BPI Blox

Blox BPI
Expert Rating:
User Rating: (23 Reviews)

Review Authenticity: 97% (Well Trusted)

Compare Similar Products:

Users who liked this product also liked:

VPX Power Shock Reviews
Power Shock (15 Reviews)
8.2
USP Labs Modern BCAA Reviews
Modern BCAA (77 Reviews)
8.9
AI Sports Nutrition Recover Pro Reviews
Recover Pro (10 Reviews)
8.4

Products in the same category:

Controlled Labs Purple Wraath Reviews
Purple Wraath (42 Reviews)
8.9
Muscle Pharm Bullet Proof Reviews
Bullet Proof (36 Reviews)
8.3
APS Mesomorph Reviews
Mesomorph (32 Reviews)
8.3
SciVation Xtend (New Formula) Reviews
Xtend (New Formula) (28 Reviews)
8.8

Related Forum Topics

Blox 30 serving on the Muscle HQ deal of the day 16.00 per tub.
for any of you wanting to try these but not wanting to pay full price here is a ...

Usage of 1. cellmax 2. no-xplode 3. bpi Blox 4. Propeptide MBF protein.
I am really confuse about the usage of of the following products: cellmax crea...

CUT: Super HD, Amp extreme 60, pro perf 100% whey, NO shotgun, Blox, MMsport.
I think I'm doing alright by this stack, beginning week 4. My goal is to ...

What is everyone's opinion about the new Blox Amino Acids from BPI?
Now you can buy Blox with the insider's link from BPI's website. They...

**Competitive Edge Labs stack** M-Drol + Cycle Assist + Blox + Mass XXX
After reading reviews on ph's on here the m-drol sounds like a good start. ...

New product by BPI called Blox.
In my new Muscle & Body magazine I just got I saw an ad in there for this ne...

Blox from BPI - BCAA replacement?
Just saw on their website that its coming out beginning of next year....

Get Involved!

Confused about Supplements?

FREE 7-Day Supplement Crash Course:



Description

Blox Nutritional Info and Supplement Facts on: Links open in new window
Blox Reviews:
Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Flavor (20)
  • Tastes Good (12)
  • Easy Mix (12)
  • Good Recovery (8)
  • Too Expensive (15)
  • Not Effective (10)
  • Not Outstanding (10)
  • No Science Or Proof (4)
View All 18 Pros/Cons
April 19, 2012
Overall: 5 | Effectiveness: 7 | Value: 3

FlashSunday


Reviews: 77

Age: 23

April 19, 2012
 Alright, this is going to be my personal unbiased review on the new product BLOX by BPI Sports. This product is touted as the next generation of intra-workout because supposedly silk amino acids are better than regular amino acids. I chose to personally buy, try, and review this product because of the marketing hype, exorbitant prices, and inconsistent reviews on this product thusfar.

Ingredients:

30 Servings 5g/serving

SAA Sequenced Proteins 3,960mg
(Alanine, Glycine, Serine, Valine, Threonine)

Other Ingredients (Citric Acid, Taurine, Silica, Flavors, Sucralose, ect)

Research:

A recent animal study, found that when exercising mice were given three different doses of silk amino acids for 44 days, the mice experienced: Improved exercise performance.

SAA fed mice exercised more than twice as long as mice not fed SAAs (28 minutes vs 13 minutes)

In terms of absolute improvement in exercise performance, SAAs produced improvements that were six times greater than that seen with just exercise (18 minute increase compared to 3 minute increase).

