Home > Categories > Protein > Whey Protein > BSN > True-Mass

BSN True-Mass

True-Mass BSN
Expert Rating:
User Rating: (42 Reviews)

Review Authenticity: 59% (Uncertain)

Compare Similar Products:

Users who liked this product also liked:

BSN Syntha-6 Reviews
Syntha-6 (167 Reviews)
8.1
Optimum 100% Whey Reviews
100% Whey (374 Reviews)
9.2
Optimum 100% Casein Protein Reviews
100% Casein Protein (138 Reviews)
8.7
Muscle Feast Micellar Casein Reviews
Micellar Casein (5 Reviews)
8.6

Products in the same category:

Optimum Platinum Hydro Whey Reviews
Platinum Hydro Whey (98 Reviews)
9.1
GNC Wheybolic Extreme 60 Reviews
Wheybolic Extreme 60 (79 Reviews)
7.7

Get Involved!

Confused about Supplements?

FREE 7-Day Supplement Crash Course:



Description

True-Mass is BSN's signature weight gainer. It contains an average blend of ingredients that is sure to deliver results. It has a large amount of solid feedback and many users note that the best quality of this product is the taste.

True-Mass Nutritional Info and Supplement Facts on: Links open in new window
True-Mass Reviews:
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight (32)
  • Tastes Good (27)
  • Builds Muscle (24)
  • Strength Gains (20)
  • Too Expensive (24)
  • Felt Bloated (12)
  • A Little Expensive (9)
  • Gained Fat (5)
View All 23 Pros/Cons
January 4, 2011
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 8

shinndigg


Reviews: 61

Age: 23

January 4, 2011
 True Mass is the second mass gainer that I have used to help me bulk up. I was getting ready to start my second bulk cycle after having much success with GNC’s AMP Mass XXX in a previous bulk. I decided to go with True Mass because I was impressed by it’s ingredient profile. Utilizing six different types of protein sources, a good amount of carbs per serving without going to overboard including 6g of fiber, and a good amount of healthy fats, this seemed like a solid product. Also not containing any added BCAAs or creatine gave me the versatility to add them as I wish, which was an added benefit for what I wanted to do. It was also readily available at the local post exchange, so that also swayed my choice (usually it takes a week or up to 10 days for packages to arrive out in Iraq).

I took a full three scoop serving in the morning with breakfast with some added BCAAs, and another 3 scoop serving post workout with creatine monohydrate added. I was 185 lbs at the beginning of my run of this product, and after just one tub I was able to reach 190 lbs. Give or take the water retention from using the creatine, I'd say a few pounds of that was muscle mass, my strength definitely went up with this as well. I had bumped my diet back up to around 3500 calories a day, and two servings of this (630 calories per serving) made it a lot easier to reach that goal day in and day out. Sometimes it’s rather unenjoyable to consume that many calories through whole food alone, so having this supplement was very helpful. My body fat did not increase that much throughout my run of this product. I was also taking CLA and Fish Oil and doing light cardio to help keep my body fat in check while I was bulking. Mixability was pretty good, I mixed this up in a blender bottle, and the 16 ounces of water and the 3 scoops managed to just fit. I shook it up for about 30 seconds to a minute and it was fine, no clumps, and definitely good considering the fact it was a mass gainer. I had the strawberry milkshake flavor, and while it did taste a little bland, it wasn’t horrible. I was expecting a little more in the department of flavor due to my experience with Syntha-6, but True Mass’s flavor is manageable. I’ve read that some people have experienced stomach and intestinal issues with this product, but I did not experience any of those. I did get a little bloated after taking this, but that’s to be expected when downing nearly 700 calories all at once, after about an hour or so the bloating subsided. At 38 dollars with 18 servings per container, it comes out to $2.11 a serving, not necessarily economical at first glance. However when compared to other gainers on the market, it doesn’t rate as bad in price per serving.

True Mass was a solid product for me, and I would recommend to anyone who is looking to add more calories into their diet, and assistance in attaining lean mass gains.


Pros:
Cons:
  • Decent Profile
  • Good Mixability
  • Gained Weight
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • A Little Expensive
  • Felt Bloated
Reply #1:
taysab23
taysab23

Joined: 5/2010
Reviews: 44
Reputation: +501
nice reivew as always homie... throw some paragraphs in there for us who lose their spot easily lol


Reply #2:
shinndigg
shinndigg

Joined: 12/2010
Reviews: 61
Reputation: +1044
ha, thanks man. Yea, I just get rolling sometimes and forget there is a "enter" button on my computer. I'll keep that in mind next time :)


Reply #3:
franklin
franklin

Joined: 11/2011
Reviews: 0
Reputation: 0
hi shinndigg i just started out with true mass n creatine monohydrate,ya mentioned earlier that ya take took 3 scoops post workout with cratine monohydrate added,but dont ya think taking true mass post work out would not help much as it contains fat which basically slows the digestion n thus less absorption rate,and speaking about takin creatine monohydrate post workout dont ya think it would be better to take it before the work out enabling increased recover n strength????????????i just wanted to know why ya prefered takin both of it post workout.


