Home > Categories > Bodybuilding > Weight Gainers > Cytosport > Monster Mass

Cytosport Monster Mass

Monster Mass Cytosport User Rating: (17 Reviews)

Review Authenticity: 69% (Ambiguous)

Compare Similar Products:

Users who liked this product also liked:

USP Labs Jack3d Reviews
Jack3d (1006 Reviews)
8.5
PMD Platinum Pump Fuel Reviews
Platinum Pump Fuel (37 Reviews)
8.2
BioRhythm AfterGlow Reviews
AfterGlow (39 Reviews)
9.0

Products in the same category:

GNC AMP Amplified Mass XXX Reviews
AMP Amplified Mass XXX (74 Reviews)
8.0
Optimum Serious Mass Reviews
Serious Mass (73 Reviews)
8.0
Cytosport CytoGainer Reviews
CytoGainer (65 Reviews)
8.4
Ultimate Iso-Mass Xtreme Gainer Reviews
Iso-Mass Xtreme Gainer (56 Reviews)
8.1

Related Forum Topics

Taking Monster Mass & jack3d, how many days/week workout to bulk up?
So I'm 21 6'3" and my weight fluctuates between 198 and 200. How ...

Serious Mass vs Monster Mass vs Up your Mass vs Cytogainer
Alright guys i recently posted which weight gainer tastes the best and most of y...

Two Monster Mass Tubs for sale/trade
I have two tubs of Monster Mass.  Flavor is Strawberries and Cream.  E...

Cyto Gainer vs. Monster Mass
Whats the difference between these two? They are from the same company...

Get Involved!

Confused about Supplements?

FREE 7-Day Supplement Crash Course:



Description

Monster Mass is a high quality mass gainer from Cytosport. It has a high quality protein blend to maximize protein synthesis. It also has an incredible amino acid profile, and a good amount of carbohydrates. To top off the formula, the fats in this product are medium chain triglycerides.

Monster Mass Nutritional Info and Supplement Facts on: Links open in new window
Monster Mass Reviews:
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle (14)
  • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer (12)
  • Increased Energy (8)
  • Tastes Great! (8)
  • Too Expensive (5)
  • Not Enough Servings (5)
  • High Fat Content (5)
  • Needs To Come In A Paint Bucket! (3)
View All 15 Pros/Cons
June 25, 2012
Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 6

GiorgosGRK

Reviews: 2

Age: 18

June 25, 2012
 i took monster mass because it was one of the few mass builders that didn't contain creatine. i went through 4 tubs of this and i did gain 7-8 pounds, 3-4 pounds of it muscle. the chocolate flavor is pretty good but a little chalky tasting. i would say if you have a sensitive stomach, DONT BUY THIS. my stomach is somewhat sensitive and i always had gas right after taking this. the recovery isnt that great either. i would still be very sore almost as if the protein is cheap. if you do end up buying this product, take it after workouts only otherwise you will run out very quicky. if you want a supplement that has great recovery and gain lean muscle with hard work, i recommend gold standard protein. i take it once a day everyday and it is the best recovery for protein i've ever experienced.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Pretty Good If You Can Get Around The Chunks
  • Too Expensive
  • Not Enough Servings
  • Stomach Pains After
  • Indigestion
  • Expensive Unless Bought Online
Reply #1:
Rahull001
Rahull001

Joined: 11/2012
Reviews: 0
Reputation: 0
did you take this stuff on your off days if so did you only take two scoops


December 17, 2011
Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 8

cdruz32

Reviews: 19

Age: 18

December 17, 2011
 The only thing that is stopping me from giving this a good rating is because of the fat content in this stuff its way to high. Other than that though this stuff does what its supposed to, gain muscle and gain weight. I think you would be better off going with monster milk though because the fat content is lower and that only takes 2 scoops to get to 50 grams this takes 4
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Great!
  • High Fat Content
  • 2 Many Scoops To Get To 50g Of Protein
Reply #1:
Sal
Sal

Joined: 2/2009
Reviews: 23
Reputation: +45
This is just me, I just always thought "gainers" were for poeple with really fast metabolizims? I stand to be corrected soon- just know it. Hoever I understand your beef with 4 scoops compared to 2 scoops of regular Muscle Milk.


