Sign In

Remember Me
        

Submit a review

How-to Guides and Articles

Forum

  

True-Mass

  By: BSN

True-Mass is a Whey Protein Powder manufactured by BSN. It is a dairy based protein that supports lean muscle gain by suppling additional protein to recovering muscles, which can also improve fat loss.

Does True-Mass work?
Click to Expand
kubitzky10
Rep: +456
Trust: 10%
 

5.0

BSN's Ultra Premium A.M.-P.m. Lean Mass Gainer "TRUE-MASS".

- The only reason I purchased this was because I was at a Vitamin Worlde picking up some Fish Oil and it was on sale for 30 bucks. I couldn't turn down that offer. It did help me gain some weight. In the first week I gained 2 1/2 pounds. Over the course of 2 more weeks I gained a total of 2 1/2 more pounds, gaining 5 pounds while on True Mass.

Taste-(9/10). The flavor was cookies...
BSN's Ultra Premium A.M.-P.m. Lean Mass Gainer "TRUE-MASS".

- The only reason I purchased this was because I was at a Vitamin Worlde picking up some Fish Oil and it was on sale for 30 bucks. I couldn't turn down that offer. It did help me gain some weight. In the first week I gained 2 1/2 pounds. Over the course of 2 more weeks I gained a total of 2 1/2 more pounds, gaining 5 pounds while on True Mass.

Taste-(9/10). The flavor was cookies and cream. It basically taste exactly like cookies and cream. It was a little thick, but it's a weight gainer what do you expect. I love the little cookie pieces that are left in it after you shake it up, they taste delicious!

Stomach Issues-(10/10) This is what keeps me from buying this again. I had some insane diharea within 15-20 minutes after downing this. I took it 6 days a week, and no lie every single day that I took this my stomach killed me and yeah you get the picture.

Mixability-(10/10) I would mix it with 16 oz of 2% milk and it would be fine after shaking for about 10 seconds. You will notice little like cookie dough clumps, but those are supposed to be there.

Value- (7/10) Like I said, I got it for 30 bucks so it'd seem I would give the value a 10. I'm going by prices on BodyBuilding.com which is around 40 bucks I think. It's not terrible. It has 18 servings (3 Scoops= Serving.) Depending on how many servings you take daily it will last 1-3 weeks. A little above average for a weight gainer.

Ingredient Profile: (6.5/10) To me it didn't have the most impressive ingredients. It has a bit much sugar in it. Actually a lot to much. It's not very lean. In the other ingredients it does mention some BCAA & EAA's but its not on the main ingredients so that makes me think there probably isn't enough to even make a difference. It does have Cassein, Whey, and Egg Protein. Your getting your fast-slow proteins. It's 46 g protein, 70g carbs, 16g sat fat.

Effectivness-(10/10) Like I mentioned earlier I did gain a total of 5 pounds which was impessive. I didn't lose any noticable definition or anything. I can tell I got a little bit bigger. I'm positive all the weight gained wasn't lean muscle and some is probably fat, but you can't even tell. My squats jumped up a good bit, but I don't no whether this contributed to that or not. No increase in bench.

Overall a decent weight gainer if you can handle massive diharea.
Here are some key points of True-Mass.

*Gave me extremely horrible diharea.
*Decent strength gains in squats and deads.
*Taste is pretty awesome.
*Gained a total of 5 pounds.
*Noticable gain in size, especially in biceps and traps.
*Mixes perfectly fine.
*Basic ingredients.
*Little to no Amino Acids/BCAA's. :(
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Too Expensive
  • Makes You Have Terrible And I Mean Horrible Diharea.

COMMENTS (5)

  • taysab23
    Rep: +611
    Trust: 100%
    October 22, 2010

    I like taking my weight gainer like an half to full hour before i work out. Like a full serving.. gives me alot of strength for some reason.
  • I3CAA
    Rep: +61
    Trust: 63%
    October 22, 2010

    Quality Review man! You rate this stuff over serious mass?
  • kubitzky10
    Rep: +456
    Trust: 10%
    October 22, 2010

    I would go with Serious Mass if I had to pik just b/c of the aweful diharea i got...lmao
  • kubitzky10
    Rep: +456
    Trust: 10%
    October 22, 2010