Eliminated the increase in blood lactate levels (which were significantly increased with just exercise)

Eliminated the increase in muscle oxidation (which was also significantly increased with just exercise)

Maintained blood glucose levels (vs being significantly lowered in exercising mice)
Increased muscle glycogen and liver glycogen (compared to exercise alone)

Increased testosterone levels (64% increase vs 36% reduction in exercise group; in absolute terms, blood testosterone levels that were 2.6 times higher in SAAs group compared to exercise group)

Reduced cortisol (140% increase in cortisol in exercising group while no significant increase was seen when SAAs were given)

Increased anabolic ratio (4-fold higher anabolic ratio; ie, the testosterone to cortisol ratio compared to mice not receiving any)

Increased muscle size (16% increase with high-dose)

All these claimes were gleaned from wikipedia, there was a workes cited to the actual study. The three doses that they gave the mice were 50, 160, and 500mg/kg. That would translate between 5-50 GRAMS for someone my size (approx 100kg). So, according to the study, if we reacted proportionatly with mice, we would need approx 12-15 scoops of BLOX per day for results mimicking the upper level dosages in mice.You can claim all you want, but if I’m really going to have to take 50 grams for proportionate results I want to know that ahead of time.

Now for my ratings:

--------------Effectiveness(7/10)------------

In order to gauge comparable effectiveness, I took a similar amount of BLOX as I would any other amino acid intra, which is approx 3 scoops (15 grams) per workout. Ok, so not quite accurate as 3,960mg/scoop makes 3 scoops what? 11.8grams? Anyway, I dosed it that way after switching off of my normal intra amino. During the entire time I took this, I did not notice any increase in recovery whatsoever. I was, in fact, a lot more sore, but I also switched my routine to a more demanding set toward the end and I added more in to make up for the recovery gap.

Overall, my summary for effectiveness is that it didn’t stand out to me as the “next generation in recovery”. Did it work? Yes, as opposed to nothing it worked, but I don’t think it worked any better than your run-of-the-mill intraworkout.

----------------Taste(9/10)------------------

I tried out the watermelon flavor and it was pretty good. It was not overly sweet or an overpowering flavor, it was a good flavor to drink as an intra, when in my opinion, you would rather feel like you are drinking water than a soda or something thick tasting.

--------------Dosing/Value(3/10)-------------

First off, dosing. There are 30 scoops per tub, but needing at minimum 3 scoops per workout, the tub will only last 10 workouts. The price of this product has come down a little bit, but even now, its about 30 bucks a tub. That makes each necessary dose cost $3 bucks a day which is very steep. Amino acid powder is very cheap, Modern BCAA sells 35 actual servings (10g BCAA’s) for 29.99. That’s less than $1 a serving!

---------------Overall(5/10)-----------------

I think I am very generous giving this product an overall 5 rating. Why? First off, their own research on silk amino’s put the effective dose at between 5-50 grams per day. I did not go through the actual paper to find out which claims went with which doses, but I think it’s safe to assume that the bigger claims went hand in hand with the huge doses. Do you want to take a tub and a half of BLOX a day for results?

Ok, but it works ok right? Yeah sure, in comparison to the same amount of BCAA’s its fine, but it also costs THREE TIMES AS MUCH. Not only three times as much as and BCAA product, but three times as much as USP’s Modern BCAA, which is one of the highest rated BCAA products available.

Overall, this is not an outstanding product at all, and it is not worth the exorbatant price that they offer it for. Not only did I not notice commendable results, but their own research data does not back up their claims.

Pros:
Cons:
  • Tastes Good
  • Not Outstanding
  • Too Expensive
Reply #1:
Rebel29073
Rebel29073

Joined: 11/2010
Reviews: 1
Reputation: +387
I have only tried samples of this product so I am unable to gauge effectiveness. Glad ot see a CER on this. Ima stick with my Xtend ++


Reply #2:
Reinger
Reinger

Joined: 2/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1978
Saved me 35 bucks... thanks :)


Reply #3:
AlphandOmega
AlphandOmega

Joined: 12/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1249
Yet again BPI loses reputation in my eyes.


Reply #4:
FlashSunday
FlashSunday

Joined: 1/2011
Reviews: 77
Reputation: +3345
Dang, I forgot. I was going to put a con as, "does not give wolverine-like" recovery.