October 5, 2011
Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 8

Hays

Reviews: 2

Age: 22

October 5, 2011
 I've taken many types of protein and my results with monster mass have been the best! I have completed two tubs and just started my third.

I mix mine with 2% milk bc to me it tastes awesome that way and also I get about 10-12 extra grams of protein from the 16 oz of milk I use for each shake. I have a small mixer that I use but I've also used a shaker cup plenty of times and never get any chucks! Im definitely giving the taste a 10.

I drink a shake directly after working out and another right before sleeping. I work out Mon-Sun and have a pretty decent diet (lots of chicken, steak, and veggies. no junkfood) so the "higher" gram content of fat per serving in this really doesn't put any fat on me whatsoever.

From my first two tubs (two months) I put on about 13lbs. Definitely noticed a large difference in my leg, chest, and arms (bi, tri, for, shoulder). My body is also really responsive to all supplements I take so others may not get the same results. I stacked it with M5 creatine by Cellucor, which I took pre-workout.

Definitely a good buy for anyone to put on some mass, esp bc you can find some good prices online ($25-$35)! I made a freshman mistake of buying it at gnc my first time and it cost me $54 haha.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
  • Great Before Bed!
  • Tastes Great!
  • Expensive Unless Bought Online
April 18, 2011
Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 8

Sambaugh

Reviews: 4

Age: 23

April 18, 2011
 Big amounts of protein, too many calories. I loved Monster MASS until i hit my 3rd week on it and realized i wasn't doing enough cardio to keep up and i was doing ALOT of cardio, i started getting pudge and lost some definition in my abs. But my chest and arms love the stuff- its like miracle grow for you muscles!
Pros:
Cons:
  • Increased Energy
  • Builds Muscle
  • Great Before Bed!
  • Tastes Great!
  • Too Expensive
  • High Fat Content
  • Mixes Poorly In A Shaker Cup
  • 2 Many Scoops To Get To 50g Of Protein
Reply #1:
Rahull001
Rahull001

Joined: 11/2012
Reviews: 0
Reputation: 0
I was not sure but did you take this stuff on off days i workout moday throu friday and weekends off so do i still take it on off days


December 25, 2010
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 7

Juzttinn

Reviews: 6

Age: 19

December 25, 2010
 Monster Mass is worth getting as a good protein to take throughout the day...especially before going to bed. A lot of protein per serving and a lot of calories. Very good if your looking to put on weight.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Builds Muscle
  • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
  • Great Before Bed!
  • Tastes Great!
    Reply #1:
    beastwl96
    beastwl96

    Joined: 9/2010
    Reviews: 6
    Reputation: +321
    its actually not that much protein its like 12-13 grams of protein a scoop and i dont think taking this at night is beneficial for you if you trying to gain the least amount of fat possible. Please anyone correct me if im wrong.


    Reply #2:
    Cray
    Cray

    Joined: 6/2010
    Reviews: 55
    Reputation: +2375
    You're not wrong. From what I've read the worst time to take gainers is just before bed. They are high in fat, cholesterol, and carbohydrates - none of which are beneficial during sleep.

    Sure, you get a lot of protein "per serving"... but a serving is 4 scoops of this product. You're way better off with casein any day, especially as a pre-bed shake.

    No offense man but blasting out a bunch of one paragraph reviews is really not all that helpful.


    Reply #3:
    SmashPlates1
    SmashPlates1

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 3
    Reputation: +5
    I beg to differ. I have taken monster mass just before bed for the past 4 months. I have gained very little fat. I am also working out 4-5 days a week. It probably depends more on your workouts and your metabolism. Oh, and I would not consider myself a hard gainer.


    Reply #4:
    Juzttinn
    Juzttinn

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 6
    Reputation: +1
    Well I suppose it all depends on your body type. If your looking to put on weight as an ectomorph I would recommend it.