    Beware though, serious mass serving size is 2 cups of the powder. You wont beable to shake it in an ordinary bottle. You will prolly have to use a blender and just pour shakes.
  • kamotekid
    Rep: +14
    Trust: 10%
    October 22, 2010

    How can this not have amino acids? its a protein supplement.. some companies like bsn hide their amino profile so other companies cant copy it. as for the stomach issues, try taking half servings multiple times a day..


shinndigg
Rep: +1,183
Trust: 100%


True Mass is the second mass gainer that I have used to help me bulk up. I was getting ready to start my second bulk cycle after having much success with GNC's AMP Mass XXX in a previous bulk. I decided to go with True Mass because I was impressed by it's ingredient profile. Utilizing six different types of protein sources, a good amount of carbs per serving without going to overboard including 6g of fiber, and a good amount of healthy fats, this seemed like...
True Mass is the second mass gainer that I have used to help me bulk up. I was getting ready to start my second bulk cycle after having much success with GNC's AMP Mass XXX in a previous bulk. I decided to go with True Mass because I was impressed by it's ingredient profile. Utilizing six different types of protein sources, a good amount of carbs per serving without going to overboard including 6g of fiber, and a good amount of healthy fats, this seemed like a solid product. Also not containing any added BCAAs or creatine gave me the versatility to add them as I wish, which was an added benefit for what I wanted to do. It was also readily available at the local post exchange, so that also swayed my choice (usually it takes a week or up to 10 days for packages to arrive out in Iraq).

I took a full three scoop serving in the morning with breakfast with some added BCAAs, and another 3 scoop serving post workout with creatine monohydrate added. I was 185 lbs at the beginning of my run of this product, and after just one tub I was able to reach 190 lbs. Give or take the water retention from using the creatine, I'd say a few pounds of that was muscle mass, my strength definitely went up with this as well. I had bumped my diet back up to around 3500 calories a day, and two servings of this (630 calories per serving) made it a lot easier to reach that goal day in and day out. Sometimes it's rather unenjoyable to consume that many calories through whole food alone, so having this supplement was very helpful. My body fat did not increase that much throughout my run of this product. I was also taking CLA and Fish Oil and doing light cardio to help keep my body fat in check while I was bulking. Mixability was pretty good, I mixed this up in a blender bottle, and the 16 ounces of water and the 3 scoops managed to just fit. I shook it up for about 30 seconds to a minute and it was fine, no clumps, and definitely good considering the fact it was a mass gainer. I had the strawberry milkshake flavor, and while it did taste a little bland, it wasn't horrible. I was expecting a little more in the department of flavor due to my experience with Syntha-6, but True Mass's flavor is manageable. I've read that some people have experienced stomach and intestinal issues with this product, but I did not experience any of those. I did get a little bloated after taking this, but that's to be expected when downing nearly 700 calories all at once, after about an hour or so the bloating subsided. At 38 dollars with 18 servings per container, it comes out to $2.11 a serving, not necessarily economical at first glance. However when compared to other gainers on the market, it doesn't rate as bad in price per serving.

True Mass was a solid product for me, and I would recommend to anyone who is looking to add more calories into their diet, and assistance in attaining lean mass gains.

 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Decent Profile
  • Good Mixability
  • Felt Bloated
  • A Little Expensive

COMMENTS (3)

  • taysab23
    Rep: +611
    Trust: 100%
    January 4, 2011

    Nice reivew as always homie... throw some paragraphs in there for us who lose their spot easily lol
  • shinndigg
    Rep: +1,183
    Trust: 100%
    January 4, 2011

    Ha, thanks man. Yea, I just get rolling sometimes and forget there is a "enter" button on my computer. I'll keep that in mind next time :)
  • franklin
    Rep: 0
    Trust: 0%
    January 4, 2011

    Hi shinndigg i just started out with true mass n creatine monohydrate,ya mentioned earlier that ya take took 3 scoops post workout with cratine monohydrate added,but dont ya think taking true mass post work out would not help much as it contains fat which basically slows the digestion n thus less absorption rate,and speaking about takin creatine monohydrate post workout dont ya think it would be better to take it before the work out enabling increased recover n strength????????????i just wanted to know why ya prefered takin both of it post workout.


 

6.0

The price is a little high for what your getting. You can find a 5 pound tub for around 45 dollars. That being said....