Reply #5:
josephobrien
josephobrien

Joined: 3/2011
Reviews: 11
Reputation: +58
man sorry this didnt work for you, i havent bought this again because im trying myobuild from muscletech, like alays good review!!!!


Reply #6:
MMAFreak
MMAFreak

Joined: 3/2010
Reviews: 40
Reputation: +1729
Glad to see that all of my expectations of what this product would be like are 100% accurate.


Reply #7:
NattyGMan
NattyGMan

Joined: 6/2012
Reviews: 2
Reputation: +1
Great review, very helpful!!! I'm sticking with my modern bcaa's. Fruit Punch actually tastes pretty good..


Reply #8:
SippinPreWrk
SippinPreWrk

Joined: 7/2012
Reviews: 7
Reputation: -50
Didn't read way to long. Sorry sucker


Reply #9:
rickybobby
rickybobby

Joined: 8/2012
Reviews: 1
Reputation: 0
I take one scoop preworkout and it works great. Why on earth would you take 3 scoops. Read the label !!!!


Reply #10:
Phays
Phays

Joined: 9/2012
Reviews: 1
Reputation: +4
they taste awesome, but dont do anything lol. USP labs BCAA's all the way.


Reply #11:
Frankiemusc
Frankiemusc

Joined: 8/2010
Reviews: 37
Reputation: +1228
I guess this is why M & S has a BOGO on the reg size tub going on now.


April 3, 2012
Overall: 3 | Effectiveness: 2 | Value: 1

Clipper83


Reviews: 79

Age: 22

April 3, 2012
 Alright I got this as a free gift from BPI. They gave me a full tub of the flavor I wanted to try (watermelon), along with a few other samples. While I am thankful for that, I am giving an honest review here.

Taste- 10/10, honestly, this is the best thing I have ever tasted in my life. I heard great things about the taste and was very curious. I already love anything with watermelon flavor so it was great that my free tub happened to be just that! I have an absolute hatred for any taste in fruit punch, in fact, I even got a free tub of N0 Extreme from work, and even though I love the energy I got from it, I still gave it to my friend because I hate fruit punch. Why am I telling you this? Because I actually liked the fruit punch flavor I got with this, which is VERY impressive to me. The lemonade flavor was the best in my opinion.

Effectiveness- 2/10, even giving this a 2 is generous to be really honest. I stopped taking Modern BCAA for BLOX, which I have always been a fan of. I took this during and after my workout, and on off days I would take it in the morning. I never knew how effective Modern BCAA really was until I switched to BLOX. I was getting REALLY sore. My diet is in check as well so I know it wasn't a lack of nutrients or water. If the product claims a speedy recovery, I expect a speedy recovery ! This product was not effective for recovery.

Value-1/10, I believe this is around $50 at GNC. Even with my discount I wouldn't buy this. The only value I get from this would be the taste, and that is not why I take this product.

Overall- 3-10, I gave this a 3 being generous because BPI NAILED IT with the taste. I would like to try the other flavors because I am sure they taste amazing as well, but I am not going to fork over the money for expensive kool-aid. I would not recommend this product, unless you don't mind spending lots of money for great taste!

Sorry for the long review but these are my thoughts. I enjoy criticism !
Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Flavor
  • Not Effective
  • Too Expensive
Reply #1:
Clipper83
Clipper83

Joined: 1/2012
Reviews: 79
Reputation: +2320
I forgot to say, I wouldn't buy this even at internet prices !


Reply #2:
AlphandOmega
AlphandOmega

Joined: 12/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1249
I'm so torn on this product. The reviews keep going back and forth.


Reply #3:
Clipper83
Clipper83

Joined: 1/2012
Reviews: 79
Reputation: +2320
Stick to leucine !


Reply #4:
AlphandOmega
AlphandOmega

Joined: 12/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1249
I stick to AI RecoverPro


Reply #5:
JNip24
JNip24

Joined: 2/2012
Reviews: 8
Reputation: +6
From what you said I take it you work at GNC, same here. I got the free bottle with the same flavor. One of the best tasting supplements ever and one of the least effective supplements ever. Nice review bro.