    December 14, 2010
    Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 6

    SmashPlates1

    Reviews: 3

    Age: 24

    December 14, 2010
     After completing 2 tubs of Monster Mass I felt I should write a review.

    Taste 10/10: I bought the chocolate flavor which tastes really good. I never experienced any chunks. It mixes really well with a few shakes in a shaker cup. I never blended it.

    Effectiveness: Very effective for a gainer. I've gained over 16 pounds off this. I'm currently at 186lbs. Very very little of this has been fat. Mostly lean muscle. People might be hesitant about it because of the amount of fat per serving (18g).

    Value: It's a bit pricy if you go to GNC or Vitamin Shoppe. Online has better deals. I have been really happy with this gainer. Just ordered another tub (strawberries n cream) before I go on a cut. Hope this helps.
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Increased Energy
    • Builds Muscle
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
    • Great Before Bed!
    • Tastes Great!
    • Too Expensive
    Reply #1:
    Lorenz0
    Lorenz0

    Joined: 7/2010
    Reviews: 25
    Reputation: +198
    Bro $25 at tfsupplements.com.. pretty good deal i'm sure much better than gnc.


    Reply #2:
    SmashPlates1
    SmashPlates1

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 3
    Reputation: +5
    That's a good deal. I got mine for roughly $30. Thanks bro.


    Reply #3:
    PatCrizack
    PatCrizack

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 1
    Reputation: +5
    I've purchased the entire Monster series (Milk, Pump, Maize, Amino) except this, now my question is, when would you take this? Is this a replacement for the Monster Milk?


    Reply #4:
    SmashPlates1
    SmashPlates1

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 3
    Reputation: +5
    I would take monster mass with breakfast, after workouts, and right before bed. I would consume 3 shakes a day regardless. I actually just bought another 3 tubs of the stuff. I have gained very little fat from this stuff. Awesome product. Just finishing up a strawberries and cream flavor. Not as good as chocolate! : )


    Reply #5:
    SmashPlates1
    SmashPlates1

    Joined: 12/2010
    Reviews: 3
    Reputation: +5
    Also Patcrizack, Pick up a tub of Glycomaize! I add this to my shakes. It's cheap also for a tub. Check it out. Peace.


    Reply #6:
    ashiqtaher
    ashiqtaher

    Joined: 6/2011
    Reviews: 0
    Reputation: 0
    so you've had some good gains mate, but how often do you take it and how many scoops?


    December 5, 2010
    Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 10

    JohnnyBoj

    Reviews: 2

    Age: 19

    December 5, 2010
     I just finished a container of this and here is my review.

    Taste: Is very very good I got the chocolate and oh dear it was good so i'm going to give chocolate taste 9/10

    Mix: It's a little hard mixing it in a shaker so I would definitely use a blender 8/10

    Now lets talkt about what the products can do for you.
    This product is loaded with BCAA wich is good and glutamine also is good.
    I Gained muscles yes and I gained strength.
    Take it twice a day: before your workout like 1 and half hour and take it immediately
    after your wokrout to get good results.

    So overall I will give this product 8.9/10

    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Increased Energy
    • Builds Muscle
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
    • Great Before Bed!
    • Tastes Great!
    • Mixes Poorly In A Shaker Cup
    Reply #1:
    BigWill93
    BigWill93

    Joined: 8/2010
    Reviews: 1
    Reputation: +1
    Did you take 4 scoups before and after?


    Reply #2:
    JohnnyBoj
    JohnnyBoj

    Joined: 11/2010
    Reviews: 2
    Reputation: +3
    no that's a bit to much for my stomach to handle.
    I took sometimes 2 before and 2 after I usuall took monster pump before workout and then 4 scoops of monster mass after but if u can handle 4 scoops before and 4 scoops after then do it.