For your moneys worth I think you are better off going with another protein powder, like MHP Up Your Mass, if you are looking for a mass gainer.

True-Mass is only 28% protein. For every serving you are only getting 28% protein. That means that 52% is something else. There aren't any amino acids in True-Mass either.

The good thing about True-Mass is that it does have a lot of carbs with 90 grams...
The price is a little high for what your getting. You can find a 5 pound tub for around 45 dollars. That being said....

For your moneys worth I think you are better off going with another protein powder, like MHP Up Your Mass, if you are looking for a mass gainer.

True-Mass is only 28% protein. For every serving you are only getting 28% protein. That means that 52% is something else. There aren't any amino acids in True-Mass either.

The good thing about True-Mass is that it does have a lot of carbs with 90 grams per serving. So i would only recommend this as a meal replacement.

But for your moneys worth i would recommend MHP Up Your Mass for the greater meal replacement. It's 35% protein, and loaded with amino acids which are good for recovery and protein synthesis. It also doesnt have as many carbs. It also has less fat.

True-Mass is a good supplement but there are better ones, and in this economy every dollar counts.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Too Expensive
  • Gained Fat
  • A Little Expensive
 

7.0

I used this as my weight gainer during my cycle the last few months. Other supps I used where recover pro, razor 8 for when I was feeling lathargic, Gener8 vitargo, and then of course your staples multi, fish oil, joint support, and cycle assist by AI. This was NOT my weight gainer of choice I started with mutant mass which I used to love but have not used it since they changed the formula and lets just say I thought I was going to break my toilet. I wanted to use Monster mass but They didn't have any in stock so I went with this.

Taste- This was one of the things I was looking...
I used this as my weight gainer during my cycle the last few months. Other supps I used where recover pro, razor 8 for when I was feeling lathargic, Gener8 vitargo, and then of course your staples multi, fish oil, joint support, and cycle assist by AI. This was NOT my weight gainer of choice I started with mutant mass which I used to love but have not used it since they changed the formula and lets just say I thought I was going to break my toilet. I wanted to use Monster mass but They didn't have any in stock so I went with this.

Taste- This was one of the things I was looking forward too, I assumed that since syntha-6 tasted so great this would follow suit... Nope, I had two tubs of vanilla and two of chocolate. The vanilla had this real artificial taste and almost a sickening after taste and film in your mouth. The chocolate was ok but had a bit to much of a cocoa taste to it. Didnt get a chance to try any of the other flavors since thats all they had in stock.

Value- I bought them two at a time and I got a buddy who works at the local GNC so I got two for about 100 bucks which is pretty good here in Canada. At 18 servings a container its not the greatest bang for your buck but was the extra calories that I needed during the day.

Effectiveness- I would have to say it was really effective but having said that I was on cycle so all 25 pounds I gained I cannot contribute to this product alone. This really help get those extra calories between meals or first thing in the morning before I cook breakfast.

Side effects- Other than the nasty after taste from the vanilla. It gave me some gas but any weight gainer will do that to you.

Usage- I used 1-2 shakes a day (the full serving 3 scoops) in between meals or if I was on the go and didnt have time to grab some real food.

Overall- I feel this was a solid product I would recommend this to someone if they could get it cheap or as a second or third option. I personally would use this again if I had to but would opt for either monster mass or real mass before it.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Builds Muscle
  • Recover Quickly
  • Decent Profile
  • Felt Bloated
  • Taste Wasn't The Best
 

7.0

Took this for two years. Pretty happy overall with it. Got me through some plateaus and helped with mass. Kinda outgrew it but figured I throw a review out for newbies. Taste was ok and results were good, just the price was bad. Switched over to a straight protein and seeing same gains now
Took this for two years. Pretty happy overall with it. Got me through some plateaus and helped with mass. Kinda outgrew it but figured I throw a review out for newbies. Taste was ok and results were good, just the price was bad. Switched over to a straight protein and seeing same gains now
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Too Expensive
  • A Little Expensive
ratafari
Rep: -5
Trust: 0%
 

7.0

An overall 7 with a 10 effectiveness is due to the great amount of gas this product produces, at least on me, and as far as I know many other users experience this terrible gas. Nevertheless even without using the 3 daily serving they recommend (stayed with 2 two times a day) I managed to put on 8 kg on weight of the leanest possible mass.