Reply #6:
Clipper83
Clipper83

Joined: 1/2012
Reviews: 79
Reputation: +2320
Haha yeah I was happy i got to try it, but i wasn't surprised by the outcome.


November 6, 2013
Overall: 2 | Effectiveness: 2 | Value: 1

GTpro900

Reviews: 20

Age: 28

November 6, 2013
A remarkable and innovative amino acid sequence just recently discovered by a bold team of scientists!

I don’t even know where to start with this one. With the general direction of the supplement industry going more towards research based ingredients, BPI took more of the old school Muscletech approach with this one. The claims associated with this product are no better than the folks over at force factor when marketing their products. The old mentality of over hyping a supplement based off of very inconclusive research is not good for the reputation of the supplement industry in general. The only reason this product still exists is because of its unbelievable taste and strong placebo effect in humans.

Value:

$35-$50 depending on where you go. You get 30 servings of five grams and 1/5 of the container is artificial sweeteners or dyes. So they recommend 2-3 scoops a day so you’re looking at $70 a month to run this as directed. 70$ a month for AT MOST decreased soreness and increased recovery. I got multiple tubs of this thrown my way when I managed a GNC, and I probably wouldn’t pay more than $10 for this product if I saw it sitting in the clearance section today.

Performance:

I ran about 3 tubs total. I ran it 2-4 scoops a day and didn’t change any parts of my lifting schedule. I saw no strength increases or significant changes to my LBM. While running this product I did not notice a significant difference in recovery. Not much else I can say about the matter.

Taste:

They had to make this taste good and they did. Tastes like a perfect batch of Koolaid. I enjoyed the Watermelon and Fruit Punch flavors the most. The Blue Razz was meh, and I wasn’t a fan of the lemonade either. Good mixability and no clumping at all. This product is extremely heavy on the dyes.

Conclusion:

Unless you are given this for free I really think you are wasting money here. BPI was smart in unleashing thousands upon thousand of samples to the world. The great taste and placebo effect is strong at first, but at the end of the tub you will be disappointed.

Pros:
Cons:
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Effective Doses Are Not Economical
  • To Much Dye
  • No Science Or Proof
  • Not Outstanding
  • Too Expensive
  • Not Effective
  • A 30$ Water Flavor Enhancer
Reply #1:
Clipper83
Clipper83

Joined: 1/2012
Reviews: 79
Reputation: +2320
This tastes so good that if it were $10 I'd buy it and I'd pretend that it worked. Good review bro


Reply #2:
Gkeezy
Gkeezy

Joined: 3/2011
Reviews: 81
Reputation: +1133
Sorry fat finger will +rep u elsewhere


September 26, 2013
Overall: 5 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 1

AlphandOmega

Reviews: 42

Age: 21

September 26, 2013
Leave the SAAs for Your Shampoo!

Alright, was really against ever trying this product based off of previous reviews and my own personal experience with some BPI products. But after getting offered a tub for 19$, I figured I could at least give it a try.

Content:
1 serving (per scoop): 5 grams
Servings per container: 30
Amount Per serving: 3,960 mg

SAA Sequenced Proteins:(including Alanine, Glycine, Valine, and Threonine)

Instead of using the typical BCAA/EAA blends you see in most intras, BPI instead opted to be the first to bring Silk Amino Acids (SAAs) to the market. Toting Blox as pretty much the next great breakthrough in exercise science based off of a medical study done on mice (See FlashSunday’s Blox Review or Wikipedia) that included SAAs. The conclusion of the study offered some pretty great claims/results but the dosages used and how to they correlate into effective proportions for humans indicates that basically anyone over 150 pounds would have to consume what I consider a ridiculous amount of Blox to achieve similar results.