September 1, 2009
Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 7

deumcole


Reviews: 106

Age: 21

September 1, 2009
 Just got done with this and it blew me away. Before I continue though I used this more as meal replacement than a gainer so my review leans that way.
Taste was great, chocolate is a hard flavor to mess-up, but this taste phenominal nonetheless. Since I used is as a meal replacement, 1 serving on its own in water was good enough to keep me full for the morning, and when I put it in a smoothie it lasted most of the day. Now I did loose weight, but I did get bulkier. I'm guessing I lost weight and added muscle which is always good. However though the price is alittle steep and there's only 18 servings per tub. Other then that I strongly recommend this to anyone.
November 20, 2013
Overall: 9 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9

smokinmax

Reviews: 2

Age: 22

November 20, 2013
Best weight gainer in my opinion

This is my first review so go easy on me. Sorry if i forget anything. As of 11-18-2013 i and 6'3 225. At the time when i took this 1 year ago i was 6'3 255. I got deathly ill lol (food poisioning, swine flu, and the flu all back to back to back!!). Ive taken alot of Mass gainers (cell tech, cytosport, ON, Gaspari, Dymatize, MHP, Ultimate Nutrition. etc.) and this one is by far my favorite.
The taste is 10/10, the other mass gainers taste ok and some are flat out garbage but this one tastes great.

Mixability is 7/10. You really have to shake the crap out of it or put it in a blender in order to mix it good. Alot of times when i would use a shaker it would have clumps in it.

Effectiveness 8/10 i took this product for 12 weeks straight everyday along with eating 8000 calories per day and i ended up gaining 12 lbs with no significant gain in body fat. I did cardio 3 times per week and lifted heavy one week then lower weight the next. I know some of this weight can be contributed to my diet but for the most part this helped me get there. I would take a shake 2 times per day 1 in the morning when i wake up before breakfast and then 1 right before bed.

Side effects were 0, no problems except really bad gas (who hasnt when taking protein and creatine) which really made my gf hate it lol.
I would recommend this to anyone who wants to use this along with A PROPER DIET to gain weight and a hard workout routine.

Only reason i didnt give this a 10/10 all across the board is because it only has 18 servings for 5 lbs. Its expensive if you buy it from GNC or some other major supplement store.

Pros:
Cons:
  • Recover Quickly
  • Builds Muscle
  • Tastes Good
  • Gained Weight
  • A Little Expensive
Reply #1:
AS79
AS79

Joined: 6/2011
Reviews: 0
Reputation: +1348
So if I am reading this right, you were taking in almost 9500 calories a day with virtually no fat gain?


Reply #2:
Meuth
Meuth

Joined: 3/2010
Reviews: 40
Reputation: +3597
Are you sure you were taking in 8000 cals a day? To take in that much in one day with no fat gain would be almost impossible. I'm 265 and eat like a horse. I have hit 5000+ a couple of times but I was forcing food down all day and upped my fat intake on those days with extra peanut butter and a huge steak.

I don't think you are calculating your cals right.


October 26, 2013
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 6

markymark73

Reviews: 5

Age: 20

October 26, 2013
My experience

Taste was awesome, I used this stuff for everything I started putting a scoop in my oatmeal, and 3 scoops in a quart of yogurt.

I'm a hard gainer and I would buy this again only for my oatmeal and yogurt, I'm now taking true mass 1200 for the additional nutrition, and no I don't count on a protein shake to feed my diet I eat a ton of chicken rice and vegetables.

I would say everything else was pretty much your basic protein shake.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Not Enough Calories For Hard Gainers
Reply #1:
mhseaver670
mhseaver670

Joined: 1/2011
Reviews: 79
Reputation: +2496
Actually meant to negative this review. Horrible review


August 6, 2013
Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 6

almikez

Reviews: 4

Age: 18

August 6, 2013
Don't understand all the hype.

The price is a little high for what your getting. You can find a 5 pound tub for around 45 dollars. That being said....

For your moneys worth I think you are better off going with another protein powder, like MHP Up Your Mass, if you are looking for a mass gainer.

True-Mass is only 28% protein. For every serving you are only getting 28% protein. That means that 52% is something else. There aren't any amino acids in True-Mass either.

The good thing about True-Mass is that it does have a lot of carbs with 90 grams per serving. So i would only recommend this as a meal replacement.