    November 1, 2010
    Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 10

    bsfwarrior

    Reviews: 5

    Age: 26

    November 1, 2010
     great product. i gave it value a 10 beacuase i got each bin for $30. mixes will in a shaker cup no chuncks of undissolved powder. took this while i was on a ph taking 3 full shakes a day i still take it i dont think ill change protiens for awhile
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Increased Energy
    • Builds Muscle
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
    • Great Before Bed!
    • Tastes Great!
    • Not Enough Servings
    • Needs To Come In A Paint Bucket!
    August 29, 2010
    Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 6

    thetullahoma

    Reviews: 1

    Age: 28

    August 29, 2010
     I have been taking Monster Mass for about 6 weeks now. I used to take one full serving in the beginning (the very first week) as my preworkout meal, but it would keep my stomach upset all the time. After reading some more reviews I broke it down to two half servings; one in the morning with breakfast and one before my workout. It would still keep my stomach upset.

    And then I started taking two lactaid pills (to get additional lactase enzyme) to help digest Monster Mass, but no luck. After six weeks I have gained 2 pounds, but not sure if it's because of Monster Mass.

    Overall, I would give it a 6/10.
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
    • Indigestion
    • Not Enough Servings
    • Stomach Pains After
    Reply #1:
    deeja
    deeja

    Joined: 5/2010
    Reviews: 17
    Reputation: +379
    Thats too bad man, this stuff isn't upsetting my stomach at all. Really nice in my post workout shake i find.


    Reply #2:
    thetullahoma
    thetullahoma

    Joined: 8/2010
    Reviews: 1
    Reputation: 0
    Deeja: I really love the nutrient profile of Monster Mass and I wish I could digest it. I am going to consult a physician because I really want to continue with this product.


    Reply #3:
    deeja
    deeja

    Joined: 5/2010
    Reviews: 17
    Reputation: +379
    yea good idea. Hopefully nothing's too wrong


    Reply #4:
    Eaglesfan58
    Eaglesfan58

    Joined: 9/2010
    Reviews: 0
    Reputation: 0
    I bought Monster Mass right before my senior season of football began and began taking it to throw some extra weight on. I felt good for about the first two days on it and then it began to ruin my stomache, and I always had discomfort in my stomache area. So I took my servings down to one scoop before my lift and one scoop after and it still had the same affect on my stomache. It seems to be a good supplement though...


    July 23, 2010
    Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 10

    SDsurfer

    Reviews: 2

    Age: 25

    July 23, 2010
     Protein-->
    this powder has a mix of fast acting whey and slow acting casein which helps keep me anabolic all day as long as I take at least 2 servings a few hours apart. This also comes complete with a EAA mix so skeletal muscle does receive some extra post workout support. 50g per serving

    Fat/Carbs-->
    there is a large amount of carbs which are concentrated in each serving along with some saturated fat :-(. This may not be an ideal mix for someone looking to lean up or body build, but it works great for someone looking for a meal replacement shake or something that offers carbs for energy

    Meal Replacement-->
    I usually need to wake up around 530 or 6 to paddle out before work and if I'm running late this mixed with some fruit and non fat or low fat milk and perhaps some greek yogurt serves as an excellent quick meal that gives me FUEL TO SHREDDDD

    Taste-->
    the taste is GREAT. Anybody who says otherwise has not shopped the protein competition. Strawberrys n Creme is the best tasting protein Ive ever had. Or perhaps the Strawberry Milkshake flavor, but that only comes in the Muscle Milk Collegiate blend which has slightly less protein and much more carbs
    Pros:
    Cons:
    • Tastes Great!
    • Increased Energy
    • Builds Muscle
    • Good Nutrient Profile For Weight Gainer
    • High Fat Content
    Reply #1:
    deeja
    deeja

    Joined: 5/2010
    Reviews: 17
    Reputation: +379
    im halfway through a tub of this....What flavor did you get?


    Reply #2:
    deeja
    deeja

    Joined: 5/2010
    Reviews: 17
    Reputation: +379
    oh oops...didnt read the end...ill try strawberry next time



    Have you used Monster Mass? Submit your own Review!