Dosing/ Effectiveness: 5/10
On the tub, BPI recommends dosing Blox with either one scoop pre-workout, one scoop during, and one scoop immediately post-workout. BPI also recommends using one scoop first thing in the morning on non-training days. I at first followed this protocol and began using one scoop of Blox and sipping on it during my workouts, just as I typically do with most intras that I use. This however did not yield any kind of results except for making my water taste fantastic. So I began upping the dosage to see what was the most effective for me until I finally started to see some results at 3 scoops per training day.

So as I previously stated, one scoop did absolutely nothing for me in terms of recovery and endurance. With taking two scoops, I was getting the same kind of results. Then I bumped it up to three scoops, with taking one scoop pre-workout and two scoops during. This yielded better results and there was definitely a difference in terms of recovery and endurance as compared to taking just one scoop, but was still nothing remarkable or as fantastic as the claims BPI makes on the label. Then I finally began using four scoops per workout, with taking two scoops mixed in with two scoops of my pre-workout formula (Purus Labs Condense). And then mixing two scoops of Blox in twenty ounces of water and sipping on it during my workout. This combination yielded the best results, as there was a noticeable difference in my energy/endurance levels along with slightly shorter recovery times between sets. But sadly, even at four scoops per workout, the results I got were still nowhere close to say CL Purple Wraath or Iforce Compete, which I had actually just finished two tubs of before beginning Blox.

Mixability/Taste: 10/10
I had the “Green Apple” flavor and it is by far the best tasting apple flavored supplement, or consumer product for that matter, that I have basically ever used. It has a very crisp and sweet taste to it, with a mellow tanginess that definitely satisfied my taste buds. Blox also mixes very easily in a shaker bottle and causes only a little bit of foam to form at the top, even with two scoops. And this is basically all the positive things that I have to say about this product.

Value: 1/10
Initially BPI was charging right around 40$ for a single tub of Blox when they first introduced it. Now you can pick a tub up online for right under 30$, depending of course where you order it from. And normally this would not be all that bad and is competitively priced to similar products. But based on how I got nothing out of the recommended serving and eventually bumped it up all the way to four scoops, I burned through an entire tub in just about 12 days. So therefore I have to give a very low rating here as the amount of scoops I had to take from a product that only has 30 scoops per tub is nowhere economical or justifiable in my mind.

Overall: 5/10
Overall Blox tastes great and I believe you have to take basically a seventh of the tub per workout to really get anything out of it. So I would definitely not recommend this to anyone, unless of course you like paying 30$ for a water flavor enhancer. In the future, the only SAAs I’ll be using will probably be the ones in my shampoo and conditioner.

Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Flavor
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Effective Doses Are Not Economical
  • A 30$ Water Flavor Enhancer
  • Not Effective
  • To Much Dye
Reply #1:
AlphandOmega
AlphandOmega

Joined: 12/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1249
Meant to put thumbs Down, Damnit.


Reply #2:
BrooklynBuff
BrooklynBuff

Joined: 8/2010
Reviews: 11
Reputation: +802
19$ for some dam kool-aid


Reply #3:
tiktik
tiktik

Joined: 3/2013
Reviews: 8
Reputation: +331
It's an awesome tasting kool aid though, despite the fact that it's overprice and vastly ineffective.


Reply #4:
AlphandOmega
AlphandOmega

Joined: 12/2011
Reviews: 42
Reputation: +1249
Yup, just expensive ass Kool-Aid pretty much


Reply #5:
ODAAT365
ODAAT365

Joined: 7/2011
Reviews: 1
Reputation: +26
BPI operates under the "people will buy anything if it tastes good" marketing principle. It's basically the only reason they sell any of their supplements. Nice review.


Reply #6:
Sal
Sal

Joined: 2/2009
Reviews: 23
Reputation: +45
Sadly, I used this product and love it. I do not know why. Every time I use it I feel great. I will be glowing with joy when every retail outlet clearances it out.