But for your moneys worth i would recommend MHP Up Your Mass for the greater meal replacement. It's 35% protein, and loaded with amino acids which are good for recovery and protein synthesis. It also doesnt have as many carbs. It also has less fat.

True-Mass is a good supplement but there are better ones, and in this economy every dollar counts.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Too Expensive
  • Gained Fat
  • A Little Expensive
July 25, 2012
Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 9

mkarya

Reviews: 1

Age: 25

July 25, 2012
 Best in result and taste. But have some problem due to high cholesterol ingredients. It is very effective for those who gain weight and size fast.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Too Expensive
May 27, 2012
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 9 | Value: 7

DruMatic151

Reviews: 4

Age: 30

May 27, 2012
 Well this is the first mass gainer i ever bought and i have to say its more effective than i thought it would be,Im just not impressed with the taste and the horrible gas it gives me. I gained about 2.5 pounds in a few weeks,and Im not talking about fat. I stacked with OxyElite Pro,BSN cellmass,and N O Explode,and my results are extreme! Despite of the bad taste it mixes well and its great for training days when increasing calorie,and protein needs. Just not something I would take on non-training days because of the serving size,if i took it everyday this 5lbs tub will be gone in 2 weeks. I do a 3 day split so i take it 4 times a week and the fourth time being on my cardio day. Still just as effective, plus it stretches out your dollar more.Not sure if I'll buy it again but its a good product and it does work.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Recover Quickly
  • Decent Profile
  • Very Gassy
  • Felt Bloated
April 19, 2012
Overall: 7 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 7

mightymouse

Reviews: 3

Age: 21

April 19, 2012
 I decide to run this weight gainer after i finished my Syntha 6. With the high calories and the blend of proteins just had me convinced to go out and try it.

Taste- ive tried all the flavors by sample packs and decided Vanilla ice cream was the best so i bought the 5lbs tub. They were delicious! i can see why some people hype the product because of the taste. The mixing is what kinda brings this product down a bit. 3 scoops per serving id usually mix it in a blender. I would taste the clumpiness with both 16oz of water and milk.

Effectiveness- This weight gainer did help me gain around 5-8 lbs thru one tub. It made my muscles more leaner and defined. It worked really well with my high intensity workout.

Value- Serving wise the value of true mass is okay. not a whole lot but not little servings. What really brings this product down is how much it costs. The smartest way is to buy it online of course. At GNC its around $70! You can get it online at cheapest for around $39.

I would recommend Cyto or pro complex gainers over True Mass especially if your either a hard gainer of trying to bulk up in a lean way.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Builds Muscle
  • Gained Sexual Gratification
  • Too Expensive
  • Picked Up Too Many Girls
February 24, 2012
Overall: 3 | Effectiveness: 2 | Value: 3

gclar39

Reviews: 11

Age: 21

February 24, 2012
 True Mass was one of the original proteins I'd ever tried out. I wasn't completely sure what I was taking at the time. I just saw the label and thought, "That must be good."

-----------------------------------------------
*Taste/Mixability: 6/10*
The taste isn't so much what gives this a low score but the mixability. In my case it was always always clumpy and gross to swallow. The taste was so so, I mean chocolate is chocolate most times when it comes to protein powders. Milk makes it exponentially harder to mix up but I guess that could go for other protiens too.

---------------------------------------------
*Effectiveness: 1/10*
This is one of the top 3 worst proteins I've ever used. It was so useless for my physique. I went through over 3 5.75lb tubs, gained maybe at most 2-3 lbs. Maybe thats just how my body reacts to it, but overall I saw hardly any results for the amount of money I paid for it. I tried and tried with this to put on weight but it just never worked for me.

---------------------------------------------
*Value: 2/10*
Value is awful because of the price you pay and the amount of servings you get. I paid about $60 a tub, which may be less or more than other places, and it had 18 "servings." A serving is a massive 40-50g scoop just fyi. Math wise, $60/18 servings = $3.33 per serving. That will last you little over 2 weeks. Pretty crappy rip off if you ask me. I've found proteins that last way longer than that for the same or less price. You pay a lot per serving and the tubs do not last long.

---------------------------------------------

*Overall: 3/10*
I give it a 3 because the taste was so so. If you put 20oz of milk in each shake it doesn't taste too bad. Overall though it didn't mix well, didn't last very long, and produced minimal to zero results in my case. Thats why I give it a overall rating of 3.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Decent Profile
  • Was Not Effective For Gaining Weight
  • A Little Expensive
February 8, 2012
Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 5

williward

Reviews: 1

Age: 22

February 8, 2012
 I liked this gainer okay... has a decent taste, but definitely gave me some gas. i'm not sure i really liked the profile with all the excess fat and sugar. better than muscle juice, didn't like it as well as complete mass.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Picked Up Too Many Girls
  • Felt Bloated

Have you used True-Mass? Submit your own Review!