't say they are in "completely" different catagories. They are both basically fortified whey protein shakes. Where you missed the point is Monster Milk packs more protein and BCAAs in to 2 scoops than does Monster Mass. In other words if you want to use Monster Milk as a gainer just double it up. Compare the labels and you'll see what I mean. Lastly you'll never gain lean muscle mass by taking in more fat...you'll just get fat.


                   

                  Alright, here goes my first review for this site! I'll start off with a relatively easy one, a weight gainer!
                  I have always been a big fan of Cytosport, and the way their Protein products taste. This weight gainer did not dissapoint in the taste department, whether you mix it...
                  Alright, here goes my first review for this site! I'll start off with a relatively easy one, a weight gainer!
                  I have always been a big fan of Cytosport, and the way their Protein products taste. This weight gainer did not dissapoint in the taste department, whether you mix it with water or milk this stuff tastes great! I really looked forward to my daily dose of Monster Mass (or sometimes multiple :)). It has a great nutrient profile as well, high carb (not excessively high), low sugar and high Protein. The Protein blend makes it ideal for any time of day as well.
                  I never had any stomach discomfort with this weight gainer, as I have had with other weight gain products in the past. The only thing I wished is that they would make a 10lb paint can of this stuff so it would last longer!
                  All in all, this is a great weight gain product. Yes, it is a little higher in price, however, sometimes you get what you pay for.
                   Pros:
                   Cons:
                  • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
                     

                    I've taken many types of protein and my results with monster mass have been the best! I have completed two tubs and just started my third.

                    I mix mine with 2% milk bc to me it tastes awesome that way and also I get about 10-12 extra grams of protein from the 16 oz of milk I use for each shake. I have a small mixer that I use but I've also used a shaker cup plenty of times and never get any chucks! Im definitely giving the taste a 10.

                    I drink a shake directly after working out and another right before sleeping. I work out Mon-Sun and have a pretty decent diet (lots of chicken,...
                    I've taken many types of protein and my results with monster mass have been the best! I have completed two tubs and just started my third.

                    I mix mine with 2% milk bc to me it tastes awesome that way and also I get about 10-12 extra grams of protein from the 16 oz of milk I use for each shake. I have a small mixer that I use but I've also used a shaker cup plenty of times and never get any chucks! Im definitely giving the taste a 10.

                    I drink a shake directly after working out and another right before sleeping. I work out Mon-Sun and have a pretty decent diet (lots of chicken, steak, and veggies. no junkfood) so the "higher" gram content of fat per serving in this really doesn't put any fat on me whatsoever.

                    From my first two tubs (two months) I put on about 13lbs. Definitely noticed a large difference in my leg, chest, and arms (bi, tri, for, shoulder). My body is also really responsive to all supplements I take so others may not get the same results. I stacked it with M5 creatine by Cellucor, which I took pre-workout.

                    Definitely a good buy for anyone to put on some mass, esp bc you can find some good prices online ($25-$35)! I made a freshman mistake of buying it at gnc my first time and it cost me $54 haha.
                     Pros:
                     Cons:
                    • Builds Muscle
                    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
                    • Great Before Bed!
                    • Tastes Great!
                      Copyright © 2014 SupplementReviews.com. All rights reserved.