April 10, 2013
Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 6 | Value: 6

kaitylynnn

Reviews: 1

Age: 21

April 10, 2013
 I have been using this and it is the first supplement pretty much ever that I have taken. Was wondering if there are any women who have taken this and seen results? I've noticed that I get way more energy during my work out and I'm not as sore as I normally would be. I'm also not using it to bulk up just using it to get a better workout in. My boyfriend also noticed differences, actually he was the one pointing out that it seemed to be working because i was skeptical. I also found it online for 13 dollars and change.
Reply #1:
Meuth
Meuth

Joined: 3/2010
Reviews: 39
Reputation: +3577
This seems to be more of a question than a review. Just pointing that out to help you.


Reply #2:
Sal
Sal

Joined: 2/2009
Reviews: 23
Reputation: +45
Damn Meuth you're right.

Kaitylynne I also am using this product. Anything you recommend types of workout? Diet tips? timing to make this Blox more effective?

I added 10 extra pounds on my bench in 2 week but can not claim it was the Blox. Also taking No Zero by cellucor.


March 19, 2013
Overall: 6 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 5

supppup

Reviews: 8

Age: 28

March 19, 2013
 BPI has really good marketing. I'd have to say that the design of the packaging plus the claims its said to have really bought me. I'm a sucker for a product that claims to sell without doing my research first.

Blox isn't a placebo, I'm sure this product has worked for others, but it didn't work quite well for me, although points needs to be given for it's awesome taste.

In order for me to determine if i should continue using SAAs or BCAAs in the future, i decided to finish a tub Blox, followed by a 30 serving tub of Xtend (only BCAA product i have used) and compare how they both improved my overall health, endurance and strength.

As usual, let's break it down. Been a while since I've used this account or made a review (2 years!).

-------------------------------------

Mixability (10/10):
This isn't protein, so anything that's finer and less dense than protein powder is dissolved when mixed in a blender bottle.

Winner - Both.

Taste (10/10):
Great taste. This is probably the tastiest "supplement" i have ever had. I chose lemonade, and it did taste quite like lemonade. I would mix 2 scoops in 24oz of water. If you followed the 1 scoop direction and used 24oz of water, it might be a little bland.

Winner - Both

Pre/Intra or Post (Intra):
On the bottle it has a chart showing that you can use this pre or intra workout. I generally use this intra workout. Using this post workout in conjunction with a protein shake? Either you're going to be filled to the brim with liquid or you're going to have to dunk down one odd tasting shake!

Winner - Both Xtend and BLOX for Intra.

Endurance (8/10): This was the only good thing about BPI Blox. I would start sipping about 10 minutes before i start my workout. My workouts normally last 45 mins - 1 hour 15 mins, but with Blox, i found myself spending 2.5 hours in the gym! It was overkill, but the aim was to test this product.

You know that feeling when you do one set of 10 reps with the heaviest weight you can do, not easily but when you get to the 8th rep you start slowing down, you're still holding the bar in your hands but you're standing there for a moment, breathing heavily and admiring yourself in the mirror. With some mental focus you finish the last 2 reps. Without much rest, you move on to another exercise with equal weight and intensity and finish off with some body exercises. When i finally get to rest, i feel rather tired, i'm sweating, breathing heavily, looking for something to drink. I would normally rest for around 3-4 minutes whenever i performed a superset. With BLOX, i felt my endurance to be higher than normal, and was cutting my rest time from 3 minutes to 1 minute.

I believe recovery between sets is related to endurance as opposed to recovery after a workout. I'm not 100% sure if Xtend promises to increase endurance, but in this category BLOX was superior.

Winner - BLOX

Strength / Built Muscle (1/10):
None more than usual. Did not notice any improvements in the weight i could lift. One of the selling points of BLOX is that it build's muscle. I've never come across a product that builds my muscles for me. Even with steroids (never tried em!), you still need a good diet and hard work.