I stacked this with ON 100% Gold Standard, and also followed a strict nutritional plan while cycling with this. The results cannot be alone from true mass, nevertheless it is a great product and did what it says it will.

From the very...
An overall 7 with a 10 effectiveness is due to the great amount of gas this product produces, at least on me, and as far as I know many other users experience this terrible gas. Nevertheless even without using the 3 daily serving they recommend (stayed with 2 two times a day) I managed to put on 8 kg on weight of the leanest possible mass.

I stacked this with ON 100% Gold Standard, and also followed a strict nutritional plan while cycling with this. The results cannot be alone from true mass, nevertheless it is a great product and did what it says it will.

From the very first day I noticed the energy increase in my training due to the surplus of calories received from True Mass. I could perform more reps and carry more weight it was awesome. Recovery time was shortened, I took this product first serving at around 11 in the morning and then 30-40 mins after my post workout whey shake.

The only cons I can really find to it is that the gas produced is terrible. Believe me you become the king of the bathroom while taking this. That's pretty uncomfortable and is what makes me give it a 7.

Price is fair, as I live outside the states I had to sent it over, but with a friend so yeah you can manage yourself, if you buy it and send it over by courier it can leave you without money in the pocket.

The taste is really good, I had vanilla ice cream and loved it! I would buy this product again if I had to put on even more weight but that is not the case for me. So for a once in a lifetime it is a really good product.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Recover Quickly
  • Strong As A Bull
  • Felt Bloated
  • Makes You Have Terrible And I Mean Horrible Diharea.
  • A Little Expensive

This is my second try at a mass gainer my first was cyto gainer which I really enjoyed. True Mass has about 100 more calories than cyto gainer and the serving size is 3 scoops which lasts you a couple of weeks. The flavor was AMAZING COOKIES AND CREAM! Which in my opinion tasted better than Muscle Milk. I took this for about a month. Before taking this I was about 185 pounds since finishing it I currently weigh 190 pounds. I cant say that true mass helped me put on all the weight but it sure did help....
This is my second try at a mass gainer my first was cyto gainer which I really enjoyed. True Mass has about 100 more calories than cyto gainer and the serving size is 3 scoops which lasts you a couple of weeks. The flavor was AMAZING COOKIES AND CREAM! Which in my opinion tasted better than Muscle Milk. I took this for about a month. Before taking this I was about 185 pounds since finishing it I currently weigh 190 pounds. I cant say that true mass helped me put on all the weight but it sure did help. The good thing is that I didnt really gain any fat on my stomach which I am always concerned about. The only downside is I wish it was more affordable to buy. Overall I give this product an 8 overall and would suggest this to anyone having a hard time gaining weight. If you work hard and eat right you'll get the results your looking for.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • A Little Expensive

COMMENTS (1)




True Mass was one of the original proteins I'd ever tried out. I wasn't completely sure what I was taking at the time. I just saw the label and thought, "That must be good."

-----------------------------------------------
*Taste/Mixability: 6/10*
The taste isn't so much what gives this a low score but the mixability. In my case it was always always clumpy and gross to swallow. The taste was so so, I mean chocolate is chocolate most times when it comes to protein powders. Milk makes it exponentially harder to mix up but I guess that could go for other protiens too.

---------------------------------------------
*Effectiveness:...
True Mass was one of the original proteins I'd ever tried out. I wasn't completely sure what I was taking at the time. I just saw the label and thought, "That must be good."

-----------------------------------------------
*Taste/Mixability: 6/10*
The taste isn't so much what gives this a low score but the mixability. In my case it was always always clumpy and gross to swallow. The taste was so so, I mean chocolate is chocolate most times when it comes to protein powders. Milk makes it exponentially harder to mix up but I guess that could go for other protiens too.

---------------------------------------------
*Effectiveness: 1/10*
This is one of the top 3 worst proteins I've ever used. It was so useless for my physique. I went through over 3 5.75lb tubs, gained maybe at most 2-3 lbs. Maybe thats just how my body reacts to it, but overall I saw hardly any results for the amount of money I paid for it. I tried and tried with this to put on weight but it just never worked for me.