Winner: None. Don't think Xtend promotes strength equally as much as recovery and endurance.

Recovery (2/10): This is the main reason i look for BCAAs or intra workouts, to lessen my recovery time. 2 days after my workouts is when DOMS start kicking in. 2 days after my first workout using BLOX, my muscles felt incredibly sore. OK, perhaps it's because i've just had an intense workout after 5 months off, and i have read that we will need to use BLOX for at least 2 weeks to see any effect.

Going into my 5th workout, which meant i had already consumed 10/30 scoops (i use 2 scoops per workout), i still had bad DOMS. So, i've been using BLOX on my off days, i would use 2 scoops in finish off 24oz during the first half of my morning. I've finished the tub and i still felt sore after a workout with my last 2 servings of BLOX. In terms of recovery, it doesn't work. Xtend wins in this department. Xtend = No DOMS, still feel sore but feels good, makes me wonder if i pushed myself as hard as i should have.

Winner - Xtend.

Price (5/10):
BLOX isn't a cheap product. I paid $40AUD for 30 servings. If following their recommendation to mix 1 scoop with 8oz of water, that would only last you 15 servings. 1 scoop of Xtend with 24oz of water at $30AUD gave me more results that i desired than 2 scoops of BLOX did. Perhaps over time, depending on the popularity of this product, they will hopefully reduce the cost of this product and i may purchase it just for that endurance assistance on my light weight / cardio days.

Winner - Xtend








Pros:
Cons:
  • Increased Endurance
  • Good Flavor
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Too Expensive
  • Not Outstanding
September 28, 2012
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 9

JRoss21

Reviews: 2

Age: 19

September 28, 2012
 I use Blox about half way through my workout and it does give me another wind of energy after my pre workout has worn off. It is a break product to finish off those last few sets and finish a great workout.

The taste of this stuff is almost too good to be a great product, a lot of dye in here.

Saw minimal gains in strength but they were there at the end of my workout and Blox has helped me get over my plateau.

This product definitely did what i expected it too for endurance purposes but I didn't see a whole lot of results from recovery.

Blox will be a product I will be using for a long time though, love the taste and the endurance with the new Silk Amino Acids. Just wish there was better muscle recovery from this.
Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Flavor
  • Effective
  • Good Recovery
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Not Outstanding
  • To Much Dye
Reply #1:
GnarlyBarley
GnarlyBarley

Joined: 10/2012
Reviews: 1
Reputation: -4
i tried this and it looked like windex. it had a pleasant flavour but again, flavor is not effective. I took pure BCAA, creatine, arginine, glutamine powders and mixed them in water with a small squirt of liquid sugar free drink mix and made a more effective and much more inexpensive supplement.


Reply #2:
GnarlyBarley
GnarlyBarley

Joined: 10/2012
Reviews: 1
Reputation: -4
Thanks for posting the ingredients. i noticed that there is a lot of soy in the first few, the majority, ingredients. Soy promotes estrogen in males. Soy is something MEN should avoid. But, I guess if it tastes great, wannabees will rave about it.


September 6, 2012
Overall: 8 | Effectiveness: 8 | Value: 7

DanTheManski

Reviews: 25

Age: 20

September 6, 2012
 First Review ever. (Be easy on meh)

Okay. So blox is basically something you can drink before, during, or after your workout. Typically priced around $30 so about $1 a serving, and It's supposed to raise Test levels, reduce cortisol levels and help with basically blunting the pain while you train. It does just that for me, but i'll get into more detail.

Taste Rating (10/10)
Taste seems to a good factor on this product, it's basically a few aminos and sugar (sucralose) in the bottle. It's very fine powder, and I've tried every single flavor and never have had a problem with any. It mixes very well too.

Effectiveness (8/10)

I gave this an 8 simply for the fact that i do feel more endurance when i drink it, and I'm not as sore, but then again I intake quite a bit of protein post workout so that could be the effect. Also, SAA's aren't really backed by any research but I do enjoy them.

Price (7/10)

If you pick these up at GNC its about $64 for 2 tubs after GC discount, or you get the 60 serving sucker for $60 and thats not terrible, but then again if I'm gonna pay $1 a serving it better be doing all that it says and more.

Overall (8/10)

I gave this a 8 simply for the fact is that it works for me, tastes good and does increase my recovery time (I think). I just wish there was more science behind it and they made it a bit cheaper. $25 would be perfect considering most supps are made for extremely low cost.

I hope you enjoyed my review. Thanks everyone.

Pros:
Cons:
  • Good Flavor
  • Slight Increased Strength
  • Eliminates Some Soreness
  • Good Recovery
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Not Outstanding
  • No Science Or Proof
August 20, 2012
Overall: 5 | Effectiveness: 5 | Value: 2

LocknKey

Reviews: 3

Age: 30

August 20, 2012
 I started by dosing this in the morning on an off day, and did enjoy a natural boost from it. I attribute this boost mostly to the threonine. Enjoyed the taste and that feeling so much I kept the morning dose on training days, sipped it during workouts too, and honestly it tastes so great if I felt like an evening boost too, yeah, why not. There aren't enough amino acids present to have a negative effect at double that dosage. I also experienced some decreased muscle soreness.

Positives: Great taste, variety of flavors, slightly mood enhancing, slight decrease in soreness.

Negetives: Expensive, less than half a gram of amino acids combined.

There are worse tasting, less effective things to blow your cash on. I wish I could rate it better, but like the ingredient list the value just isn't there.





Pros:
Cons:
  • Slight Mood Boost
  • Good Flavor
  • Eliminates Some Soreness
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • Too Expensive
  • Not Outstanding
August 2, 2012
Overall: 10 | Effectiveness: 10 | Value: 9

rickybobby

Reviews: 1

Age: 37

August 2, 2012
 First off this is my favorite supplement to date and ive been working out since 1991. I find it works best taken pre-workout. I do not get latic build up while on this or at least I dont feel it. I can workout for 2 hours and still dont wont to stop. I see a lot of bad reviews on this site for this product,but cant understand this because i get the best workout of my life on this stuff.If you guys go to bodybuilding.com you will see over 50 positive reviews and its rated over 9. I not knocking any other reviews ,but BLOX kicks butt for me
Pros:
Cons:
  • Endless Workouts
  • Good Flavor
  • Effective
  • Slight Increased Strength
  • Good Recovery
  • Easy Mix
  • Tastes Good
  • To Much Dye
Reply #1:
SoCalLivin
SoCalLivin

Joined: 3/2011
Reviews: 20
Reputation: +824
It's cool that this stuff is working for you, but the fact that it has a favorable rating(not over 9 by the way) on BB.com doesn't mean much. Those reviews are extremely weak. I don't think this stuff is bad, just over priced and over hyped by the company for what it actually is.


Reply #2:
rickybobby
rickybobby

Joined: 8/2012
Reviews: 1
Reputation: 0
AS far as price goes i get it from gnc on hot buy sale for $42 for the double size. So if you do the math its about .70 cents a serving. What supplement is not over hype, you cant name me one.


Reply #3:
SoCalLivin
SoCalLivin

Joined: 3/2011
Reviews: 20
Reputation: +824
For an amino product, SAA's are extremely over hyped compared to similar products IMO. Amino products are some of the most simplistic in the industry, and I feel SAA's are just a marketing scheme to take advantage of that. I think this is over priced because you need at least twice as many servings of it to equal the amount of aminos you get in most of the competitors products. If you believe SAA's are that much better than the norm, then it's worth it to you. Most reviewers here disagree. No big deal.


Reply #4:
AS79
AS79

Joined: 6/2011
Reviews: 0
Reputation: +1348
How do you make a BCAA product without Leucine? Fail.



Have you used Blox? Submit your own Review!