---------------------------------------------
*Value: 2/10*
Value is awful because of the price you pay and the amount of servings you get. I paid about $60 a tub, which may be less or more than other places, and it had 18 "servings." A serving is a massive 40-50g scoop just fyi. Math wise, $60/18 servings = $3.33 per serving. That will last you little over 2 weeks. Pretty crappy rip off if you ask me. I've found proteins that last way longer than that for the same or less price. You pay a lot per serving and the tubs do not last long.

---------------------------------------------

*Overall: 3/10*
I give it a 3 because the taste was so so. If you put 20oz of milk in each shake it doesn't taste too bad. Overall though it didn't mix well, didn't last very long, and produced minimal to zero results in my case. Thats why I give it a overall rating of 3.
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Decent Profile
  • A Little Expensive
  • Was Not Effective For Gaining Weight

i was confused with this product because it has a good amino and nutritional profile but i saw little results from it. i didnt recover with this as well as i did with other products and my gains were minimal. and it never failed that after i took it i felt very bloated. however it does taste good and mixes well. if you gain mass fast naturally this might work better for you
i was confused with this product because it has a good amino and nutritional profile but i saw little results from it. i didnt recover with this as well as i did with other products and my gains were minimal. and it never failed that after i took it i felt very bloated. however it does taste good and mixes well. if you gain mass fast naturally this might work better for you
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Tastes Good
  • Too Expensive
  • Felt Bloated

Pretty good product gained 7 pounds in a month and taste great as well , i got the vanilla ice cream flavor and it was pretty sweet, but other than that it was good. And recovery time was great
Pretty good product gained 7 pounds in a month and taste great as well , i got the vanilla ice cream flavor and it was pretty sweet, but other than that it was good. And recovery time was great
 Pros:
 Cons:
  • Gained Weight
  • Tastes Good
  • Strength Gains
  • Builds Muscle
  • Recover Quickly
  • Too Expensive

COMMENTS (7)

  • NYCDON115
    Rep: +10
    Trust: 6%
    September 26, 2010

    How and when did you take this? When my season is over i was thinking of using this to gain weight
  • kubitzky10
    Rep: +456
    Trust: 10%
    September 26, 2010

    I'm about to start my second week of this, and my first week i gained 2.5 pounds, of clean muscle not fat or anything. I have been taking 1 1/2 hour after breakfast (3 eggs, 2 cups oatmeal, apple) It does cause my stomach to cramp up, but it's been very effective. I also take one scoop before bed along with 1 cup cottage cheese, and 1 cup almonds.
  • kubitzky10
    Rep: +456
    Trust: 10%
    September 26, 2010

    Sorry, not 1 scoop, i take 1 serving 11/2 hour after breakfast. and 1 serving before bed.
  • Manimal
    Rep: +3,777
    Trust: 100%
    September 26, 2010

    Sorry kubitzky. But a 2.5 pound muscle gain in a week is totally unrealistic. That's insanely hard for pros to gain, even on gear. A more realistic maximum gain in a week would be close to 1 pound and that's if you had a damn good week in the gym, spot on diet, and plenty of rest. You are more than likely looking at water weight here man.
  • taysab23
    Rep: +611
    Trust: 100%
    September 26, 2010

    Honestly i have seen my weight go up or down 5 pounds in one day.. but its generally how much food i ate and how much i crapped. The best time to weigh yourself is in the morning after you have taken a dump and surprisingly you'll see that your weight is very similar day by day. I have weighed at night and seen it at like 190 one day.. then 198 the next.. 203 the day i ate three cheeseburgers lol.
  • kubitzky10
    Rep: +456
    Trust: 10%
    September 27, 2010

    Maybe bro...idk i just know i jumped on the scale and weigh 2 1/2 more pnds with no bad weight...idk ur probably right
  • romanxs1
    Rep: -47
    Trust: 0%
    September 27, 2010

    Manimal are you ok? I have had friends who took dianabol who gained 2 pounds a day... All together about 3 to 4 pounds solid muscle mass a week. At first they just a bit water weight, by the end of the cycle total rock hard mass. I have never done a cycle but I have gained 7 pounds of water weight in couple of days when I took NO-Explode. This just proves how wrong you are mate... Two pounds in a week is nothing, anything can be achieved with a perfect diet bro.


Copyright © 2014 SupplementReviews.com. All rights reserved.